Boost your bottom line

Canadian producers, manufacturers and exporters are now able to export to the EU like never before, thanks to the Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA).

Trade in goods

Before CETA, only about 25 percent of EU tariff lines on which Canadian goods are exported entered the EU duty-free. With CETA, 98 percent of EU tariff lines are now duty-free for goods that originate in Canada. Another 1 percent will be eliminated over a period of up to seven years. Once CETA is fully implemented, 99 percent of EU tariff lines will be duty-free.

That means tangible and significant opportunities in the EU market.

Canadian goods that face tariffs – on everything from machinery to maple syrup – are now more competitive in the EU market, giving Canadian exporters an advantage over other exporters still facing EU tariffs. It also allows Canadians to expand or create new markets for their goods in the EU.

Here’s more good news:

Customs and trade facilitation

Cost savings may also be achieved through CETA commitments on customs and trade facilitation, which are aimed at reducing processing times at the border and making the movement of goods cheaper, faster, more predictable and efficient. This includes providing access to advance rulings on the origin or tariff classification of products, the automation of border procedures where possible, and an impartial and transparent system for addressing complaints about customs rulings and decisions.

Regulatory cooperation

CETA is the first Canadian bilateral trade agreement with a stand-alone chapter on regulatory cooperation. CETA establishes a Regulatory Cooperation Forum to discuss regulatory policy issues of mutual interest and develop bilateral cooperation activities. By fostering cooperation earlier in the regulatory process, the Forum is expected to enhance information sharing between Canadian and EU regulators, facilitate the development of more compatible regulatory measures, resulting in fewer barriers to trade, and making it easier for Canadians to do business in the EU. For example, a Canadian company, working through the Regulatory Cooperation Forum, will be able to request information at an early stage regarding new EU regulations in development, and provide comments and recommendations on how such regulations should be developed in order to prevent and eliminate unnecessary barriers to trade.

Conformity assessment

Another unique feature of CETA is the Protocol on Conformity Assessment, which is designed to allow Canadian producers in a number of sectors to have their products tested and certified for the EU market right here in Canada. This protocol is expected to reduce testing and certification costs and associated delays for manufacturers. Canada and the EU are also committed to continuing discussions with a view to adding new products in the future.

Trade in services

The Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) gives Canadian exporters of services the best market access the EU has ever granted to any of its free trade agreement partners.
The EU is the largest importer of services in the world. In 2015 alone, the EU imported $936 billion in services. It imported $16.5 billion from Canada.

Management, financial, and ICT services are among the EU’s top services imports, and are also among Canada’s top services exports to the EU. Others such as engineering and architectural services and R&D have been other major Canadian exports to the EU. The EU is also the world’s largest importer of architectural, engineering and other technical services.

With CETA, Canadian services exporters are treated the same way as those from the EU (with the exception of certain reservations for existing and future policy measures). Canadian services exporters can enjoy better predictability and transparency in a large number of service sectors of interest to Canada, including architectural, engineering, and R&D services. Any future regulatory or legal changes which make it easier for Canadian service suppliers to access the EU market will automatically be locked in under CETA, and therefore cannot subsequently be made more restrictive. The EU now also treats Canadian service suppliers no less favourably than it treats service suppliers from its existing or future free trade agreement partners.

Here’s more:

Labour mobility

CETA’s chapter on temporary entry addresses administrative requirements at the border such as labour market tests or other numerical limitations that can impose time delays and administrative costs on prospective business entrants to Canada or the EU. CETA provisions increase  transparency and predictability for key personnel, including intra-company transferees and investors, contract service suppliers and independent professionals (including a broad coverage of professionals and limited coverage of technologists), and business visitors to do business in the EU. A large number of EU Members States have improved their commitments for Canadian professionals such as architects and computer analysts, short-term business visitors, investors and technologists compared to the level of access granted by the EU to its recent trading partners.

Recognition of Professional Qualifications

CETA establishes a streamlined process for the recognition of foreign qualifications in certain sectors, and a detailed framework through which regulators or professional organizations may negotiate mutual recognition agreements for other professions. 

Government procurement

With CETA, Canada gains new access to opportunities in EU regions and municipalities. That means access to procurement by local contracting authorities, bodies governed by public law, public utilities in the areas of gas, electricity, heat and water distribution as well as entities responsible for urban transit and railways throughout the EU. This includes procurement above specified value thresholds of professional services such as architecture and engineering, most goods as well as all construction services. Before CETA, Canadian suppliers already enjoyed access to procurement opportunities at the EU, national and sub-national levels through the revised WTO Agreement on Government Procurement.

Get all the details about CETA here

Date Modified:

Optimisez vos résultats

Les producteurs, fabricants et exportateurs canadiens pourront exporter leurs produits et services vers l’UE comme jamais auparavant, grâce à l’Accord économique et commercial global (AECG) entre le Canada et l’Union européenne.

Commerce des marchandises

À l’heure actuelle, seulement environ 25 % des lignes tarifaires de l’UE applicables aux marchandises canadiennes sont exemptes de droits. Dès l’entrée en vigueur de l’AECG, 98 % des lignes tarifaires de l’UE seront en franchise de droits pour les marchandises d’origine canadienne. Les droits sur un autre 1 % des lignes tarifaires seront supprimés sur une période allant jusqu’à sept ans. Ainsi, 99 % des lignes tarifaires de l’UE seront en franchise de droits de douane une fois que l’AECG aura été complètement mis en œuvre.

Cet allègement se traduit par des débouchés tangibles et importants sur le marché de l’UE.

Les produits canadiens – de la machinerie jusqu’au sirop d’érable – qui sont assujettis à des droits deviendront plus concurrentiels sur le marché de l’UE, donnant ainsi aux exportateurs canadiens un avantage considérable sur d’autres exportateurs qui sont toujours soumis à ces droits. Les entreprises canadiennes seront également en mesure d’élargir ou d’aller à la conquête des marchés de l’UE pour leurs produits.

Voici d’autres bonnes nouvelles :

Régime douanier et facilitation des échanges

Des économies de coûts pourraient aussi être réalisées grâce aux engagements de l’AECG au chapitre des procédures douanières et de la facilitation du commerce, lesquels ont pour but de réduire les délais de traitement à la frontière et de rendre la circulation des marchandises moins coûteuse, plus rapide, plus prévisible et plus efficace. L’AECG permettra notamment d’obtenir un accès aux décisions anticipées sur l’origine ou le classement tarifaire de produits, de mettre en place des procédures de contrôle frontalier automatisées lorsque possible, et d’établir un système impartial et transparent pour le traitement des plaintes relatives aux déterminations et aux décisions en matière douanière.

Coopération en matière de réglementation

L’AECG est le premier accord de commerce bilatéral canadien à comprendre un chapitre distinct sur la coopération en matière de réglementation. Un Forum de coopération réglementaire sera mis sur pied dans le cadre de l’AECG pour discuter de questions de politique réglementaire d’intérêt mutuel et développer des activités de coopération bilatérales. En favorisant la coopération dès les premières étapes du processus réglementaire, le Forum permettra d’améliorer l’échange d’information entre les organismes de réglementation du Canada et de l’UE, de faciliter l’élaboration de mesures réglementaires plus compatibles, réduisant ainsi les obstacles au commerce, ce qui facilitera l’accès aux entreprises canadiennes désirant faire des affaires dans les pays de l’UE. Par exemple, une entreprise canadienne pourra, par l’entremise du Forum de coopération réglementaire, obtenir de l’information sur un règlement de l’UE aux balbutiements de son élaboration et formuler des commentaires et des recommandations sur le processus d’élaboration afin d’éviter et d’éliminer des obstacles inutiles au commerce.

Évaluation de la conformité

L’AECG est aussi unique du fait qu’il prévoit un protocole sur l’évaluation de la conformité, lequel permettra aux producteurs canadiens dans un certain nombre de secteurs de faire tester et certifier, au Canada, les produits destinés au marché de l’UE. Ce protocole permettra de réduire le coût des essais et de la certification pour les fabricants, ainsi que les délais qui y sont associés. Le Canada et l’UE se sont par ailleurs engagés à poursuivre les discussions pour que d’autres produits soient intégrés au processus dans l’avenir.

Commerce des services

L’Accord économique et commercial global (AECG) entre le Canada et l’Union européenne offre aux exportateurs canadiens de services le meilleur accès jamais accordé par l’UE à un partenaire de libre-échange. L’UE est le plus grand importateur de services au monde. Durant la seule année 2015, l’UE a importé pour 936 milliards de dollars de services, dont 16,5 milliards de dollars de services du Canada.

Les services de gestion, les services financiers et les services des TIC figurent parmi les principaux services que l’UE importe des quatre coins du monde. Ceux-ci figurent également parmi les services canadiens les plus exportés vers l’UE. S’ajoute également dans les exportations canadiennes vers l’UE des services tels que l’architecture, de l’ingénierie, et en R-D. L’UE est aussi le plus important importateur de services d’architecture, d’ingénierie et d’autres services techniques au monde.

Une fois l’AECG en vigueur, les exportateurs canadiens de services bénéficieront du même traitement que ceux de l’UE (exception faite de certaines réserves concernant les mesures en cours et futures touchant les politiques). Les exportateurs canadiens de services profiteront d’une plus grande prévisibilité et d’une meilleure transparence dans un grand nombre de secteurs d’intérêt pour le Canada, notamment les services d’architecture, d’ingénierie et de R-D. Tout éventuel changement législatif ou réglementaire qui facilite l’accès des fournisseurs de services canadiens au marché européen sera automatiquement intégré à l’AECG et, par conséquent, ne pourra par la suite devenir plus restrictif. L’UE s’est également engagée à accorder aux fournisseurs de services canadiens un traitement non moins favorable que celui qu’elle accorde aux fournisseurs de services provenant de ses partenaires de libre-échange actuels ou futurs.

Voici encore d’autres bonnes nouvelles :

Mobilité de la main-d’œuvre

Le chapitre de l’AECG sur l’admission temporaire porte sur les exigences administratives à la frontière, comme l’examen des besoins en main-d’œuvre ou d’autres limites numériques, qui peuvent imposer des délais et des frais d’administration aux travailleurs et gens d’affaires souhaitant être admis au Canada ou dans l’UE. Les dispositions de l’AECG auront pour effet d’accroître la transparence et la prévisibilité afin que le personnel clé – personnes mutées à l’intérieur d’une même société, investisseurs, fournisseurs de services contractuels et professionnels indépendants (y compris un large éventail de professionnels et certaines catégories de technologues) – et les gens d’affaires puissent mener des affaires dans les pays de l’UE. Un grand nombre d’États membres de l’UE ont amélioré leurs engagements à l’endroit des professionnels canadiens, tels que les architectes, les analystes en informatique, les gens d’affaires en visite de courte durée, les investisseurs et les technologues, par comparaison au niveau d’accès consenti par l’UE à ses récents partenaires commerciaux.

Reconnaissance des qualifications professionnelles

L’AECG établit un processus simplifié pour la reconnaissance des qualifications étrangères dans certains secteurs, de même qu’un cadre détaillé par lequel les organismes de réglementation ou professionnels pourront négocier des accords de reconnaissance mutuelle pour d’autres professions.

Marchés publics

En vertu de l’AECG, le Canada aura un nouvel accès aux marchés régionaux et municipaux de l’UE. Cela se traduit par un accès aux marchés des autorités contractantes locales, des organismes de droit public, des services publics de distribution de gaz naturel, d’électricité, de chauffage et d’eau, et des entités chargées du transport urbain et du transport ferroviaire partout dans l’UE. Sont inclus les services professionnels, comme les services d’architecture et d’ingénierie, dont la valeur est supérieure aux seuils stipulés, la plupart des biens ainsi que tous les services de construction. En vertu de l’Accord sur les marchés publics de l’OMC, les fournisseurs canadiens ont déjà accès aux appels d’offres lancés à l’échelle de l’UE et dans les administrations nationales et infranationales des États membres.

Cliquez ici pour obtenir tous les détails sur l’AECG

Date de modification: