Brochure: The Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement is a big deal for Canadian companies

PDF Version (2 MB)

What is CETA?

A progressive trade agreement for a strong middle class.

Canada and the European Union (EU) have common views, common values, similar perspectives on the role of government in society, and the Canada-European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement (CETA) has the potential to bring us even closer together. CETA will bring real benefits to Canadians. Free and open trade permits the exchange of goods, services, technologies and ideas, which are key elements of a prosperous open society.

CETA will create jobs, strengthen economic relations and boost Canada’s trade with the world’s second-largest market. CETA sets new standards for trade in goods and services, non-tariff barriers, investment, government procurement, as well as in areas like labour and the environment. It is a progressive free trade agreement that covers virtually all sectors and aspects of Canada-EU trade in order to eliminate or reduce barriers.

CETA marks the beginning of a new era in trade agreements in which transparency and openness are at the centre of what we do, and labour rights and environmental protection are key components. Free trade agreements like CETA also promote and protect cultural diversity and strengthen the middle class while helping to ensure that everyone can participate and benefit.

What does CETA mean for Canadian companies?

Export opportunities

Key sectors for Canadian exporters

Investment opportunities

CETA benefits

“Manitobah Mukluks is an Indigenous-owned company with the vision to build a global footwear brand that makes a significant impact in Indigenous communities. Free trade agreements like CETA ensure that we can compete in international markets, like we do in our own backyard, and increase our social impact as a result.”

Sean McCormick, Owner, Manitobah Mukluks

Eliminates most tariffs: On the day that CETA enters into force, 98 percent of EU tariff lines will be duty-free for Canadian goods, and an additional one percent will be eliminated over a seven-year period. Tariff elimination will provide enhanced export opportunities into the EU market for Canadian producers, processors, and manufacturers, as well as for agricultural and agri-food products, fish and seafood, forestry goods, and the full range of industrial goods.

Cuts red tape: Wherever possible, customs procedures will be simple, effective, clear and predictable so as to reduce processing times at the border and make the movement of goods cheaper, faster and more efficient.

Reduces barriers to trade: CETA will allow Canadian producers to have certain products tested and certified, for EU markets, right here in Canada. This will reduce testing and certification costs and delays for manufacturers.

Provides access to public contracts at all levels: CETA expands and secures opportunities for Canadian firms to supply goods and services to all levels of the EU governments including the EU member state governments, regional and local governments and an array of entities operating in the utilities sectors.

Improves access for trade in services: CETA gives Canadian service providers the best market access the EU has ever granted.

Improves labour mobility: CETA will make it easier for certain skilled professionals and businesspeople to work temporarily in the EU and it establishes a streamlined process for the recognition of professional qualifications.

Promotes and protects investment: CETA will give investors greater certainty, stability and protection for their investments.

Thinking about exporting to the EU?

Across Canada, workers and businesses from a wide range of sectors will benefit from guaranteed preferential access to the world’s second largest economy and the second largest importing market for goods. The large and dynamic EU market offers tremendous opportunities and a real competitive edge for Canada.

“I’ve had an excellent experience interacting with the Trade Commissioner Service in Canada and abroad. Their professional and prompt service has helped Team Eagle access programs, such as CanExport, to grow our business reach.”

Paul Cudmore, General Manager and COO, Team Eagle

“Canada is a great brand in foreign markets. We have something unique to offer.”

Eli Gershkovitch, Owner, Steamworks Brewing Company

“CETA will enhance cooperation in the technology sector, it will allow us to bid and compete for contracts and to provide our services to EU clients as a Canadian company.”

Peter Sobotka, CEO of Corinex Communications Corp.

Visit the CETA website

Contact the Canadian Trade Commissioner Service

Date Modified:

Brochure : l’Accord économique et commercial global est une affaire en or pour les entreprises canadiennes

Version PDF (2 Mo)

Qu’est-ce que l’AECG?

Un accord commercial progressiste pour renforcer la classe moyenne.

Le Canada et l’Union européenne (UE) ont des points de vue communs, des valeurs communes et des opinions similaires au sujet du rôle du gouvernement dans la société. L’Accord économique et commercial global (AECG) Canada-UE nous permet de tisser des liens encore plus serrés. L’AECG profite réellement aux Canadiens. Le commerce et libre permet l’échange de biens, de services, de technologies et d’idées, éléments clés d’une société ouverte et prospère.

L’AECG créera des emplois, approfondira les relations économiques et stimulera le commerce entre le Canada et l’UE, deuxième marché au monde. L’AECG établit de nouvelles normes pour le commerce de biens et services, les obstacles non tarifaires, l’investissement et l’approvisionnement gouvernemental, ainsi que dans des domaines tels que les relations de travail et l’environnement. Cet accord de libre-échange progressiste englobe pratiquement tous les secteurs et tous les aspects des échanges commerciaux entre le Canada et l’UE en vue d’éliminer les obstacles à ces échanges ou de les réduire.

L’AECG marque le début d’une nouvelle ère en ce qui concerne les accords commerciaux, où la transparence et l’ouverture seront au cœur de la démarche. Le droit des travailleurs et la protection de l’environnement sont des éléments clés de cette nouvelle approche. Les accords de libre-échange comme l’AECG aident à promouvoir et à protéger la diversité culturelle ainsi qu’à renforcer la classe moyenne, en s'assurant que tout un chacun puisse y participer et en tirer profit.

Que signifie l’AECG pour les entreprises canadiennes?

Possibilités d’exportation

Secteurs clés pour les entreprises canadiennes

Possibilités d’investissement

Avantages de l’AECG

« Manitobah Mukluks, une entreprise créée et gérée par des Autochtones, a pour vision de créer une marque de chaussures de réputation mondiale, engendrant des retombées importantes pour les collectivités autochtones. Les accords de libre-échange tels que l’AECG nous permettent d’être concurrentiels sur les marchés internationaux comme nous le sommes sur notre propre territoire, et donc d’accroître notre impact social. »

Sean McCormick, président et fondateur de Manitobah Mukluks

Éliminer la majorité des droits : Avec l’AECG, 98 p. 100 des lignes tarifaires de l’UE sont libres de droits pour les produits canadiens, et un autre 1 p. 100 le seront au cours des sept premières années. L’élimination des droits de douane augmente les possibilités d’exportation vers le marché européen pour les producteurs, l’industrie de transformation et les fabricants canadiens, ainsi que pour les produits agricoles et agroalimentaires, le poisson et les fruits de mer, les produits forestiers et un vaste éventail de produits industriels.

Réduire les formalités administratives : Dans la mesure du possible, les procédures douanières ont été simplifiées et rendues plus efficaces, claires et prévisibles, pour réduire les délais de traitement à la frontière et rendre le transport de marchandises moins coûteux, plus rapide et plus efficace.

Réduire les obstacles au commerce : Grâce à l’AECG, les producteurs canadiens peuvent faire tester et certifier, ici au Canada, certains produits pour les marchés européens. Ce protocole permet de réduire les coûts des essais et de la certification ainsi que les retards pour les fabricants.

Fournir un accès aux marchés publics à tous les niveaux : L’AECG étend et garantit les possibilités pour les entreprises canadiennes de fournir leurs biens et services à tous les échelons de gouvernement de l’UE, y compris les gouvernements des États membres, des milliers d’entités administratives régionales et locales, et un large éventail d’entités dans le secteur des services publics.

Améliorer l’accès au commerce des services : L’AECG procure aux fournisseurs de services canadiens le meilleur accès au marché de l’UE jamais accordé.

Améliorer la mobilité de la main-d’œuvre : L’AECG facilite la tâche des travailleurs qualifiés et gens d’affaires qui souhaitent travailler temporairement sur le territoire de l’UE, et établit un processus simplifié pour la reconnaissance des qualifications professionnelles.

Promouvoir et protéger les investissements : L’AECG donne aux investisseurs canadiens une certitude, une stabilité et une protection accrues pour leurs investissements.

Envisagez-vous d’exporter vers l’UE?

Partout au Canada, les travailleurs et les entreprises d’un grand nombre de secteurs bénéficient d’un accès préférentiel garanti au deuxième marché en importance au monde et au deuxième marché mondial pour les importations de marchandises. Vaste et dynamique, le marché de l’UE offre des débouchés énormes et permet aux entreprises canadiennes de bénéficier désormais d’un avantage concurrentiel réel.

« Ma collaboration avec le Service des délégués commerciaux au Canada et à l'étranger a été une expérience formidable pour Team Eagle. Le service professionnel et rapide offert par les délégués a permis à l’équipe de Team Eagle d’avoir accès à des programmes comme CanExport, qui nous ont permis d’élargir les activités de notre entreprise. »

Paul Cudmore, directeur général et chef de la direction, Team Eagle

« Le Canada a une excellente réputation sur les marchés étrangers. Nous avons quelque chose d’unique à offrir. »

Eli Gershkovitch, propriétaire, Steamworks Brewing Company

« L’AECG augmentera la collaboration dans le secteur technologique, et nous permettra de rivaliser avec nos concurrents pour obtenir des marchés et offrir nos services à des clients de l’UE en tant qu’entreprise canadienne. »

Peter Sobotka, chef de la direction, Corinex Communications Corp.

Consultez le site Web de l’AECG

Communiquez avec le Service des délégués commerciaux du Canada

Date de modification: