What has been said about CETA

 “The EU is obviously a very large, affluent market with a strong investment presence in Canada and vice versa. If you think about how, increasingly, global trade is built around intra-company supply chains or coordinated supply chains globally, you can see how a free trade agreement really can build up investment that’s in both respective jurisdictions.”

Rory McAlpine, Vice President of Government and Industry Relations, Maple Leaf Foods Inc.

“As a member of the BC and Canadian food industry for over 50 years now, we strongly support the Canada-EU Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement. The food industry is the number-one employer in BC and Freybe Gourmet Foods alone provides jobs for over 300 employees. The success of our business, the creation of jobs, and the growth of the industry as a whole will depend on initiatives like CETA that grant us greater access to key markets abroad and lead to increased investment in our people, our technologies and our businesses.”

Sven Freybe, President and CEO, Freybe Gourmet Foods

“The Canada – EU agreement will create new opportunities for western producers to increase their presence in the European market and to attract investment from key financial sectors in Europe. The importance of the agreement is in securing advantages ahead of the United States, as such it positions western Canada companies and producers with a new window of opportunity that they, and the rest of the country, must move quickly to seize.”

Carlo Dade, Director, Centre for Trade & Investment Policy, The Canada West Foundation

“The EU represents the most lucrative seafood market in the world, with high seafood consumption per capita. For too many of our products, we are kept from being competitive because of the high tariffs the EU placed on our seafood products. It’s a remarkable achievement, the elimination of all EU tariffs on fish and seafood in a single leap. The EU is our backyard. Two thirds of the rest of Canada’s seafood is sold in the U.S., but we sell just 34 percent to the U.S. We’re closer to many parts of Europe, geographically and historically, than many markets in the U.S. Clearly we have work to do, but the good news is [that] the ground has shifted. We can take our current sales, and now we have room for growth. This is good news for us and good news for European consumers. It opens up new market opportunities.”

Derek Butler, Executive Director, Association of Seafood Producers

“I think it’s a tremendous initiative. I think the free trade deal with the EU is something almost everybody in the fishing industry had hoped for years. We’re as excited as hell.”

Bill Barry, Chairman and CEO, Barry Group Inc.

“This milestone trade agreement with the European Union will lead to an increase in cargo activity through the Port of Halifax. An increase in trade with Europe will have long-term economic benefits for the Port of Halifax as a result of increased trade volumes. As one of Canada’s leading ports with Europe, the Port of Halifax stands ready to facilitate the increase in trade between Europe and Canada that this landmark agreement will bring.”

Karen Oldfield, President and CEO, Halifax Port Authority

“I think there are real opportunities for much more development of not only live lobsters in Europe but also processed lobsters.”

Gilles Thériault, President, GTA Fisheries Consultants

“This is a big accomplishment for Canada and for the New Brunswick fishing industry in particular. We expect to see great economic benefits resulting from this agreement from the day it is implemented.”

Doris Losier, Director, Cape Bald Packers

“The Maritime Fisherman's Union represents over 1,300 workers who stand to benefit from the tremendous opportunities a Canada-EU free trade agreement would bring to our industry. Duty-free access to the lucrative EU fish and seafood market will mean new jobs and prosperity for fishers and their families across the Maritimes.”

Christian Brun, Executive Secretary, Maritime Fishermen’s Union

“Expanding into new markets is the way forward for our company and the Canadian mussel industry as a whole. We have been working hard to enter the European market for some time now, and thanks to a Canada-EU trade agreement, enhanced market access will help us continue to grow and create new sources of prosperity for our company, our community and our province.”

Esther Dockendorff, President, P.E.I. Mussel King Inc.

“We believe the best seafood products in the world come from Prince Edward Island. Our seafood processors are very pleased to see a deal reached with the European Union to remove tariffs and make lucrative markets more accessible.”

Dennis King, Executive Director, PEI Seafood Processors Association

“An ambitious agreement with the European Union that eliminates tariff barriers would directly benefit Sable Fish Packers. By increasing our exports to Europe, Sable Fish Packers will be able to grow and create more opportunities for workers in Nova Scotia through jobs and higher wages. We support the government’s efforts to help us expand into large and important markets for the fish and seafood industry.”

Brian Blades, President, Sable Fish Packers Limited

“A trade agreement with the European Union not only increases opportunities for businesses that sell directly to the EU, but also improves market opportunities for companies like Acadian Timber that supply materials to support those businesses. We welcome the government’s efforts to strengthen trade opportunities to improve our economy.”

Kevin Topolniski, Chief Forester, Acadian Timber

“Quality maple sugar production is a source of great pride for Canadians. Our products are already well-known in the European market. Maple syrup has evolved beyond the traditional pancake and waffle markets and can now be found in value-added products as a natural flavouring. The elimination of EU tariff barriers on Canadian products will not only increase sales, but will also increase recognition of Canada’s high-quality products.”

Serge Beaulieu, President, Federation of Quebec Maple Syrup Producers

“Maple syrup has become an increasingly popular product among Europeans over the last few years. A trade agreement with the EU will make Canada’s products more competitive in this lucrative market.”

Pierre Faucher, Owner, Cabane à Pierre

“We anticipate that this agreement, when it comes into force, will open new markets to Canadian exporters like NOVO Plastics throughout Europe and will generate significant commercial opportunities for all Canadian small to medium-sized businesses. NOVO Plastics will benefit from the elimination of EU tariffs on auto parts, which are as high as 4.5 percent. This will provide us with a competitive advantage in the EU market that few other countries have.”

Baljit Sierra, President and CEO, NOVO Plastics Inc.

“We at Miovision are in full support of a Canada-EU trade agreement, and would consider freer trade with Europe to be a milestone achievement for the government procurement sector. At a minimum, the reduction of technical barriers to trade will allow companies like Miovision to reap far greater gains from existing deals with European customers. Ultimately, the faster Canada can gain preferential access to the European Union, the faster companies on both sides of the equation can grow and create jobs.”

Kurtis McBride, Co-founder and CEO, Miovision Technologies

“In the eyes of our industry, CETA means increased demand here in Canada for construction. It means expanding companies. It means housing for the new workers. And it means people have the confidence to invest in their future and in construction. Hand in hand with seeking increased trade in the Asia-Pacific and our existing free trade with the United States, freer trade with Europe will benefit Canadians and construction for decades to come.”

Terrance Oakey, President, Merit Canada

“This is the classic way to create jobs, by lowering trade barriers. We are a trading nation. We are convinced that with better opportunities in Europe we can increase our production, therefore hire more people and, therefore, create jobs. That is how it is done.”

Paul Van Meerbergen, Business Development Manager, Lamko Tool and Mold Inc.

“Quality wheat is a source of great pride to Canadians. Our agriculture products are already well-known in the European market. Eliminating tariff barriers on agriculture products will not only increase sales, but will also increase recognition of Canada’s high-quality products.”

Jim Wickett, Chair, Western Canadian Wheat Growers Association

“The EU is the largest buyer of Canadian soybeans, with more than a million tonnes exported to the region annually. We look forward to even greater trade with Europe with the implementation of CETA.”

Barry Senft, CEO, Grain Farmers of Ontario

“While we have exported canned salmon to Europe for more than 100 years, high tariffs, often more than 20 percent, have made it very difficult to increase exports to this lucrative market. Trade means jobs. It helps maintain Canadians’ standard of living. This agreement means new market opportunities for fishermen and processors up and down the coast.”

Christina Burridge, Executive Director, BC Seafood Alliance

“A comprehensive Canada-Europe trade agreement that reduces tariffs over time will not only help stimulate demand for our products, but it will also allow Canadian businesses to realize more money for their products.”

Chris Sporer, Executive Director, Seafood Producers Association of British Columbia

“Like most other B.C. seafood products, a large portion of the halibut commercially harvested in British Columbia is exported. The more our industry has open access to important world seafood markets, the better it is for fishermen, the communities where we live and for Canada, too. Commercial halibut fishermen fully support the Canada-EU comprehensive economic trade agreement.”

Lyle Pierce, President, Pacific Halibut Management Association

“I am also pleased that the Canadian Government has negotiated a free trade agreement with the EU and that the European Union is urging its members to support the growth of aquaculture. I understand that this has led to the development of plans for expansion in various parts of Spain, including Murcia. As CEO of Cooke Aquaculture and owner of Culmárex, I am prepared to invest and make those expansions a reality. I understand the potential for Jobs and economic growth generated by our business and am committed to working with you and realizing this potential.”

Glenn Cooke, CEO, Cooke Aquaculture

“A trade agreement with the EU will provide an excellent opportunity for many sectors of the B.C. economy—such as wood and wood products, agriculture and fish and seafood—to enjoy reduced tariff barriers and expand existing trading relationships. British Columbians will experience increased employment opportunities and our industries will benefit from a more diversified market for their products.”

Bob Wilds, Executive Director, BC Wharf Operators Association

“I commend the government’s efforts to conclude a trade agreement between Canada and the European Union that aims to eliminate tariffs on wood products and simplify market access requirements for Canadian exporters. Such an agreement will greatly strengthen the position of the Canadian forest industry.”

Paul Newman, President, Canada Wood Group

“A Canada-EU trade agreement helps provide an opportunity to grow our business of selling world-class forest products to Europe and create new sources of jobs and prosperity within our industry.”

Richard J. Slaco, Vice President and Chief Forester, International Forest Products Limited (Interfor)

“Quality wood and wood products are a source of great pride for Canadians. B.C.’s wood exports face average tariffs of 2.2 percent in the EU, with peaks of 10 percent. The elimination of tariff barriers on these products will not only increase sales, but will also increase recognition of Canada’s world-class products.”

Rick Jeffery, President and CEO, Coast Forest Products Association
Date Modified:

L’AECG : Ce qu’on en a dit

 « L’UE est de toute évidence un marché vaste et prospère avec une forte présence d’investisseurs au Canada et vice-versa. Si vous songez à quel point le commerce mondial repose de plus en plus sur les chaînes d’approvisionnement intra-entreprises ou sur les chaînes d’approvisionnement coordonnées à l’échelle mondiale, vous pourrez constater à quel point un accord de libre-échange peut vraiment générer des investissements dans les deux pays concernés. »

Roy McAlpine, vice-président des relations avec le gouvernement et l'industrie, Maple Leaf Foods Inc.

« En tant que membres de l’industrie alimentaire de la Colombie-Britannique et du Canada depuis plus de 50 ans maintenant, nous appuyons fermement l’accord économique et commercial global entre le Canada et l’Union européenne. L’industrie alimentaire est le premier employeur en Colombie-Britannique, et à elle seule, Freybe Gourmet Foods donne de l’emploi à plus de 300 personnes. La réussite de notre entreprise, la création d’emplois et la croissance de l’industrie dans son ensemble dépendront d’initiatives comme l’AECG qui nous donnent un meilleur accès à d’importants marchés à l’étranger et se traduisent par des investissements accrus dans nos gens, nos technologies et nos entreprises. »

Sven Freybe, président et chef de la direction, Freybe Gourmet Foods

« L’accord entre le Canada et l’UE offrira aux producteurs de l’Ouest de nouveaux débouchés qui leur permettront d’accroître leur présence sur le marché européen et d’attirer les investissements des principaux secteurs financiers d’Europe. L’accord est important, puisqu’il permet d’obtenir des avantages par rapport aux États-Unis et offre aux entreprises et aux producteurs canadiens de l’Ouest une nouvelle occasion qu’ils doivent rapidement saisir, tout comme le reste du pays. »

Carlo Dade, Directeur, Centre for Trade & Investment Policy, The Canada West Foundation

« L’UE est le marché le plus lucratif au monde pour ce qui est des produits de la mer, et la consommation par habitant y est considérable. Un grand nombre de nos produits de la mer ne sont pas compétitifs en raison des droits de douane élevés imposés par l’Union européenne. La suppression d’un seul coup de tous les droits de douane européens sur le poisson et les fruits de mer constitue une réalisation remarquable. L’UE se trouve dans notre arrière-cour. Les deux tiers des produits de la mer du reste du Canada sont vendus aux États-Unis, mais nous ne vendons que 34 p. 100 de nos produits à ce pays. Nous sommes plus près de nombreuses régions de l’Europe, tant sur le plan géographique qu’historique, que de nombreux marchés des États-Unis. Il est clair que nous avons du travail à faire, mais la bonne nouvelle est que les conditions ont changé. Nous avons maintenant l’occasion de faire croître nos ventes. C’est une bonne nouvelle pour nous et pour les consommateurs européens. L’accord crée de nouveaux débouchés. »

Derek Butler, directeur général, Association of Seafood Producers

« Il s’agit d’une formidable initiative. Je crois qu’à peu près tout le monde dans l’industrie de la pêche souhaite depuis des années un accord de libre-échange avec l’Union européenne. Nous sommes tout à fait emballés. »

Bill Barry, président-directeur général, Barry Group Inc.

« Cet accord commercial historique avec l’Union européenne mènera à une augmentation des activités de fret au port d’Halifax. La hausse des échanges commerciaux avec l’Europe aura des retombées économiques positives à long terme pour ce dernier, en raison de la hausse des volumes de marchandises échangés. Comptant parmi les principaux ports qui relient le Canada à l’Europe, le port d’Halifax est prêt à accueillir le volume accru d’échanges commerciaux entre les deux régions qui découlera de cet accord unique. »

Karen Oldfield, présidente-directrice générale, Administration portuaire d’Halifax

« Je crois qu’il existe encore beaucoup de nouveaux débouchés en Europe non seulement pour le homard vivant, mais aussi pour le homard transformé. »

Gilles Thériault, GTA Fisheries Consultants

« Il s’agit d’une réalisation majeure pour le Canada et en particulier pour l’industrie de la pêche du Nouveau-Brunswick. Nous nous attendons à ce que cet accord ait de formidables retombées économiques dès son entrée en vigueur. »

Doris Losier, directrice, Cape Bald Packers

« L’Union des pêcheurs des Maritimes représente plus de 1 300 travailleurs qui pourraient tirer profit des possibilités formidables qu’un accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et l’Union européenne (UE) offrirait à l’industrie. L’accès en franchise de droits au marché lucratif des produits de la mer de l’UE serait synonyme d’emplois et de prospérité pour les pêcheurs des Maritimes et leurs familles. »

Christian Brun, directeur général, Union des pêcheurs des Maritimes

« Percer de nouveaux marchés, c’est la voie de l’avenir pour notre entreprise et pour toute l’industrie canadienne des moules. Depuis un certain temps, nous travaillons pour accéder au marché européen. L’accord commercial entre le Canada et l’Union européenne facilitera l’accès aux marchés, ce qui nous aidera à poursuivre notre expansion et à créer de nouvelles sources de prospérité pour notre entreprise, la collectivité et la province dans son ensemble. »

Esther Dockendorff, présidente, P.E.I. Mussel King Inc.

« Nous croyons que les meilleurs produits de la mer du monde proviennent de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Nos transformateurs de produits de la mer sont très heureux qu’une entente ait été conclue avec l’Union européenne afin de supprimer les droits de douane et de rendre ce marché lucratif plus accessible. »

Dennis King, directeur exécutif, PEI Seafood Processors Association

« La conclusion d’un accord ambitieux avec l’Union européenne, qui supprimera les obstacles tarifaires, profitera directement à Sable Fish Packers. Avec une hausse de ses exportations vers l’Europe, l’entreprise pourra prendre de l’expansion, créer de nouveaux débouchés pour les travailleurs en Nouvelle-Écosse et offrir plus d’emplois et de meilleurs salaires. Nous appuyons les efforts que déploie le gouvernement pour nous aider à accroître nos activités sur d’importants marchés pour l’industrie des produits de la mer. »

Brian Blades, président, Sable Fish Packers Limited

« La conclusion d’un accord commercial avec l’Union européenne (UE) augmentera les possibilités pour les entreprises qui vendent directement aux pays de l’UE, en plus d’améliorer les débouchés pour les entreprises comme Acadian Timber qui fournissent du matériel à ces entreprises. Nous saluons les efforts que déploie le gouvernement pour accroître les débouchés commerciaux et améliorer notre économie. »

Kevin Topolniski, chef forestier, Acadian Timber

« La production de sirop d’érable de qualité est une source de grande fierté pour les Canadiens. Nos produits sont déjà bien connus sur le marché européen. Le sirop d’érable n’est plus seulement l’accompagnement traditionnel des crêpes et des gaufres; il est maintenant utilisé comme aromate naturel dans des produits à valeur ajoutée. La suppression des barrières tarifaires de l’Union européenne sur les produits canadiens favorisera l’augmentation des ventes et la reconnaissance des produits de grande qualité du Canada. »

Serge Beaulieu, président, Fédération des producteurs acéricoles du Québec

« Ces dernières années, le sirop d’érable a gagné en popularité auprès des Européens. Un accord commercial avec l’Union européenne rendra les produits canadiens plus concurrentiels sur ce marché lucratif. »

Pierre Faucher, propriétaire, La Cabane à Pierre

« Nous prévoyons que cet accord, lorsqu’il entrera en vigueur, ouvrira de nouveaux marchés dans l’ensemble de l’Europe aux exportateurs canadiens comme NOVO Plastics et créera des débouchés commerciaux importants pour toutes les petites et moyennes entreprises du pays. NOVO Plastics profitera de la suppression des droits de douane imposés par l’UE sur les pièces d’automobile, qui peuvent atteindre 4,5 p. 100. Cela nous procurera un avantage concurrentiel sur le marché de l’UE que peu d’autres pays détiennent. »

Baljit Sierra, président-directeur général, NOVO Plastics Inc.

« Chez Miovision, nous sommes tout à fait favorables à un accord commercial entre le Canada et l’Union européenne (UE), et nous considérons que des échanges plus ouverts avec l’Europe seraient une avancée majeure pour le secteur des marchés publics. Tout au moins, des entreprises telles que Miovision pourront, grâce à la réduction des obstacles techniques au commerce, retirer de leurs contrats actuels avec des clients européens des gains beaucoup plus importants. Enfin, plus tôt le Canada obtiendra un accès préférentiel à l’UE, plus tôt les entreprises de ces deux marchés pourront croître et créer des emplois. »

Kurtis McBride, cofondateur et chef de la direction, Miovision Technologies

« Notre industrie estime qu’un accord économique et commercial global [AECG] augmentera la demande, ici au Canada, dans le secteur de la construction, qu’il favorisera la croissance des entreprises et qu’il entraînera la construction de logements pour les nouveaux travailleurs. De même, grâce à l’AECG, les gens auront la confiance nécessaire pour investir dans leur avenir et dans la construction. Avec les efforts en vue d’accroître les échanges avec la région de l’Asie-Pacifique, il va sans dire que les négociations en vue de libéraliser le commerce avec l’Europe, comme c’est le cas avec notre accord de libre­-échange avec les États-Unis, profitera à tous les Canadiens et au secteur de la construction pour les décennies à venir. »

Terrance Oakey, président, Merit Canada

« La réduction des obstacles au commerce constitue la méthode classique pour créer des emplois. Nous sommes un pays de commerçants. Nous sommes persuadés qu’en ayant accès à de plus grandes possibilités en Europe, nous pourrons accroître notre production, embaucher plus de travailleurs et ainsi créer des emplois. C’est la façon de faire. »

Paul Van Meerbergen, gestionnaire, Développement commercial, Lamko Tool and Mold Inc.

« Le blé de qualité est une source de grande fierté pour les Canadiens. Nos produits agricoles sont déjà bien connus sur le marché européen. La suppression des obstacles tarifaires touchant ces produits favorisera l’augmentation des ventes et la reconnaissance des produits de grande qualité du Canada. »

Jim Wickett, administrateur, Western Canadian Wheat Growers Association

« L’UE est le plus grand acheteur de soja canadien, et nous y exportons plus de 1 million de tonnes annuellement. Nous nous réjouissons à l’idée d’accroître davantage nos échanges commerciaux avec l’Europe grâce à la mise en œuvre de l’AECG. »

Barry Senft, président-directeur général, Les Producteurs de grain de l’Ontario

« Bien que nous exportions du saumon en conserve vers l’Europe depuis plus de 100 ans, les droits de douane élevés, atteignant parfois plus de 20 p. 100, ont rendu très difficile la croissance de nos exportations à destination de ce lucratif marché. Le commerce est porteur d’emplois et il contribue au maintien du niveau de vie des Canadiens. Cet accord représente de nouveaux débouchés pour les pêcheurs et les transformateurs de toute la côte. »

Christina Burridge, directrice générale, BC Seafood Alliance

« Un accord commercial global entre le Canada et l’Europe qui réduit progressivement les droits de douane ne contribuera pas seulement à stimuler la demande de nos produits, il permettra aussi aux entreprises canadiennes d’obtenir davantage pour leurs produits. »

Chris Sporer, directeur général, Seafood Producers Association of British Columbia

« Comme c’est le cas pour la plupart des produits de la mer de la Colombie-Britannique, une grande partie du flétan pêché à des fins commerciales dans la province est exporté. Plus l’accès aux principaux marchés des produits de la mer du monde sera ouvert à notre industrie, mieux se portent nos pêcheurs, les collectivités où ils vivent et le Canada. Les pêcheurs de flétan à des fins commerciales appuient pleinement la conclusion d’un accord économique et commercial global entre le Canada et l’Union européenne. »

Lyle Pierce, vice-président, Pacific Halibut Management Association

« Je me réjouis du fait que le gouvernement du Canada a négocié un accord de libre-échange avec l’Union européenne (UE) et que l’UE exhorte ses membres à appuyer la croissance de l’aquaculture. Je crois comprendre que cette initiative a conduit à l’élaboration de projets d’expansion dans diverses régions de l’Espagne, notamment à Murcia. En tant que président-directeur général de Cooke Aquaculture et propriétaire de Culmárex, je suis prêt à investir et à faire en sorte que ces projets se concrétisent. Je suis bien conscient des possibilités que présentent nos activités sur le plan de la création d’emplois et de la croissance économique et je suis donc déterminé à collaborer avec vous afin de réaliser ce potentiel. »

Glenn Cooke, PDG, Cooke Aquaculture

« Grâce à l’accord commercial avec l’Union européenne, de nombreuses industries de la Colombie-Britannique, comme le bois et les produits du bois, l’agriculture et les produits de la mer, profiteront d’une réduction des obstacles tarifaires et pourront élargir leurs liens commerciaux existants. Les possibilités au chapitre de l’emploi seront plus nombreuses pour les résidents de la Colombie-Britannique, et nos industries bénéficieront d’un marché plus diversifié pour leurs produits. »

Bob Wilds, directeur général, BC Wharf Operators Association

« Je salue les efforts du gouvernement en vue de conclure un accord commercial avec l’Union européenne, qui aura pour effet de supprimer les droits de douane visant les produits de bois et qui simplifiera les exigences entourant l’accès au marché pour les exportateurs canadiens. Cet accord améliorera grandement la situation de l’industrie forestière canadienne. »

Paul Newman, directeur général, Groupe Produits de bois canadien

« Un accord commercial entre le Canada et l’Union européenne nous donnera l’occasion de faire croître nos ventes de produits forestiers de classe mondiale en Europe, de créer de nouveaux emplois et de favoriser la prospérité de notre industrie. »

Richard J. Slaco, vice-président et chef forestier, International Forest Products Limited (Interfor)

« Le bois et les produits du bois de qualité sont une source de grande fierté pour les Canadiens. Les exportateurs de bois de la Colombie-Britannique doivent acquitter des droits de douane de 2,2 p. 100 en moyenne lorsqu’ils exportent leurs produits vers les pays de l’Union européenne — des droits qui peuvent même atteindre 10 p. 100. La suppression des obstacles tarifaires sur ces produits favorisera l’augmentation des ventes et la reconnaissance des produits canadiens de calibre mondial. »

Rick Jeffery, président et chef de la direction, Coast Forest Products Association
Date de modification: