How the fund works

More than 20 million people in northeast Nigeria, Somalia, South Sudan and Yemen are at risk of starvation as a result of severe drought conditions and intensifying conflict. South Sudan is experiencing famine, and unless immediate action is taken, others could slide into a similar situation.

Children are being particularly affected by these humanitarian crises as some 1.4 million are now at risk of death from severe acute malnutrition.

Millions across the four affected countries and neighbouring countries are in need of basic necessities such as urgent food assistance, water, sanitation services, healthcare, shelter and other essential services.

On May 29, 2017, the Government of Canada launched the Famine Relief Fund in order to engage Canadians in responding to these humanitarian crises and reinforce the response of Canadian civil society to reach the most vulnerable and address the most acute needs of populations facing starvation in:

Since these humanitarian situations have regional implications, we will also match eligible donations for relief activities in:

For every eligible dollar donated by individuals to registered Canadian charities between March 17 and June 30, 2017, the Government of Canada will set aside one dollar in the Famine Relief Fund. The government will use the fund to support experienced Canadian and international humanitarian organizations using established Global Affairs Canada channels and procedures.

The Famine Relief Fund is separate from the funds raised by charities and is administered separately by the Government of Canada. This means a charity does not receive a matching dollar from the Government of Canada.

Donation criteria for individual Canadians

To be counted toward the Famine Relief Fund, donations must be made by individuals, not exceed $100,000 per individual, and must be:

* Please note, donations cannot be made directly to the Famine Relief Fund or to Global Affairs Canada.

For more information about making an individual donation eligible for the Famine Relief Fund, visit the How to make a donation page.

Donation criteria for individuals fundraising on behalf of organizations

Donations from a fundraising event undertaken to raise money from individuals in response to these humanitarian crises are eligible to be matched. This fundraising may be undertaken by schools, faith-based organizations, clubs, social groups, businesses, incorporated entities or charitable organizations.

Any donations made by corporations, governments, businesses, partnerships, schools, incorporated or non-incorporated entities, and unions from their existing resources that were not raised from individuals specifically in response to the famine are not eligible to be matched. In addition, donations to augment the amount originally raised from individuals through a fundraising activity or event are not eligible to be matched.

For more information about making a donation eligible for the Famine Relief Fund on behalf of corporations, organizations and groups, visit the How to make a donation page.

Donation criteria for registered charities

Registered charities declaring eligible donations are required to complete the Famine Relief Fund Declaration Form which must be received by Global Affairs Canada on or before July 7, 2017, 2017, for its donations to be counted toward the Relief fund.

To ensure that donations are eligible for the matching program, registered charities must ensure that:

It is up to the registered Canadian charity to certify that the donations declared are eligible. Registered Canadian charities are under no obligation to declare donations to Global Affairs Canada if they are not satisfied that they meet the eligibility requirements.

The Famine Relief Fund is separate from the funds raised by charities and is administered separately by the Government of Canada. This means that a charity declaring the amount of eligible donations raised does not receive a matching dollar from the Government of Canada. For every eligible dollar donated by individual Canadians to registered Canadian charities, the government sets aside one dollar for the Relief Fund. The government will use the fund to support experienced Canadian and international humanitarian organizations to meet needs resulting from these humanitarian crises.

Allocation of funds

Charitable organizations fundraising for relief efforts in the countries impacted by these humanitarian crises will not have privileged access to financing from the relief fund. The allocation of the Famine Relief Fund is separate from the funds raised by charities and is administered separately by the Government of Canada. This means that a charity itself does not directly receive a matching dollar from the Government of Canada for each dollar that they report.

Date Modified:

Comment fonctionne le Fonds

Plus de 20 millions de personnes dans le nord-est du Nigéria, en Somalie, au Soudan du Sud et au Yémen risquent de mourir de faim en raison de graves sécheresses et de conflits. Le Soudan du Sud est en proie à la famine et, à moins que des mesures immédiates ne soient prises, d’autres pays pourraient sombrer dans une situation similaire.

La faim est une réelle menace pour les enfants en bas âge, en particulier pour les quelque 1,4 million d’entre eux qui risquent de mourir de malnutrition aigüe et de maladies.

Dans les quatre pays touchés et les pays avoisinants, des millions de personnes ont besoin d’une aide alimentaire d’urgence, d’eau, d’installations sanitaires, de soins de santé, d’un abri et d’autres services essentiels.

Le 29 mai 2017, le gouvernement du Canada a lancé le Fonds de secours contre la famine afin de mobiliser les Canadiens, et de renforcer la participation de la société civile canadienne aux efforts pour aider les personnes les plus vulnérables et pour répondre aux besoins les plus urgents des populations touchées par la famine dans les pays suivants :

Comme les pays avoisinants subissent les contrecoups des crises humanitaires, le gouvernement du Canada versera également une somme équivalente aux dons admissibles faits pour les efforts de secours dans les pays suivants :

Pour chaque dollar admissible donné entre le 17 mars et le 30 juin 2017 par un particulier à un organisme de bienfaisance canadien enregistré visant à répondre à ces crises humanitaires, le gouvernement versera un montant équivalent dans le Fonds de secours contre la famine. Le gouvernement utilisera le Fonds pour appuyer des organisations humanitaires canadiennes et internationales d’expérience par l’entremise des procédures et mécanismes établis d’Affaires mondiales Canada.

Le Fonds de secours contre la famine est distinct des sommes recueillies par les organismes de bienfaisance et est administré par le gouvernement du Canada. Ainsi, les organismes de bienfaisance ne recevront pas une somme équivalente du gouvernement du Canada.

Critères applicables aux dons faits par des particuliers canadiens

Pour être comptabilisés dans le Fonds de secours contre la famine, les dons versés par les particuliers ne doivent pas dépasser 100 000 $ par donateur et doivent respecter les conditions suivantes :

* Veuillez noter que les dons ne peuvent être faits directement au Fonds de secours contre la famine ni à Affaires mondiales Canada.

Pour en savoir plus sur les dons de particuliers au Fonds de secours contre la famine, prière de consulter la page Comment faire un don.

Critères applicables aux dons faits par des personnes qui recueillent des fonds au nom d’organisations

Les dons obtenus lors d’une activité de financement qui a pour but de recueillir des fonds auprès de particuliers en réponse à ces crises humanitaires sont admissibles au Fonds de secours contre la famine. Des activités de financement peuvent être organisées par des écoles, des organismes confessionnels, des clubs, des groupes sociaux, des entreprises, des entités constituées en société ou des organismes de bienfaisance.

Le gouvernement ne versera pas de contribution équivalente pour les dons faits par des sociétés, des administrations publiques, des entreprises, des sociétés de personnes, des écoles, des entités constituées ou non en personne morale et des syndicats qui ont été tirés de leurs propres ressources et qui n'ont pas été recueillis auprès de particuliers expressément en réponse à ces crises humanitaires. En outre, les dons faits pour accroître le montant amassé à l’origine auprès de particuliers à l’occasion d’une activité de financement ne sont pas admissibles.

Pour en savoir plus sur la manière de faire un don admissible au Fonds de secours contre la famine au nom d’une société, d’une organisation ou d’un groupe, veuillez consulter la page Comment faire un don.

Critères applicables aux dons faits par des organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés

Les organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés doivent déclarer des dons admissibles doivent remplir le formulaire de déclaration et le faire parvenir à Affaires mondiales Canada au plus tard le 7 juillet 2017 pour que les dons amassés soient comptabilisés dans le Fonds.

Pour qu’un don soit admissible au Fonds de secours contre la famine, les organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés doivent s’assurer de ce qui suit :

Les organismes de bienfaisance canadiens enregistrés ne sont pas tenus de déclarer les dons à Affaires mondiales Canada s’ils ne sont pas convaincus que ces dons respectent les critères d’admissibilité.

Le Fonds de secours contre la famine est distinct des différentes sommes recueillies par les organismes de bienfaisance et est administré séparément par le gouvernement du Canada. Cela signifie qu’un organisme de bienfaisance déclarant le montant de dons admissibles recueillis ne reçoit pas un montant de contrepartie du gouvernement du Canada. Pour chaque dollar admissible versé par un particulier canadien à un organisme de bienfaisance canadien enregistré, le gouvernement du Canada versera un dollar au fonds de secours. Grâce au fonds, le gouvernement appuiera les efforts des organisations humanitaires canadiennes et internationales d’expérience pour qu’elles puissent répondre aux besoins découlant de ces crises humanitaires.

Attribution des fonds

Les organismes de bienfaisance qui recueillent des fonds pour venir en aide aux pays touchés par ces crises humanitaires ne jouiront pas d’un accès privilégié ou direct au fonds de secours. Le Fonds de secours contre la famine est distinct des sommes recueillies par les organismes de bienfaisance et est administré séparément par le gouvernement du Canada. Cela signifie qu’un organisme de bienfaisance ne reçoit pas un dollar de contrepartie du gouvernement du Canada pour chaque dollar de dons déclarés.

Date de modification: