Diane Jacovella

Deputy Minister of International Development

On June 23, 2017, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau appointed Diane Jacovella as deputy minister of international development, effective July 31, 2017. Prior to this appointment, Ms. Jacovella had served as associate deputy minister of foreign affairs since March 14, 2016.

Diane Jacovella joined the public service of Canada in 1988 and spent the first 12 years of her career at Health Canada. She then worked as director of policy in the Voluntary Sector Task Force at the Privy Council Office (2000 to 2002); as director general, strategic integration, at Human Resources Development Canada (2002 to 2004); and as director general, strategic policy, in the Security and Intelligence Secretariat at the Privy Council Office (2004 to 2006). In 2006, she joined the Canadian International Development Agency as director general, eastern and southern Africa, and then occupied the position of vice president of Multilateral and Global Programs Branch from 2007 to 2013. In November 2013, she served as assistant deputy minister, global issues and development, at Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada. She also served as G7 foreign affairs sous-sherpa.

Ms. Jacovella holds a master’s degree in regional studies and a graduate diploma in management of public services from the University of Quebec, as well as a Bachelor of Science in nursing from the University of Ottawa.

Date Modified:

Diane Jacovella

Sous-ministre du Développement international

Le 23 juin 2017, le premier ministre Justin Trudeau a nommé Mme Diane Jacovella au poste de sous-ministre du Développement international. Sa nomination entre en vigueur le 31 juillet 2017. Auparavant, Mme Jacovella occupait le poste de sous-ministre déléguée aux Affaires étrangères à Affaires mondiales Canada depuis le 14 mars 2016.

Mme Jacovella s’est jointe à la fonction publique du Canada en 1988 à titre d’employée de Santé Canada, où elle a travaillé 12 ans. Elle a par la suite été directrice des politiques du Groupe de travail sur le secteur bénévole, au Bureau du Conseil privé (de 2000 à 2002); directrice générale, Intégration stratégique, à Développement des ressources humaines Canada (de 2002 à 2004); et directrice générale, Politiques stratégiques, au Secrétariat de la sécurité et du renseignement du Bureau du Conseil privé (de 2004 à 2006). En 2006, elle est entrée à l’Agence canadienne de développement international en tant que directrice générale, Afrique australe et de l’Est, pour ensuite occuper le poste de vice-présidente à la Direction générale des programmes multilatéraux et mondiaux, de 2007 à 2013. En novembre 2013, Mme Jacovella a été nommée au poste de sous-ministre adjointe, Enjeux mondiaux et développement, à Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada. Elle a également assumé les fonctions de sous-sherpa aux affaires étrangères pour le G7.

Mme Jacovella est titulaire d’une maîtrise en études régionales et d’un diplôme d’études supérieures en gestion des services publics de l’Université du Québec, ainsi que d’un baccalauréat ès sciences en sciences infirmières de l’Université d’Ottawa.

Date de modification: