Ministerial direction to Global Affairs Canada: Avoiding complicity in mistreatment by foreign entities

Purpose

  1. Pursuant to section 2 of the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Act, I preside over the Department, and have its management and direction in Canada and abroad. I hereby issue this Ministerial Direction.
  2. The Government of Canada is committed to addressing threats to national security and protecting rights and freedoms. The purpose of this Direction is to clearly state Canadian values and principles against torture and mistreatment and commitment to the rule of law.
  3. This Direction prohibits:
    1. the disclosure of information that would result in a substantial risk of mistreatment of any individual by a foreign entity;
    2. the making of requests for information that would result in a substantial risk of mistreatment of any individual by a foreign entity; and
    3. certain uses of information that was likely obtained through the mistreatment of an individual by a foreign entity.
  4. The decision-making processes for these situations are set out in annexes A, B, and C of this document.

Definitions

  1. “Mistreatment” means torture or other cruel, inhuman, or degrading treatment or punishment.
  2. “Substantial risk” is a personal, present and foreseeable risk of mistreatment. In order to be “substantial”, the risk must be real and must be based on something more than mere theory or speculation. In most cases, the test of a substantial risk of mistreatment will be satisfied when it is more likely than not that there will be mistreatment; however, in some cases, particularly where the risk is of severe harm, the “substantial risk” standard may be satisfied at a lower level of probability.
  3. “Foreign Entities” may include foreign governments, their departments, agencies and militaries, and may also refer to military coalitions, alliances, and international organizations.

Preamble

  1. The Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, Section 7, guarantees that “everyone has the right to life, liberty, and security of the person.”  Section 12 prohibits “any cruel and unusual treatment or punishment,” which Canadian courts have described as behaviour “so excessive as to outrage the standards of decency.”  This behaviour includes torture and other cruel, inhuman, or degrading treatment or punishment.
  2. Torture and other cruel, inhuman, or degrading treatment or punishment represent affronts to Canadian values. The Government of Canada opposes in the strongest possible terms their use, including in responding to threats to national security.
  3. Canada is a party to a number of international agreements that prohibit torture and other forms of cruel, inhuman, or degrading treatment or punishment.  These include the Geneva Conventions, the Law of Armed Conflict, international humanitarian law, the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights and the Convention Against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman, or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (CAT).  The CATrequires state parties to criminalize all instances of torture, and to take effective measures to prevent torture and other cruel, inhuman, or degrading treatment or punishment in any territory under their jurisdiction.
  4. Torture is a criminal offence in Canada that has extraterritorial application.  The Criminal Code’s provisions governing secondary liability also prohibit aiding and abetting the commission of torture, counselling the commission of torture whether or not the torture is committed, conspiracy to commit torture, attempting to commit torture, and being an accessory after the fact to torture. Furthermore, the Criminal Code states that “exceptional circumstances” provide no defence to a charge of committing these offences.
  5. Torture and other cruel, inhuman, or degrading treatment or punishment also serve no legitimate military, law enforcement, or intelligence gathering purpose. Any information they yield is very likely unreliable, and is therefore inadmissible as evidence in a court of law.
  6. The Government of Canada, therefore, has no interest in actions associated with the use of torture and other cruel, inhuman, or degrading treatment or punishment. Knowingly associating the Government of Canada with any of these actions would damage the credibility and effectiveness of any department or agency associated with them.

Principles

  1. Recognizing that information-sharing with foreign entities is vital to Global Affairs Canada’s ability to maintain strong relationships and address threats to national and international security, and that Global Affairs Canada must also be able to quickly share information with domestic partners with a mandate and responsibility to respond to threats to national security, such sharing must be done in a manner that complies with Canada’s laws and legal obligations.
  2. Global Affairs Canada must avoid knowingly contributing to mistreatment by foreign entities.
  3. Global Affairs Canada must assess the accuracy and reliability of information received, and properly characterize this information in any further dissemination.  It must maintain measures for identifying foreign entities that engage in mistreatment of individuals.
  4. Global Affairs Canada has a responsibility to keep me, as Minister of Foreign Affairs,  informed about its information sharing arrangements.
  5. Transparency about the use of this Direction is a key principle. In accordance with Principle 4 of the Government’s National Security Transparency Commitment, Global Affairs Canada is expected to publish information that explains how this Direction is implemented, including the conduct of risk assessments, in line with Canadian values, including those expressed by the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

Inter-Agency Cooperation

  1. Global Affairs Canada will maintain internal policies and procedures for assessing the risks associated with relationships with foreign entities. This includes evaluating the human rights records of foreign governments generally, and not only the specific entities associated with them.
  2. Global Affairs Canada will cooperate in this assessment process with all other Government of Canada departments and agencies covered by Ministerial Direction to ensure that decision-making is supported by the most comprehensive assessment base of information possible.
  3. Global Affairs Canada will monitor their arrangements with foreign entities based on a number of factors, including human rights and risk of mistreatment. These arrangements will be restricted if it is assessed by Global Affairs Canada that a foreign partner is engaging in, or contributing to, mistreatment. When such an action is taken, Global Affairs Canada will inform the other Departments and Agencies subject to this direction in a timely manner.

Accountability

  1. Global Affairs Canada is subject to the rule of law; Ministerial oversight; and, in areas related to national security and intelligence, review by the National Security and Intelligence Committee of Parliamentarians.
  2. Global Affairs Canada is directed to produce a classified annual report to me, as Minister of Foreign Affairs, regarding the application of this Direction. The report will include:
    1. details on substantial risk cases where this Direction was engaged, including the number of cases;
    2. the restriction of any arrangements due to concerns related to mistreatment; and
    3. any changes to internal policies and procedures related to this Direction.
  3. I, as Minister of Foreign Affairs, will provide the National Security and Intelligence Committee of Parliamentarians with as much information from the report as the Committee is authorized to receive by law.
  4. This report, in an unclassified format, will be released publicly, containing the content described above to the maximum extent possible without compromising the national interest, the effectiveness of operations, or the safety or security of an individual.

The Hon. Chrystia Freeland, P.C., M.P.

Date

Appendix A of the Ministerial Direction:

Decision-making process for the disclosure of any information that would result in a substantial risk of mistreatment of an individual by a foreign entity

  1. The ongoing assessment of the risks associated with Canada’s exchange of information with foreign entities is vital to ensuring that Canada does not knowingly contribute to mistreatment abroad.
  2. When there is a substantial risk that disclosing information to a foreign entity would result in the mistreatment of an individual, and officials are unable to determine if that risk can be mitigated, the matter will be referred to the Deputy Head for decision.
  3. If that substantial risk cannot be mitigated, information will not be disclosed to that foreign entity.
  4. In any case when approval to disclose information is granted because the Deputy Head determines that the substantial risk can be mitigated, the basis for such a determination must be clearly documented.
  5. I, as Minister of Foreign Affairs, and the National Security and Intelligence Committee of Parliamentarians (subject to its legal mandate) will be informed, as soon as is feasible, of cases that required a decision by the Deputy Head and provided with relevant contextual information.  Information relating to an ongoing investigation carried out by a law enforcement agency may be provided to the Committee when the investigation is no longer ongoing.

Appendix B of the Ministerial Direction:

Decision-making process for the making of requests for information that would result in a substantial risk of mistreatment of an individual by a foreign entity

  1. The ongoing assessment of the risks associated with Canada’s exchange of information with foreign entities is vital to ensuring that Canada does not knowingly contribute to mistreatment abroad.
  2. When there is a substantial risk that making a request for information to a foreign entity would result in the mistreatment of an individual, and officials are unable to determine if that risk can be mitigated through, for example, the use of caveats or assurances, the matter will be referred to the Deputy Head for decision.
  3. If that substantial risk cannot be mitigated, information will not be requested from that foreign entity.
  4. In any case when approval to make a request for information is granted because the Deputy Head determines that the substantial risk can be mitigated, the basis for such a determination must be clearly documented.
  5. I, as Minister of Foreign Affairs, and the National Security and Intelligence Committee of Parliamentarians (subject to its legal mandate) will be informed, as soon as is feasible, of cases that required a decision by the Deputy Head and provided with relevant contextual information.  Information relating to an ongoing investigation carried out by a law enforcement agency may be provided to the Committee when the investigation is no longer ongoing.

Appendix C of the Ministerial Direction:

Decision-making process for the use of information that was likely obtained through the mistreatment of an individual by a foreign entity

  1. Information that was likely obtained through mistreatment may not be used:
    1. in any way that creates a substantial risk of further mistreatment;
    2. as evidence in any judicial, administrative, or other proceeding; or,
    3. to deprive someone of their rights or freedoms, except, where the Deputy Head (or, if circumstances necessitate, a senior official designated by the Deputy Head) authorizes such use because it is necessary to prevent loss of life or significant personal injury.
  2. In exceptional circumstances, as set out above in 1(c),  allowing use that deprives someone of their rights or freedoms may be necessary when, for example, information suggests someone is about to commit a terrorist act. The information must be accurately described, and its reliability properly characterized using caveats making clear that the use of this information has been authorized for a clearly defined and limited purpose.
  3. I, as Minister of Foreign Affairs, and the National Security and Intelligence Committee of Parliamentarians (subject to its legal mandate), will be informed, as soon as is feasible, of cases that required a decision by the Deputy Head and provided with relevant contextual information. Information relating directly to an ongoing investigation carried out by a law enforcement agency may be provided to the Committee when the investigation is no longer ongoing.
Date Modified:

Instruction du ministre à l'intention d’Affaires mondiales Canada : éviter la complicité dans les cas de mauvais traitements par des entités étrangères

Objet

  1. Conformément à la section 2 de la loi sur les Affaires étrangères, le commerce et le développement, je préside, gère et dirige le ministère au Canada et à l’étranger.  En cette capacité, j’ai émis la présente instruction.
  2. Le gouvernement du Canada est résolu à éliminer les menaces à la sécurité nationale et à protéger les droits et libertés. La présente instruction a pour objet d'énoncer clairement les valeurs et les principes canadiens qui condamnent la torture et le mauvais traitement ainsi que l'engagement du Canada à l'égard de la primauté du droit.
  3. La présente instruction interdit :
    1. la divulgation de renseignements qui se traduirait par un risque substantiel de mauvais traitement d'une personne par une entité étrangère;
    2. la formulation de demandes de renseignements qui se traduirait par un risque substantiel de mauvais traitement d'une personne par une entité étrangère; et
    3. certaines utilisations de renseignements vraisemblablement obtenus à la suite du mauvais traitement d'une personne par une entité étrangère.
  4. Les processus décisionnels relatifs à ces situations sont énoncés aux annexes A, B et C du présent document.

Définitions

  1. Le terme « mauvais traitement » s'entend de la torture ou de tout autre peine ou traitement cruel, inhumain ou dégradant.
  2. Le terme « risque substantiel » signifie qu'une personne court un risque personnel, actuel et prévisible de subir des mauvais traitements. Pour pouvoir être qualifié de « substantiel », le risque doit être réel et ne pas être uniquement théorique ou spéculatif. Dans la plupart des cas, l'existence d'un risque substantiel est établie s'il est plus probable qu'improbable que des mauvais traitements soient infligés à la personne. Cependant, dans certains cas, en particulier lorsqu'une personne risque de subir un préjudice grave, l'existence du « risque substantiel » peut être établie à un niveau de probabilité inférieure.
  3. Le terme « entités étrangères » peut inclure les gouvernements étrangers, leurs ministères et organismes et leurs forces militaires. Il peut aussi s'appliquer à des coalitions militaires, à des alliances et à des organisations internationales.

Préambule

  1. L'article 7 de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés garantit à chacun « le droit à la vie, à la liberté et à la sécurité de sa personne ». L'article 12 interdit « tous traitements ou peines cruels et inusités », lesquels ont été définis par les tribunaux canadiens comme une peine infligée « excessive au point de ne pas être compatible avec la dignité humaine », ce qui comprend la torture et les autres formes de peines ou de traitements cruels, inhumains ou dégradants.
  2. La torture et les autres peines ou traitements cruels, inhumains ou dégradants sont une insulte aux valeurs canadiennes. Le gouvernement du Canada s'y oppose avec la plus grande fermeté, y compris lorsque leur utilisation vise à éliminer une menace à la sécurité nationale.
  3. Le Canada est partie à plusieurs ententes internationales qui interdisent la torture et les autres formes de peines et de traitements cruels, inhumains ou dégradants. Notamment, il est partie aux Conventions de Genève, au droit des conflits armés, au droit international humanitaire, au Pacte international relatif aux droits civils et politiques et à la Convention contre la torture et autres peines ou traitements cruels, inhumains ou dégradants. Cette dernière convention exige des États parties qu'ils criminalisent toutes les formes de torture et qu'ils prennent des mesures concrètes pour empêcher que des actes de torture ou que des peines ou des traitements cruels, inhumains ou dégradants soient infligés dans tout territoire relevant de leur compétence.
  4. Au Canada, la torture est une infraction pénale de portée extraterritoriale. Le Code criminel interdit également aux personnes d'aider ou d'encourager la commission d'un acte de torture, de conseiller la torture peu importe si un acte de torture est commis, de comploter pour commettre un acte de torture, de tenter de commettre un acte de torture ou d'être complice après le fait. Qui plus est, le Code criminel stipule que les « circonstances exceptionnelles » ne constituent pas un moyen de défense opposable à une accusation relative à ces infractions.
  5. La torture et les autres formes de peines et de traitements cruels, inhumains ou dégradants ne servent aucune fin légitime en matière militaire, d'exécution de la loi ou de collecte de renseignements. Le plus souvent, les renseignements recueillis par de tels moyens ne sont pas fiables, ce qui les rend irrecevables en tant qu'éléments de preuve devant tout tribunal judiciaire.
  6. Ainsi, le gouvernement du Canada ne veut pas participer aux actions qui impliquent le recours à la torture ou à d'autres formes de peines et de traitements cruels, inhumains ou dégradants. Associer sciemment le gouvernement du Canada à une telle action nuirait à la crédibilité et à l'efficacité de tout ministère ou organisme qui y serait associé.

Principes

  1. Reconnaissant que la communication de renseignements à des entités étrangères est essentielle à la capacité d’Affaires mondiales Canada d'entretenir des relations solides et d'éliminer les menaces à la sécurité nationale et internationale, et du fait que Affaires mondiales Canada doit être en mesure de communiquer rapidement des renseignements à ses partenaires canadiens qui ont pour mandat et responsabilité d'intervenir en cas de menaces à la sécurité nationale, ce type de communication doit être fait de manière conforme aux lois et aux obligations légales du Canada.
  2. Affaires mondiales Canada doit éviter de contribuer sciemment au mauvais traitement infligé par des entités étrangères.
  3. Affaires mondiales Canada doit évaluer l'exactitude et la fiabilité des renseignements qu'il reçoit et qualifier adéquatement les renseignements avant dus transmettre à d'autres. Il doit se doter de mesures afin d'identifier les entités étrangères qui participent au mauvais traitement de personnes.
  4. Affaires mondiales Canada a la responsabilité de me tenir informée, en tant que Ministre des Affaires étrangères, de ses pratiques en matière de communication de renseignements.
  5. La transparence quant à l'utilisation de la présente instruction est un principe clé. Conformément au principe no 4 de l'engagement du gouvernement en matière de transparence dans le domaine de la sécurité nationale, on attend d’Affaires mondiales Canada qu'il publie des renseignements expliquant comment la présente instruction est mise en œuvre, y compris la réalisation d'évaluations des risques, dans le respect des valeurs canadiennes, notamment les valeurs exprimées dans la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés.

Collaboration entre organismes

  1. Affaires mondiales Canada tiendra à jour des politiques et des procédures internes afin d'évaluer les risques liés aux relations avec des entités étrangères. Il évaluera notamment le bilan des gouvernements étrangers en matière de droits de la personne dans l'ensemble, et pas seulement celui d'entités précises qui y sont rattachées.
  2. Affaires mondiales Canada collaborera à ce processus d'évaluation avec tous les autres ministères et organismes du gouvernement du Canada visés par la présente instruction ministérielle pour veiller à ce que le processus décisionnel soit appuyé par les sources d'information les plus complètes possibles.
  3. Affaires mondiales Canada surveillera ses ententes avec des entités étrangères en fonction de plusieurs facteurs, y compris les droits de la personne et le risque de mauvais traitement. La portée de ces ententes sera limitée s'il est établi par Affaires mondiales Canada qu'un partenaire étranger se livre à des mauvais traitements ou y contribue. Si une telle mesure est prise, Affaires mondiales Canada en informera rapidement les autres ministères et organismes visés par la présente instruction ou une instruction similaire.

Responsabilisation

  1. Affaires mondiales Canada est assujetti à la primauté du droit, à la surveillance du ministre et, dans les domaines liés à la sécurité et aux renseignements, à l'examen du Comité des parlementaires sur la sécurité nationale.
  2. Affaires mondiales Canada a l'obligation de me présenter, en tant que Ministre des Affaires étrangères, un rapport annuel classifié sur l'application de la  présente instruction. Le rapport comprend :
    1. des renseignements sur les cas à risque très élevé pour lesquels la présente instruction a été appliquée, y compris le nombre de cas;
    2. la restriction des ententes conclues en raison de préoccupations liées au mauvais traitement;
    3. les changements aux politiques et aux procédures internes liés à la présente instruction.
  3. En tant que Ministre des Affaires étrangères, je fournirai au Comité des parlementaires sur la sécurité nationale et le renseignement autant de renseignements au sujet du rapport que le Comité est autorisé à recevoir en vertu de la loi.
  4. Une copie non classifiée du rapport sera rendue publique et contiendra, dans la mesure du possible, les  renseignements indiqués ci-dessus sans toutefois compromettre l'intérêt national, l'efficacité des opérations ou la sécurité d'une personne.

L’hon. Chrystia Freeland, C.P., députée

Date

Annexe A à l'instruction du ministre

Processus décisionnel pour la communication de renseignements entraînant un risque substantiel de mauvais traitement d'une personne par une entité étrangère

  1. L'évaluation continue des risques associés à la communication de renseignements entre le Canada et des entités étrangères est essentielle pour veiller à ce que le Canada ne contribue pas sciemment au mauvais traitement à l'étranger. 
  2. Lorsque la communication de renseignements à une entité étrangère représente un risque substantiel de mauvais traitement d'une personne et que les responsables ne sont pas en mesure de déterminer si le risque peut être atténué, notamment par l'utilisation de réserves ou d'assurances, le cas sera renvoyé au sous-ministre à des fins de décision.
  3. Si le risque substantiel ne peut pas être atténué, les renseignements ne seront pas communiqués à l'entité étrangère.
  4. Lorsque la communication de renseignements est approuvée parce que le sous-ministre a déterminé que le risque substantiel peut être atténué, la justification de la détermination doit être clairement documentée.
  5. Le Comité des parlementaires sur la sécurité nationale (conformément à son mandat législatif) et moi, en tant que Ministre des Affaires étrangères, serons informés, dès que possible, des cas ayant nécessité une décision du sous-ministre et ils recevront de l'information contextuelle pertinente. Les renseignements liés directement à une enquête en cours menée par un organisme d'application de la loi peuvent être fournis au Comité une fois l'enquête terminée.

Annexe B à l'instruction du ministre

Processus décisionnel pour les demandes de renseignements entraînant un risque substantiel de mauvais traitement d'une personne par une entité étrangère

  1. L'évaluation continue des risques associés à la communication de renseignements entre le Canada et des entités étrangères est essentielle pour veiller à ce que le Canada ne contribue pas sciemment au mauvais traitement à l'étranger.
  2. Lorsqu'une demande de renseignements à une entité étrangère représente un risque substantiel de mauvais traitement d'une personne et que les responsables ne sont pas en mesure de déterminer si le risque peut être atténué, par exemple, l'utilisation de réserves ou d'assurances, le cas sera renvoyé au sous-ministre à des fins de décision.
  3. Si le risque substantiel ne peut pas être atténué, les renseignements ne seront pas demandés à l'entité étrangère.
  4. Lorsqu'une demande de renseignements est approuvée parce que le sous-ministre a déterminé que le risque substantiel peut être atténué, la justification de la détermination doit être clairement documentée.
  5. Le  Comité des parlementaires sur la sécurité nationale (conformément à son mandat législatif) et moi, en tant que Ministre des Affaires étrangères, serons informés, dès que possible, des cas ayant nécessité une décision du sous-ministre  et ils recevront de l'information contextuelle pertinente. Les renseignements liés directement à une enquête en cours menée par un organisme d'application de la loi peuvent être fournis au Comité une fois l'enquête terminée.

Annexe C à l'instruction du ministre

Processus décisionnel pour l'utilisation de renseignements vraisemblablement obtenus à la suite d'un mauvais traitement infligé à une personne par une entité étrangère

  1. Les renseignements vraisemblablement obtenus à la suite d'un mauvais traitement ne pourraient pas être utilisés :
    1. de façon à créer un risque substantiel de mauvais traitements additionnels;
    2. comme éléments de preuve dans des procédures judiciaires, administratives ou autres;
    3. pour priver une personne de ses droits ou libertés, exception faite des cas où l'administrateur général (ou dans des circonstances exceptionnelles, un haut fonctionnaire délégué par le sous-ministre) autorise l'utilisation de ces renseignements, qu'il juge nécessaire pour éviter des pertes de vie ou des sévices graves à la personne.
  2. Dans des circonstances exceptionnelles, comme indiqué au point 1(c), il pourrait être nécessaire d'approuver l'utilisation de renseignements entraînant la privation des droits et libertés d'une  personne lorsque, par exemple, les renseignements portent à croire que la personne est sur le point de commettre un acte terroriste. Les renseignements doivent être précis, et leur fiabilité doit être caractérisée de façon appropriée au moyen de mises en garde de façon à indiquer clairement que l'utilisation de ces renseignements est approuvée à des fins limitées et clairement définies.
  3. Le  Comité des parlementaires sur la sécurité nationale (conformément à son mandat législatif) et moi, en tant que Ministre des Affaires étrangères, serons informés, dès que possible, des cas ayant nécessité une décision du sous-ministre et ils recevront de l'information contextuelle pertinente. Les renseignements liés directement à une enquête en cours menée par un organisme d'application de la loi peuvent être fournis au Comité une fois l'enquête terminée.
Date de modification: