Canada’s Transitional Shelters Help Haiti Weather Any Storm

In the months following the devastating Haiti earthquake in 2010, shelter was one of the most urgent needs for displaced populations. Many found shelter in makeshift camps but further natural disasters such as hurricanes and tropical storms continued to destroy homes and batter Haiti.

In response, Canada has contributed $19.5 million to construct 7,514 transitional shelters near Léogâne and Jacmel — areas severely affected by the earthquake.

Given Haiti’s cyclical rainy season and its exposure during the Atlantic hurricane season, there was an urgent need to move from emergency shelters to sturdier transitional shelters that could withstand severe weather such as heavy rains, strong winds, and floods.

To celebrate this year’s World Habitat Day, UNECE held an opening ceremony at the Palais des Nations in Geneva showcasing Canada’s model transitional shelters.

Ambassador Elissa Golberg, Mr. Joshua Tabah (Counsellor for Humanitarian Affairs at the Permanent Mission of Canada), and Mr. Alain Boulet (Quebec Wood Export Bureau) in front of the shelter donated by the Bureau and its members.

Building a Safer World Together by Reducing Risk

A part of the Canadian Red Cross Society Transitional Shelter Project, the shelters provided medium-term shelter solutions to more than 35,000 Haitians in or around their original places of residence.

These shelters were built with consultation with humanitarian experts, architects, and engineers. The result is a safe and dignified shelter, at low-cost, with a high level of adaptability to local needs and conditions.

They are built of wood instead of concrete or bricks, and provide safe, secure and weather-resistant living space.

They are modest homes measuring 18 square metres, meant to accommodate five people.

To avoid flood damage during the rainy season, the shelters are slightly raised and are engineered to withstand Category 1 hurricane force winds and to be earthquake resistant.

Of the more than 7,000 shelters built for the project, none were damaged by the passage of Hurricane Sandy in October 2012, the deadliest and most destructive hurricane of last year’s Atlantic hurricane season.

Building a Safer World Together by Enhancing Partnerships

Over the last 20 years there has been a significantly increasing trend in the incidence and impact of natural disasters.

Many traditional humanitarian actors are seeking new forms of partnerships to better respond to the needs and requirements of crisis-affected communities.

“We are convinced that partnerships with the private sector can help offer new tools and approaches in this regard, and the transitional shelters stand as an example of this.” –Ambassador Elissa Golberg

Elissa Golberg, Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the United Nations and the Conference on Disarmament.

Since 2010, the Government of Canada, through its Department of Natural Resources, has been exploring ways for the Canadian forest sector to play a more important role in providing shelter solutions for recovery after disasters and civil conflicts.

Through a program on expanding market opportunities, the Quebec Wood Export Bureau, a wood industry association, and its members were provided support to bolster their efforts to develop improved housing solutions for people displaced from their homes.

Hosted in Geneva, Ambassador Elissa Golberg spoke at the opening ceremony about the innovative public-private partnership behind the Canadian model and the importance of partnerships in enhancing humanitarian response efforts.

Estonia also donated their transitional disaster model homes and were displayed alongside Canada’s.

Remarks were also offered by Mr. Kassym-Jomart Tokayev (Director-General of the United Nations Office at Geneva), Mr. Sven Alkalaj (Executive Secretary of the UNECE),  Mr. Jüri Seilenthal (Permanent Representative of Estonia to the United Nations in Geneva), and Mr. Szilard Fricska (Senior Humanitarian Coordinator for UN-Habitat).

Canada is proud of the solutions provided for disaster-affected communities in Haiti and excited about the possibilities of improving our risk reduction and response options through further innovative partnerships.

Des logements de transition canadiens pour Haïti résistant aux intempéries

Dans les mois qui ont suivi le séisme qui a détruit une partie d’Haïti en 2010, les populations déplacées avaient un urgent besoin d’abris. Beaucoup ont trouvé refuge dans des camps de fortune, mais ouragans, tempêtes tropicales et autres catastrophes naturelles ont continué de s’abattre sur le pays, détruisant encore des domiciles.

Le Canada a investi la somme de 19,5 M$ dans la construction de 7 514 logements de transition destinés aux régions durement touchées de Léogâne et de Jacmel.

En raison de la saison des pluies et de la saison des ouragans de l’Atlantique, il était urgent de déménager les sinistrés haïtiens de leurs abris de fortune pour les installer dans des logements de transition plus robustes, capables de résister à des conditions météorologiques difficiles : pluies torrentielles, vents forts et inondations.

Pour célébrer la Journée mondiale de l’habitat, la CEE a tenu une cérémonie d’ouverture au Palais des Nations de Genève, où étaient exposés des modèles de logements de transition canadiens.

L’ambassadrice Elissa Golberg, en compagnie de Tabah (conseiller en Affaires humanitaires à la mission permanente du Canada) et d’Alain Boulet (du Bureau de promotion des produits du bois du Québec) devant le logement donné par le Bureau et ses membres.

Bâtir ensemble un monde plus sûr en diminuant les risques

Offerts dans le cadre du Projet de logements de transition de la Société canadienne de la Croix-Rouge, ces logements représentent une solution à moyen terme pour plus de 35 000 Haïtiens voulant se loger à l’endroit même ou près de leur lieu de résidence original.

Les logements ont été construits en consultation avec des spécialistes de l’aide humanitaire, des architectes et des ingénieurs. Ils offrent un abri sûr, digne et peu coûteux que l’on peut facilement adapter aux conditions et aux besoins locaux.

Fabriqués en bois, plutôt qu’en brique ou en béton, ils sont sûrs, sécuritaires et résistants aux intempéries.

Il s’agit cependant de constructions modestes de 18 m2, conçues pour loger cinq personnes.

Les logements sont légèrement surélevés pour éviter les dommages d’eau pendant la saison des pluies. De plus, ils sont antisismiques et peuvent résister aux vents d’ouragan de catégorie 1.

Aucun des 7 000 logements érigés pour le projet n’a subi de dommage en octobre 2012 lors du passage de Sandy, l’ouragan le plus meurtrier et le plus destructeur à avoir balayé les côtes atlantiques l’an dernier. 

Bâtir un monde plus sûr à l’aide de meilleurs partenariats

Au cours des 20 dernières années, la fréquence et l’impact des catastrophes naturelles ont considérablement augmenté.

Bon nombre des intervenants habituels dans le secteur de l’aide humanitaire sont en quête de nouveaux partenariats afin de mieux répondre aux besoins et aux exigences des collectivités en situation de crise.

« Nous avons la conviction que les partenariats avec le secteur privé peuvent nous procurer de nouveaux moyens et de nouvelles méthodes d’intervention à cet égard, et les logements de transition en sont un exemple », a indiqué l’ambassadrice Elissa Golberg.

Depuis 2010, le gouvernement du Canada, et plus précisément le ministère des Ressources naturelles, cherche le moyen d’amener le secteur forestier canadien à jouer un rôle plus important dans la création de logements de dépannage à la suite de catastrophes naturelles ou de conflits civils.   

Elissa Golberg, ambassadrice et représentante permanente du Canada aux Nations Unies et à la Conférence sur le désarmement.

Grâce au soutien d’un programme de développement des marchés, le Bureau de promotion des produits du bois du Québec, une des associations de l’industrie canadienne du bois, et ses membres ont redoublé d’ardeur afin de concevoir des logements mieux adaptés aux personnes déplacées de leur foyer.

À la cérémonie d’ouverture à Genève, l’ambassadrice Elissa Golberg a souligné le partenariat public-privé novateur à l’origine du modèle de logement canadien et aussi de l’importance des partenariats pour améliorer la qualité de l’intervention humanitaire.

L’Estonie a aussi fait don de logements de transition en cas de catastrophe. Les modèles étaient en montre avec ceux du Canada. 

Ont également pris la parole lors de la cérémonie d’ouverture : M. Kassym-Jomart Tokayev (directeur général de l’Office des Nations Unies à Genève), M. Sven Alkalaj (secrétaire exécutif de la CEE), M. Jüri Seilenthal (représentant permanent de l’Estonie auprès des Nations Unies à Genève) et M. Szilard Fricska (coordonnateur principal de l’aide humanitaire pour l’ONU-Habitat).

Le Canada est fier des solutions qu’il offre aux populations touchées par les catastrophes en Haïti et se réjouit à la perspective de réduire les risques et d’améliorer la qualité et la diversité des interventions à l’aide de nouveaux partenariats novateurs.