Message from the Ambassadors

Through its Permanent Mission in Geneva, Canada promotes its national interests and commonly shared values such as democracy, human rights and the rule of law by engaging with the many international organizations based here including the United Nations, the World Trade Organization, the Conference on Disarmament and humanitarian agencies such as the International Red Cross movement. The Mission also provides consular support to Canadians residing and working in Geneva.

Canada is committed to an effective international system based on agreed rules and standards and to promoting a more liberal trading system with benefits for all countries. In Geneva, we work with others to develop and uphold international norms and rules whether in terms of trade, humanitarian law and human rights, arms control, conflict prevention and peacebuilding, health, labour or environment.

We are honoured to be able to represent Canada in this unique context, where all nations of the world come together to address shared objectives and pressing challenges related to global peace and security, and socio-economic prosperity and well-being. This is why the work we do in Geneva is so vital.

We hope that you will find this site a helpful tool in learning more about Canada’s multilateral engagement in Geneva.

Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions or comments.

Jonathan FriedJonathan T. Fried
Ambassador and Permanent Representative
to the World Trade Organization

 

 

Elissa GoldbergElissa Golberg
Ambassador and Permanent Representative
to the United Nations and the Conference on Disarmament

Message des ambassadeurs

Par l’intermédiaire de sa mission permanente à Genève, le Canada fait la promotion de ses intérêts nationaux et de valeurs communes comme la démocratie, les droits de la personne et la primauté du droit en entretenant le dialogue avec les nombreuses organisations internationales y étant sises comme les Nations Unies, l’Organisation mondiale du commerce, la Conférence du désarmement et divers organismes humanitaires tel le mouvement international de la Croix‑Rouge. La Mission offre également des services consulaires aux Canadiens et aux Canadiennes qui vivent et travaillent à Genève.

Le Canada est en faveur d’un système international efficace fondé sur des règles et des normes convenues. Il est également attaché à la mise en place d’un système commercial plus libéral présentant des avantages pour tous les pays. À Genève, le Canada travaille avec ses partenaires à élaborer et à faire respecter des règles et des normes internationales, notamment dans les domaines du commerce, du droit humanitaire, des droits de la personne, du contrôle des armes, de la prévention des conflits, de la consolidation de la paix, de la santé, du travail et de l’environnement.

Nous sommes honorés d’avoir l’occasion de représenter le Canada dans ce contexte unique, où toutes les nations du monde se réunissent autour d’objectifs et de défis communs en matière de paix et de sécurité mondiales, de prospérité socioéconomique et de mieux‑être. Voilà pourquoi notre travail à Genève est essentiel.

Nous espérons que ce site vous permettra d’en apprendre davantage au sujet des activités multilatérales du Canada à Genève.

N’hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires.

Jonathan FriedJonathan T. Fried
Ambassadeur et représentant permanent
auprès de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce

 

 

Elissa Goldberg
Elissa Golberg
Ambassadeure et représentante permanente
auprès des Nations Unies et de la Conférence du désarmement