Canadian Recommendations – UPR 17

October 28, 2013 

Monaco

Question 

In 2009, Monaco agreed to consider steps to encourage the participation of women on the Government Council. Could the Delegation of Monaco inform us on the status of this process, consultations underway, measures expected to be implemented or progress achieved so far? 

Recommendations 

Canada recommends that Monaco: 

  1. Take measures to raise awareness of its new legislation concerning domestic violence and inform victims of domestic violence about their rights and help available to them. 
  2. Complete the review of its legislative project on the abolition of the penalty of banishment and promptly follow-up on the results of this review. 
  3. Conduct an analysis of the discriminatory treatments that may be affecting foreigners, especially in the field of employment, and consider amending its legislation in accordance with the result of this study. 

Observations (if time allows): 

We welcome the steps taken by Monaco to strengthen its capacity to address violence against women, children and other vulnerable person by adopting new legislation and creating a specialized institution to welcome children and women in need.

Recommandations du Canada – EPU17

28 octobre, 2013 

Monaco 

Question 

En 2009, Monaco a accepté de considérer des mesures afin d’encourager la participation des femmes au sein du Conseil de gouvernement. La Délégation de Monaco pourrait-elle nous informer sur l’état de ce processus, des consultations en cours et des mesures dont la mise en œuvre est prévue et des progrès réalisés à ce jour ? 

Recommandations 

Le Canada recommande que Monaco: 

  1. Prenne des mesures pour sensibiliser le public à sa nouvelle législation sur les violences particulières et pour informer les victimes de violences familiales de leurs droits et de l’aide à leur disposition. 
  2. Termine l’examen de son projet législatif sur l’abolition de la peine du bannissement et donne suite rapidement aux résultats de cet examen. 
  3. Conduise une analyse sur les traitements discriminatoires dont les étrangers pourraient être victimes, particulièrement dans le domaine de l’emploi, et considère la possibilité d’amender sa législation en fonction des résultats de cette analyse. 

Observations (si le temps le permet):

Nous nous réjouissons des mesures prises par Monaco afin de renforcer sa capacité à répondre aux violences contre les femmes, les enfants et les autres personnes vulnérables en adoptant de nouvelles lois et en créant un centre spécialisé pour accueillir les femmes et les enfants qui en ont besoin.