Cross-Country Consultations

As part of Economic Action Plan 2012, the Government of Canada made a commitment to refresh the Global Commerce Strategy (GCS). The government undertook a series of cross-country consultations with industry and business leaders—including those from small-and medium-sized enterprises. A refreshed GCS will align Canada’s trade and investment objectives in large, dynamic and fast-growing priority markets, with an eye to ensuring that Canada is branded to its greatest advantage in those markets.

The GCS was launched in 2007 and has been central to the government’s pro-trade plan.

In May 2012, the government announced the formation of a 10 member advisory panel to help guide Canada’s pro-trade plan and act as a sounding board for a refreshed GCS.

August 14, 2012 - Minister Fast launches a series of consultations with industry and business leaders—including those from SMEs to help refresh the GCS.

Minister Fast at podium

August 15, 2012 - The Government of Canada undertook consultations in Montréal with business leaders from across Quebec. The views of the Quebec business community will help the government refresh its Global Commerce Strategy (GCS).

Photo representing Montréal

August 16, 2012 - Mark Adler, Member of Parliament for York Centre, on behalf of Minister Fast, attends a consultation session in Toronto with industry and business leaders from across southern Ontario to help the government refresh its Global Commerce Strategy (GCS).

Photo representing Toronto

August 21, 2012 - Rod Bruinooge, Member of Parliament for Winnipeg South, on behalf of the Honourable Ed Fast, Minister of International Trade and Minister for the Asia-Pacific Gateway, today attended a consultation session in Winnipeg with industry and business leaders from across Manitoba to help the government refresh its Global Commerce Strategy (GCS).

Photo representing Winnipeg

August 22, 2012 - The Honourable Lynne Yelich, Minister of State (Western Economic Diversification), on behalf of the Honourable Ed Fast, Minister of International Trade and Minister for the Asia-Pacific Gateway, today attended a consultation session in Saskatoon with industry and business leaders from across Saskatchewan to help the government refresh its Global Commerce Strategy (GCS).

Photo representing Saskatoon

August 23, 2012 - Devinder Shory, Member of Parliament for Calgary Northeast, on behalf of the Honourable Ed Fast, Minister of International Trade and Minister for the Asia-Pacific Gateway, today attended a consultation session in Calgary with industry and business leaders from across Alberta to help the government refresh its Global Commerce Strategy.

Photo representing Calgary

August 24, 2012 - The Honourable Alice Wong, Minister of State (Seniors), on behalf of the Honourable Ed Fast, Minister of International Trade and Minister for the Asia-Pacific Gateway, today attended a consultation session in Vancouver with industry and business leaders from across British Columbia to help the government refresh its Global Commerce Strategy (GCS).

Photo representing Vancouver

October 2, 2012 - The Honourable Ed Fast, Minister of International Trade and Minister for the Asia-Pacific Gateway, today met with his Global Commerce Strategy (GCS) Advisory Panel to discuss the next phase of the most ambitious trade expansion plan in Canadian history and ways to ensure the GCS continues to benefit Canadian workers, businesses and families.

Consultations pancanadiennes

Pour donner suite à l’engagement pris par le gouvernement du Canada dans le Plan d’action économique de 2012 d’actualiser la Stratégie commerciale mondiale (SCM), le gouvernement a lancé une série de consultations auprès de chefs de file de l’industrie et de dirigeants d’entreprises, y compris des petites et moyennes entreprises. Une SCM actualisée permettra d’harmoniser les objectifs du Canada en matière de commerce et d’investissement sur les grands marchés dynamiques et en croissance rapide, auxquels le Canada attache une importance prioritaire, tout en y présentant le Canada sous son meilleur jour.

La SCM a été lancée en 2007; elle est l’un des pivots du programme de stimulation du commerce du gouvernement.

En mai 2012, le gouvernement a annoncé la création d’un comité consultatif composé de 10 membres, qui aideront à orienter le programme de stimulation du commerce du Canada et agiront à titre de conseillers de validation d’une SCM actualisée.

Le 14 août 2012 - Le ministre Fast lance une série de consultations auprès de chefs de file de l’industrie et de dirigeants d’entreprises, y compris des petites et moyennes entreprises (PME), afin d’aider à actualiser la SCM.

Le ministre Fast au Podium

 

Le 15 août 2012 - Le gouvernement du Canada a tenu à Montréal une séance de consultation auprès des chefs d’entreprise du Québec. Leurs commentaires aideront le gouvernement du Canada à renouveler sa Stratégie commerciale mondiale (SCM).

Photo représentant Montréal

Le 16 août 2012 - Le député fédéral de York-Centre, M. Mark Adler, au nom du ministre Fast, a participé à une séance de consultation à Toronto avec des chefs de file de l’industrie et des dirigeants d’entreprise du sud de l’Ontario. Cette séance de consultation aidera le gouvernement du Canada à renouveler sa Stratégie commerciale mondiale (SCM).

Photo représentant Toronto

 

Le 21 août 2012 - Le député fédéral de Winnipeg-Sud, M. Rod Bruinooge, au nom du ministre du Commerce international et ministre de la porte d’entrée de l’Asie-Pacifique, l’honorable Ed Fast, a participé aujourd’hui à une séance de consultation à Winnipeg avec des chefs de file et des dirigeants d’entreprise du Manitoba. Cette séance de consultation aidera le gouvernement du Canada à renouveler sa Stratégie commerciale mondiale (SCM).

Photo représentant Winnipeg

 

Le 22 août 2012 - La ministre d’État (Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest) l’honorable Lynne Yelich, au nom du ministre du Commerce international et ministre de la porte d’entrée de l’Asie-Pacifique, l’honorable Ed Fast, a participé aujourd’hui à une séance de consultation à Saskatoon avec des chefs de file et des dirigeants d’entreprise de la Saskatchewan. Cette séance de consultation aidera le gouvernement du Canada à renouveler sa Stratégie commerciale mondiale (SCM).

Photo représentant Saskatoon

 

Le 23 août 2012 - Le député fédéral de Calgary–Nord-Est, M. Devinder Shory, au nom du ministre du Commerce international et ministre de la porte d’entrée de l’Asie-Pacifique, l’honorable Ed Fast, a participé aujourd’hui à une séance de consultation à Calgary avec des chefs de file et des dirigeants d’entreprise de l’Alberta. Cette séance de consultation aidera le gouvernement du Canada à renouveler sa Stratégie commerciale mondiale (SCM).

Photo représentant Calgary

 

Le 24 août 2012 - La ministre d’État (Ainés), l’honorable Alice Wong, au nom du ministre du Commerce international et ministre de la porte d’entrée de l’Asie-Pacifique, l’honorable Ed Fast, a participé aujourd’hui à une séance de consultation à Vancouver avec des chefs de file et des dirigeants d’entreprise de la Colombie-Britannique. Cette séance de consultation aidera le gouvernement du Canada à renouveler sa Stratégie commerciale mondiale (SCM).

Photo représentant Vancouver