Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

How Canadian Companies Can Help

Canadian companies feel strongly about helping to support communities affected by natural disasters and other emergencies abroad.

Before a crisis

Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada (DFAIT) provides information on how to work with many of the major international relief organizations on the IFInet website. Trade Commissioners in affected countries, in the Offices of Liaison with International Financial Institutions, and at the Canadian embassies and consulates in New York, Copenhagen, Rome, and Geneva can help Canadian companies get in touch with appropriate representatives of all the major international relief organizations.

Before investing too much time and effort, companies need to consider whether:

  1. Their products are comparable to what is currently being used by international relief organizations. These organizations often face both technical and financial constraints on the types of products they can use. Some have published catalogues of commonly used items that can be used as a guide to determine the suitability of the products offered by Canadian companies:
  2. Their products can be produced more efficiently in the affected country or region. Restarting the economy after a natural disaster is among the most important components of the recovery. Relief organizations will make every effort to purchase goods locally as long as they are competitively available and meet the requisite standards.

During a crisis

During a crisis, companies can be most effective in meeting the needs of disaster-affected populations by providing cash donations to experienced international relief organizations.  Financial contributions allow these organizations to purchase exactly what is needed and pay for transportation costs.

Most major relief organizations are well-prepared for natural disasters and complex emergencies around the world. To be able to deliver supplies quickly, they often stockpile needed goods in warehouses across the globe and make long-term agreements with suppliers who can quickly respond to an emergency. Although relief organizations are interested in building relationships with suppliers of required goods, contacting them in the midst of an emergency is not recommended.

If Canadian companies have extensive operations in an affected country and have human and material resources that may be useful to the national government and international agencies responding to the disaster (e.g. heavy equipment that can clear roads covered in debris following an earthquake or flood), we recommend that they make contact with the closest office of the Government of Canada in the given country. Canadian officials will be able to provide companies with advice on how best to coordinate their assistance within the overall international response.

See also:

Comment les entreprises canadiennes peuvent aider

Les entreprises canadiennes tiennent à appuyer les collectivités touchées par des catastrophes naturelles ou autres situations d’urgence à l’étranger.

Avant une crise

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international Canada (MAECI) peut fournir de l’information aux entreprises canadiennes sur la meilleure façon de collaborer avec les principaux organismes de secours internationaux. Les délégués commerciaux dans les pays touchés, dans les Bureaux de liaison avec les institutions financières internationales, et dans les ambassades et consulats canadiens à New York, Copenhague, Rome et Genève peuvent vous aider à joindre les représentants appropriés des principaux organismes de secours internationaux.

Avant de consacrer trop de temps et d’efforts à leur intervention éventuelle, nous suggérons que les entreprises canadiennes se demandent si :

  1. Leurs produits sont comparables à ceux qui sont actuellement utilisés par les organismes de secours internationaux.Les types de produits que ces derniers utilisent font souvent l’objet de contraintes techniques et financières. Certains ont publié un catalogue des articles qu’ils utilisent régulièrement, lequel peut servir de guide afin de déterminer si vos produits conviennent :
  2. Les produits qu’elles offrent peuvent être produits de façon plus efficiente dans le pays ou la région touchés. La relance de l’économie après une catastrophe naturelle est un des éléments les plus importants de la reconstruction. Les organismes de secours s’efforceront d’acheter des biens sur place tant qu’ils seront disponibles dans un marché concurrentiel et qu’ils satisferont aux normes.

En temps de crise

En temps de crise, les entreprises peuvent efficacement répondre aux besoins des personnes touchées en faisant des dons en argent à des organismes de secours internationaux reconnus. Les contributions financières permettent à ceux-ci d’acheter exactement les fournitures nécessaires et d’en payer le transport.

La plupart des grands organismes de secours sont bien préparés aux catastrophes naturelles et aux urgences complexes partout dans le monde. Afin de pouvoir livrer des fournitures rapidement, ils accumulent les biens nécessaires dans des entrepôts partout dans le monde et concluent des ententes à long terme avec des fournisseurs capables d’intervenir rapidement lors d’une urgence. Bien que les organismes de secours souhaitent nouer des relations avec les fournisseurs des biens nécessaires, il n’est pas recommandé de communiquer avec eux au cœur d’une situation d’urgence.

Si une entreprise canadienne a une opération importante dans un pays touché, et a des ressources humaines et/ou matérielles qui pourraient être utiles au gouvernement national touché et aux agences internationales qui répondent à la catastrophe, nous recommendons qu’elle contacte la mission canadienne la plus proche. Les délégués canadiens peuvent conseiller les entreprises sur la meilleure manière de coordonner leur aide dans le contexte de la réponse internationale.

Sujets d'intérêt

Page Not Found / Page introuvable

Page Not Found / Page introuvable

Page Not Found

The Web server cannot find the file or script you asked for. Please check the URL to ensure that the path is correct.

Please contact the server's administrator if this problem persists

Page introuvable

Le serveur Web ne parvient pas à trouver le fichier ou le script demandé. Vérifiez l'URL pour vous assurer que le chemin d'accès est correct.

Veuillez contacter l'administrateur du serveur Web si le problème persiste.