Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Canada's response to the earthquake in Haiti

First response: January 12 to March 31, 2010

Page Not Found / Page introuvable

Page Not Found / Page introuvable

Page Not Found

The Web server cannot find the file or script you asked for. Please check the URL to ensure that the path is correct.

Please contact the server's administrator if this problem persists

Page introuvable

Le serveur Web ne parvient pas à trouver le fichier ou le script demandé. Vérifiez l'URL pour vous assurer que le chemin d'accès est correct.

Veuillez contacter l'administrateur du serveur Web si le problème persiste.

Members of the Canadian Forces lift the wall of a shelter being built for an orphanage in the hills just outside of Jacmel, Haiti. Photo: MCpl David Hardwick


Lawrence Cannon, Canada’s Minister of Foreign AffairsCanada participated in the International Donors’ Conference Towards a New Future for Haiti, at the United Nations headquarters in New York on March 31, 2010.

• Canada helps Haiti eliminate all debt owed to World Bank
• Canada will provide further $400 million
• Canada to participate in international donors’ donference

 

Humanitarian aid

A Haitian woman distributes a daily portion of rice and beans to Haitians from Jacmel that gather in the food distribution compound at Pinchinant, Haiti. Photo: Cpl Julie Bélisle From January 12 to March 31, 2010, the Government of Canada mounted a rapid and comprehensive humanitarian response, involving departments and agencies from across the federal government.

The numbers 

  • Canada acted swiftly to evacuate 4,620 Canadians citizens and permanent residents on 49 flights from Haiti.
  • Operation Stork resulted in the successful union of 203 Haitian children with their families in Canada. This was a monumental task — in just a month and a half, the Government of Canada and the provinces and territories processed as many cases from Haiti as are normally done in about two years.
  • Some 56 expert personnel deployed from DFAIT, CIDA, CIC, CBSA, CSC and the RCMP, including search and rescue technicians, medical and logistics personnel, engineers, and humanitarian and disaster victim identification experts. 
  • 19 Canadian humanitarian technical experts deployed to support trusted humanitarian agencies on the ground, including 10 Canadian medical staff deployed to support the joint Canadian-Norwegian Red Cross Field Hospital funded by CIDA. 
  • Important cash contributionsto facilitate rapid action by trusted and experienced humanitarian agencies: 
    • $5 million for urgent humanitarian needs.
    • $60 million to the UN appeal to fund essential necessities and basic services provided on the ground by UN agencies.
    • $11.5 million to support critical relief efforts by Canadian NGOs.
    • $8.5 million to the International Federation of the Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies' (IFRC) appeal for the provision of humanitarian assistance. The IFRC is helping to meet emergency needs of some 300,000 affected people.
    • The Haiti Earthquake Relief Fund – Canadians donated $220 million to eligible Canadian charitable organizations in support of Haiti, an amount that will be matched dollar-for-dollar by the government.
    • At the International Donors' Conference at the United Nations on March 31, 2010, Canada announced it will provide an additional $400 million for humanitarian and reconstruction programs in Haiti.

 The actions 

Canadian Forces members are setting up the Reverse Osmosis Water Purification Unit (ROWPU) at the dock in Jacmel, Haiti, to produce clean drinking water for the local population and Canadian Forces members. Photo: MCpl David Hardwick.

  • Citizenship and Immigration Canada is committed to helping reunite family members of Canadian citizens and permanent residents who have been, and continue to be, seriously affected by the disaster, and has implemented a series of special immigration measures
  • March 4, 2010 marked the conclusion of Operation Stork which resulted in the successful union of 203 Haitian children with their families in Canada since the earthquake struck near Port-au-Prince on January 12.
  • At the request of the Minister of Foreign Affairs, an Interdepartmental Strategic Support Team (ISST) was sent to the affected region within 20 hours of the earthquake. This joint civilian and military team, composed of DFAIT, CIDA and DND personnel deployed to the most affected areas to assess needs, engage other donors and the Government of Haiti, and identify possible actions that Canada could take. 
  • Based on a recommendation from the ISST that there was an urgent need for a Canadian focus on water purification, primary medical care, logistics and coordination support for the UN, the Prime Minister decided to deploy Canada’s Disaster Assistance Response Team (DART) on January 18. 
  • Under Operation HESTIA, the Canadian Forces participation in humanitarian operations conducted in response to the earthquake in Haiti, Joint Task Force Haiti (JTFH), which includes the Disaster Assistance Response Team (DART), has the mandate to deliver services in support of the Government of Haiti and the Canadian Embassy in Port-au-Prince. In particular, JTFH offers emergency medical services, engineering expertise; mobility by sea, land and air; and defence and security support. After reaching an effective strength of 2,000 soldiers, sailors and air force personnel, Joint Task Force Haiti has begun its progressive withdrawal.

Diplomatic efforts

Prime Minister Harper in Haiti The Government of Canada is working closely with the Government of Haiti, the United Nations and the international community in support of a coordinated and effective response to this disaster.

Foreign Affairs Minister Lawrence Cannon continues to collaborate with the Ministers of National Defence, International Cooperation, Citizenship and Immigration, and other Cabinet colleagues to ensure a cohesive approach.

  • From March 15 to 17, 2010, a Canadian delegation composed of DFAIT and CIDA senior officials participated in the technical meeting on reconstruction in Haiti hosted by the Dominican Republic. The meeting aimed at assisting the Government of Haiti in the development of its National Reconstruction Plan as well as coordinating donor support in preparation to the New York Conference, to be held on March 31st.

Minister Cannon (centre) and Minister of State Kent (on right) welcome Haiti's Prime Minister, Jean-Max Bellerive, to the opening sesion of the Ministerial Prepaatory Conference in Montreal on January 25, 2010.

  • On January 25, the Government of Canada hosted the Ministerial Preparatory Conference on Haiti in Montreal, with foreign ministers from the Group of Friends of Haiti, major donors and key regional and multilateral partners engaged in Haiti. Chaired by Canada’s Minister of Foreign Affairs, the Honourable Lawrence Cannon, the conference contributed to establishing a clear and common vision within the international community for the early recovery and longer-term reconstruction of Haiti.
  • On January 18, Minister of State Kent attended a meeting hosted by the Dominican Republic, to discuss the development of longer-term reconstruction plans in Haiti. In attendance were the President of Haiti, René Préval, regional leaders and representatives of international organizations including the United Nations.
  • On January 17, Minister Cannon, at the request of Prime Minister Stephen Harper, hosted a teleconference with Haitian Prime Minister Jean-Max Bellerive, UN Under-Secretary-General for Peacekeeping Operations Alain Le Roy, nine foreign ministers from the Group of Friends of Haiti, and José Miguel Insulza, Secretary General of the Organization of American States, to strengthen the international community’s commitment to coordinate relief and recovery efforts in Haiti.
  • On January 14, Minister Cannon spoke with UN Under-Secretary-General for Peacekeeping Operations Alain Le Roy. Minister Cannon has also spoken with his Brazilian counterpart, Foreign Minister Celso Amorim, as well as with U.S. Secretary of State Hillary Clinton and American Ambassador to Canada David Jacobson. 
  • On January 13, Prime Minister Stephen Harper spoke with UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon to discuss the emergency situation in Haiti. The Prime Minister also spoke with President Obama to discuss the deployment of a coordinated response.

Context

Haiti is the largest recipient of Canadian development assistance in the Americas. Canada has been working on several fronts to help reduce poverty in Haiti. Canada has allocated $555 million over five years (2006-2011) to reconstruction and development efforts in Haiti. Find out more at Our Priorities: Prosperity, Security, and Democratic Governance.

Related links

Page Not Found / Page introuvable

Page Not Found / Page introuvable

Page Not Found

The Web server cannot find the file or script you asked for. Please check the URL to ensure that the path is correct.

Please contact the server's administrator if this problem persists

Page introuvable

Le serveur Web ne parvient pas à trouver le fichier ou le script demandé. Vérifiez l'URL pour vous assurer que le chemin d'accès est correct.

Veuillez contacter l'administrateur du serveur Web si le problème persiste.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Réponse du Canada au tremblement de terre en Haïti

Première réponse : du 12 janvier au 31 mars 2010

Page Not Found / Page introuvable

Page Not Found / Page introuvable

Page Not Found

The Web server cannot find the file or script you asked for. Please check the URL to ensure that the path is correct.

Please contact the server's administrator if this problem persists

Page introuvable

Le serveur Web ne parvient pas à trouver le fichier ou le script demandé. Vérifiez l'URL pour vous assurer que le chemin d'accès est correct.

Veuillez contacter l'administrateur du serveur Web si le problème persiste.

Des membres des Forces canadiennes soulèvent le mur d'un abri pour un orphelinat en construction dans les collines non loin de Jacmel, en Haïti.  Photo: caporal-chef David Hardwick


 

Aide humanitaire

Une femme haïtienne distribue la portion quotidienne de riz et de fèves à des Haïtiens de Jacmel qui se sont attroupés dans l’enceinte où l’on distribue les vivres,  à Pinchinat, en Haïti. Photo: Cpl Julie BélisleDu 12 janvier au 31 mars 2010, le gouvernement du Canada a mené des efforts humanitaires rapides et complets, et divers ministères et organismes de l’administration fédérale y ont participé.

Les chiffres 

  • Depuis le séisme du 12 janvier, 4 620 personnes ont été évacués d’Haïti sur 49 vols.
  • L'Opération cigogne a permis à 203 enfants haïtiens ont été réunis avec leur famille au Canada. Le gouvernement du Canada ainsi que les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux ont accompli une tâche colossale – en à peine un mois et demi, ils ont traité autant de cas d’Haïti qu’ils en traitent habituellement en environ deux ans.
  • Environ 56 membres du personnel du MAECI, de l’ACDI, de CIC, de l’ASFC, du CCS et de la GRC ont été déployés, dont des techniciens en recherche et en sauvetage, du personnel médical et logistique, des ingénieurs, des travailleurs humanitaires et des experts en identification des victimes de catastrophe.
  • Ont également été déployés 19 techniciens humanitaires canadiens pour appuyer les organismes humanitaires sur le terrain, y compris 10 membres du personnel médical pour soutenir l’hôpital de campagne Canada-Norvège de la Croix-Rouge, financés par l’ACDI.
  • Contributions financièresimportantes pour faciliter l’intervention rapide des organismes humanitaires fiables et expérimentés :
    • 5 millions $ seront consacrés aux besoins humanitaires urgents.
    • 60 millions $ seront versés en réponse à l'appel des Nations Unies pour aider les organismes des Nations Unies à fournir sur le terrain des services de base.
    • 11,5 millions $ serviront à appuyer les efforts de secours urgents déployés par des ONG canadiennes.
    • 8,5 millions $ seront versés à la Fédération internationale des Sociétés de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge en réponse à l’appel d’aide humanitaire lancé par la Fédération. Cette dernière pourra ainsi répondre aux besoins urgents de quelque 300 000 personnes.
    • Le Fonds d'aide aux victimes du séisme en Haïti – les Canadiens ont fait don de 220 millions $ à des organisations de bienfaisance canadiennes admissibles pour soutenir Haïti, et que le gouvernement du Canada versera un montant équivalent.
    • Le Canada accordera un montant additionnel de 400 millions $ afin d'appuyer les opérations humanitaires et de reconstruction en Haïti, en coordination avec nos partenaires et le gouvernement haïtien. Le ministre Oda a fait cette annonce à l'occasion de la Conférence internationale des donateurs qui a eu lieu aux Nations Unies à New York, le 31 mars 2010.

Les actions

Des membres du personnel des Forces canadiennes installent le Système de purification d'eau par osmose inverse (SPEOI) dans un dock, à Jacmel, en Haïti, qui produira de l’eau potable pour la population locale et le personnel des Forces canadiennes. Photo: MCpl David Hardwick.

  • Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada s’est engagé à aider à réunir les membres des familles de citoyenneté canadienne et les résidents permanents canadiens qui ont été, et qui sont toujours, touchés sérieusement par le désastre, et a mis en place une série de mesures spéciales en matière d’immigration.
  • Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada s’est engagé à aider à réunir les membres des familles de citoyenneté canadienne et les résidents permanents canadiens qui ont été, et qui sont toujours, touchés sérieusement par le désastre, et a mis en place une série de mesures spéciales en matière d’immigration.
  • Le 4 mars 2010, c'était la fin de l’Opération cigogne qui a permis à 203 enfants haïtiens ont été réunis avec leur famille au Canada depuis le séisme survenu près de Port-au-Prince le 12 janvier.
  • À la demande du ministre des Affaires étrangères, une Équipe de soutien stratégique interministérielle (ESSI) a été envoyée à la région touchée moins de 20 heures après le tremblement de terre. Cette équipe, qui renferme du personnel civil et militaire, et composée d’employés du MAECI, de l’ACDI et du MDN, s’est déployée dans le plus de zones touchées possibles pour évaluer les besoins, discuter avec d’autres donateurs et le gouvernement d’Haïti et déterminer les mesures éventuelles à prendre par le Canada.
  • Selon une recommandation de l’ESSI d’un besoin urgent de concentrer les mesures du Canada vers la purification de l’eau, les soins médicaux principaux, et l’appui de l’ONU dans la logistique et la coordination, le Premier ministre a décidé de déployer l’Équipe d’intervention en cas de catastrophe (EICC) le 18 janvier.
  • L’Opération Hestia est la participation des Forces canadiennes aux opérations humanitaires conduites suite au tremblement de terre en Haïti. Dans le cadre de l'Opération Hestia, la Force opérationnelle interarmées Haïti (FOIH), qui inclut l’Équipe d’intervention en cas de catastrophe (EICC), a pour mandat d’offrir des services en soutien au gouvernement d’Haïti et à l’ambassade du Canada à Port-au-Prince. La FOIH offrira notamment des services médicaux d’urgence et une expertise en matière de génie. Après avoir atteint un effectif de 2000 soldats, marins et aviateurs, la Force opérationnelle interarmées en Haïti a commencé à se départir progressivement de certains éléments.

Efforts diplomatiques

Le Premier ministre Stephen Harper s'est rendu en HaïtiLe gouvernement du Canada travaille en étroite collaboration avec le gouvernement d’Haïti, les Nations Unies (ONU) et la communauté internationale afin de soutenir une réponse coordonnée et efficace face à ce sinistre.

Le ministre des Affaires étrangères, Lawrence Cannon, continue à collaborer avec les ministres de la Coopération internationale, de la Défense nationale, de Citoyenneté et Immigration, et d’autres collègues du cabinet afin d’assurer une approche qui soit empreinte de cohésion.

  • Du 15 au 17 mars 2010, une délégation canadienne composée de hauts fonctionnaires du MAECI et de l'ACDI a participé à la rencontre technique sur la reconstruction d'Haïti organisée par la République dominicaine. La rencontre visait à assister le Gouvernement haïtien dans le développement du Plan national de Reconstruction ainsi que de coordonner le support des bailleurs de fonds en préparation de la Conférence de New York du 31 mars prochain.

Le ministre Cannon (centre) et le ministre d'État Kent (à droite) accueillent le premier ministre d'Haïti, M. Jean-Max Bellerive, à l'ouverture de la conférence ministérielle préparatoire sur Haïti, à Montréal, le 25 janvier 2010.

  • Le 25 janvier, le gouvernement du Canada a accueilli la Conférence ministérielle préparatoire sur Haïti qui a réuni les ministres des Affaires étrangères des pays du Groupe des amis d’Haïti, les principaux donateurs et les partenaires régionaux et multilatéraux actifs en Haïti. Sous la présidence du ministre des Affaires étrangères du Canada, M. Lawrence Cannon, la conférence a aidé la communauté internationale à fixer une orientation claire et commune pour le relèvement rapide d'Haïti et sa reconstruction durable.
  • Le 18 janvier, le ministre d’État Kent a participé à une réunion organisée par la République dominicaine en vue de discuter de l’élaboration de plans de reconstruction à long terme en Haïti. Le président d’Haïti, René Préval, des dirigeants régionaux et des représentants d’organisations internationales, dont les Nations Unies, y participaient également.
  • La gouverneure générale du Canada se rend en République d’Haïti et en République dominicaine, du 8 au 10 mars 2010. L’objectif de la visite en République d’Haïti consiste à renforcer le partenariat entre le Canada et Haïti en vue du redressement et de la reconstruction du pays à la suite du tremblement de terre du 12 janvier dernier.
  • Le 17 janvier, le ministre Cannon, agissant à la demande du premier ministre Stephen Harper, a tenu une conférence téléphonique avec le premier ministre d’Haïti, M. Jean-Max Bellerive, le secrétaire général adjoint de l’ONU aux opérations de maintien de la paix, M. Alain Le Roy, neuf ministres des Affaires étrangères membres du Groupe des amis d’Haïti et le secrétaire général de l’Organisation des États américains, M. José Miguel Insulza, pour renforcer l’engagement pris par la collectivité internationale de coordonner les secours et les efforts de redressement en Haïti dans la foulée du récent séisme.
  • Le ministre d’État des Affaires étrangères (Amériques), Peter Kent, a discuté avec les ministres des Affaires étrangères de l’Argentine, du Chili, de la République dominicaine, de la Jamaïque et de l’Uruguay afin que les uns et les autres soient au courant de ce qui a été fait par chacun jusqu’à présent. Le Canada collaborera avec la Jamaïque et fournira du transport aérien afin de faciliter l’acheminement de matériel de communications.
  • Le 14 janvier, le ministre Cannon a parlé au secrétaire général adjoint de l’ONU aux opérations de maintien de la paix, M. Alain Le Roy. Le ministre a également parlé à son homologue brésilien, le ministre Celso Amorim, de même qu’à la secrétaire d’État américaine, Mme Hillary Clinton, et à l’ambassadeur des États-Unis au Canada, M. David Jacobson.
  • Le 13 janvier, le premier ministre Stephen Harper a parlé au secrétaire général de l’ONU, M. Ban Ki-moon, au sujet de la situation d’urgence en Haïti. Le Premier Ministre a également discuté avec le président Obama au sujet d’une de la coordination du déploiement de l’aide.

Contexte

Haïti est le premier bénéficiaire en importance de l’aide canadienne au développement dans les Amériques. Le Canada travaille à plusieurs niveaux afin d’aider à réduire la pauvreté en Haïti. En cinq ans (2006-2011), il aura consacré une somme de 555 millions de dollars aux efforts de reconstruction et de développement en Haïti. Pour en savoir plus, consultez : Nos priorités : sécurité, gouvernance démocratique, prospérité.

Liens connexes

Page Not Found / Page introuvable

Page Not Found / Page introuvable

Page Not Found

The Web server cannot find the file or script you asked for. Please check the URL to ensure that the path is correct.

Please contact the server's administrator if this problem persists

Page introuvable

Le serveur Web ne parvient pas à trouver le fichier ou le script demandé. Vérifiez l'URL pour vous assurer que le chemin d'accès est correct.

Veuillez contacter l'administrateur du serveur Web si le problème persiste.