Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Canada's Response to the Earthquake in Japan

On March 11, 2011, a powerful 9.0 earthquake struck off the east coast of Honshu, Japan and a series of significant aftershocks have already struck the same area.

Government of Canada officials in Ottawa and at our Embassy in Tokyo are closely monitoring the situation and are working closely with local authorities to identify and locate Canadians in need of assistance. Embassy staff are providing consular assistance where required.

It is estimated there are over 11,000 Canadians in Japan. More than 4,000 Canadians are registered and more than 12,600 calls were received at DFAIT's Emergency Operations Centre. We are aware of the death of one Canadian citizen.

There are currently 16 Canadian federal departments and agencies collaborating within Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada’s Task Force on Natural Disasters Abroad.

The Government of Canada is also working in close coordination with provincial and territorial authorities and stands ready to respond to other specific requests for assistance.

Travel advice

DFAIT advises against non-essential travel to the areas of northern Honshu that were directly affected by the March 11 earthquake and subsequent tsunami. However, using the Tohoku Expressway and the Tohoku Shinkansen Railway to transit through this area is considered safe. We advise against all travel within 30 km of the Fukushima nuclear power plant. Please consult the complete travel report.

Other important links

GoC links

News releases

Contact information
  • Canadians in Japan - 81-3-5412-6200 or (collect) 613-944-2471

  • Canadians in Canada - 613-944-2471 or
    1-800-606-5499

PS Canada internet site - Opens in a new window

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Réponse du Canada au séisme au Japon

Le 11 mars 2011, un tremblement de terre de magnitude 9,0 s’est produit à près de la côte Est de Honshu, Japon. De fortes répliques ont déjà été enregistrées dans la région.

Des représentants du gouvernement du Canada à Ottawa et à notre ambassade à Tokyo suivent de près la situation et travaillent de près avec les autorités locales afin identifier et repérer les citoyens Canadiens qui ont besoin d’aide. Les employés de l’ambassade offrent de l’aide consulaire quand elle est requise.

On estime qu'il y plus de 11 000 Canadiens au Japon. Plus de 4 000 Canadiens sont inscrits et le Centre des opérations d’urgence du MAECI a reçu plus de 12 600 appels. Nous avons été informés du décès d’un citoyen canadien.

En tout, quelques 16 ministères et organismes fédéraux canadiens collaborent au sein du Groupe de travail sur les catastrophes naturelles à l’étranger dirigé par Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada.

Le gouvernement du Canada collabore aussi étroitement avec les autorités provinciales et territoriales, il demeure prêt à réagir à d’autres demandes d’assistance particulières.

Conseils aux voyageurs

Le MAECI recommande d'éviter tout voyage non essentiel dans les régions du nord du Honshu qui ont été directement touchées par le séisme du 11 mars et le tsunami qui a suivi. Nous recommandons aussi d'éviter tout voyage dans la zone comprise à l'intérieur d'un rayon de 30km de la centrale nucléaire Fukushima. Toutefois, on considère qu’il est sécuritaire d’utiliser l’autoroute du Tohoku et la ligne de chemin de fer Tohoku Shinkansen pour transiter par cette région. Veuillez consulter les conseils aux voyageurs.

Autres liens importants

Liens du GdC

Dernières nouvelles

Coordonnées
  • Canadiens au Japon -
    81-3-5412-6200 ou
    (frais virés) 613-944-2471

  • Canadiens au Canada - 613-944-2471 ou
    1-800-606-5499

site web de SP Canada - ouvre dans une nouvelle fenêtre