Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Canada's response to the earthquake in New Zealand

Page Not Found / Page introuvable

Page Not Found / Page introuvable

Page Not Found

The Web server cannot find the file or script you asked for. Please check the URL to ensure that the path is correct.

Please contact the server's administrator if this problem persists

Page introuvable

Le serveur Web ne parvient pas à trouver le fichier ou le script demandé. Vérifiez l'URL pour vous assurer que le chemin d'accès est correct.

Veuillez contacter l'administrateur du serveur Web si le problème persiste.

Page Not Found / Page introuvable

Page Not Found / Page introuvable

Page Not Found

The Web server cannot find the file or script you asked for. Please check the URL to ensure that the path is correct.

Please contact the server's administrator if this problem persists

Page introuvable

Le serveur Web ne parvient pas à trouver le fichier ou le script demandé. Vérifiez l'URL pour vous assurer que le chemin d'accès est correct.

Veuillez contacter l'administrateur du serveur Web si le problème persiste.


Travel | Assistance | How Canadians can help |
Media Centre | Information on the region

A 6.3 magnitude earthquake with a depth of 5 km, struck near Christchurch, New Zealand on February 22 2011 at 12:51 local time with strong aftershocks continuing hours afterwards. The New Zealand Government has confirmed a number of fatalities and injuries. There is extensive damage to buildings and roads, particularly in downtown Christchurch.

Officials at Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada in Ottawa and at the Canadian High Commission in Wellington are closely monitoring the aftermath of the earthquake in New Zealand and stand ready to provide consular assistance to Canadian citizens.

Canadian citizens in New Zealand requiring emergency consular assistance should contact the Canadian High Commission in Wellington at 64 (4) 473-9577, or call DFAIT’s Emergency Operations Centre collect at 613-996-8885. An email can also be sent to sos@international.gc.ca.

Friends and relatives in Canada seeking information on Canadian citizens believed to be affected by the earthquake in New Zealand should contact DFAIT’s Emergency Operations Centre in Ottawa by calling 1 800 387-3124, or by sending an email to sos@international.gc.ca.

Travel Report and Warnings

Canadians seeking emergency consular assistance in the area should contact the Emergency Operations Centre or call 613-996-8885 collect. The Operations Centre of Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada operates 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

How Canadians can help

The best way for Canadians to help is to donate money - not clothing or food.

More information for those who would like to help:

Media Centre

Information on the region

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Réponse du Canada au séisme en Nouvelle-Zélande

Page Not Found / Page introuvable

Page Not Found / Page introuvable

Page Not Found

The Web server cannot find the file or script you asked for. Please check the URL to ensure that the path is correct.

Please contact the server's administrator if this problem persists

Page introuvable

Le serveur Web ne parvient pas à trouver le fichier ou le script demandé. Vérifiez l'URL pour vous assurer que le chemin d'accès est correct.

Veuillez contacter l'administrateur du serveur Web si le problème persiste.

Page Not Found / Page introuvable

Page Not Found / Page introuvable

Page Not Found

The Web server cannot find the file or script you asked for. Please check the URL to ensure that the path is correct.

Please contact the server's administrator if this problem persists

Page introuvable

Le serveur Web ne parvient pas à trouver le fichier ou le script demandé. Vérifiez l'URL pour vous assurer que le chemin d'accès est correct.

Veuillez contacter l'administrateur du serveur Web si le problème persiste.


Conseils aux voyageurs | Assistance | Centre de presse |
Que peuvent faire les CanadiensInformation sur la région

Le 22 février 2011 à 12h51, heure locale, un tremblement de terre de magnitude 6,3 s’est produit à 5 km de profondeur près de Christchurch, en Nouvelle-Zélande. De fortes répliques ont été enregistrées dans les heures qui ont suivi. Selon le gouvernement néo-zélandais, ce séisme a fait un certain nombre de morts et de blessés. Les immeubles et le réseau routier ont été lourdement endommagés, en particulier dans le centre-ville de Christchurch.

Des représentants d’Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada (MAECI) à Ottawa et du haut-commissariat du Canada à Wellington suivent de près la situation au lendemain du tremblement de terre et ils se tiennent prêts à apporter une assistance consulaire aux citoyens canadiens.

Les citoyens canadiens ayant besoin d'une assistance consulaire d'urgence en Nouvelle-Zélande doivent communiquer avec le haut-commissariat du Canada à Wellington, en composant le 64-(4)-473-9577, ou appeler le Centre des opérations d'urgence du MAECI à Ottawa, à frais virés, au 613-996-8885. Ils peuvent également envoyer un courriel à sos@international.gc.ca

Au Canada, les parents et amis qui souhaitent obtenir des renseignements sur des citoyens canadiens qu’ils croient être dans la zone affectée devraient communiquer avec le Centre des opérations d’urgence du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce International à Ottawa en composant le 1-800-387-3124 ou le 613-996-8885, ou encore en envoyant un courriel à sos@international.gc.ca.

Conseils aux voyageurs

Assistance pour les Canadiens au Nouvelle-Zélande

Les Canadiens qui désirent obtenir une aide consulaire d’urgence dans la région peuvent communiquer avec le Centre des opérations d’urgence à Ottawa ou téléphoner à frais virés au 613-996-8885. Le Centre des opérations d'urgence d'Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada est ouvert 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours par semaine.

Que peuvent faire les Canadiens

La meilleure façon d’aider est de faire un don en argent - ni vêtements ni nourriture - à l’organisation caritative enregistrée.

Complément d’information pour ceux et celles qui voudraient apporter leur aide :

Centre de presse

Information sur la région

Page Not Found / Page introuvable

Page Not Found / Page introuvable

Page Not Found

The Web server cannot find the file or script you asked for. Please check the URL to ensure that the path is correct.

Please contact the server's administrator if this problem persists

Page introuvable

Le serveur Web ne parvient pas à trouver le fichier ou le script demandé. Vérifiez l'URL pour vous assurer que le chemin d'accès est correct.

Veuillez contacter l'administrateur du serveur Web si le problème persiste.