Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada

international.gc.ca

Mandate and Structure

The Canadian Foreign Service Institute's (CFSI) mandate was approved in 2007. It encompasses training and development needs of the various groups and levels of employees in the department, as well as the requirements for management development.CFSI's mandate was revised in 1997 and 2002. A revised mandate was approved in 2007. It encompasses training and development needs of the various groups and levels of employees in the department, as well as the requirements for management development.

CFSI has departmental responsibility for coordinating the implementation of the government-wide policy on learning, training and development and for providing advisory services on the development of individual and organizational learning plans.

The 2007 mandate states that CFSI will:

  • Align its programs with the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT) and Government of Canada priorities
  • Become a recognized Government of Canada (GOC) Centre of Expertise for International Affairs Learning, Foreign Languages and Intercultural Effectiveness
  • Serve the needs of DFAIT as defined by its mission and management direction as the primary provider of career-long learning for all departmental employees
  • Provide training on corporate systems critical to DFAIT resource management
  • Maximize use of leading edge technologies to enhance learning and streamline operations
  • Offer one-stop learning advisory services through a visible client services centre
  • Conduct systematic learning needs assessments and cyclical evaluations of courses and programs
  • Produce comprehensive Annual Learning Reports covering all DFAIT training activities
  • Foster partnerships with other DFAIT training providers, the Canada School of Public Service, OGDs, provinces and other learning organizations

The Institute consists of five centres of learning:

The Centre of Learning for International Affairs and Management (CFSD)

CFSD organizes a range of professional training and management development. The programs are tailored for distinct groups—from the new foreign service officers to the new Heads of Mission. Areas of specialization at the Centre include: international affairs; core foreign service skills; international business development; trade and economic policy and international security and cooperation.

The Centre for Corporate Services Learning (CFSS)

CFSS is responsible for the development, design, and delivery of training to employees at headquarters and at missions overseas, including entry-level development programs for Management Consular Officers (MCOs), Administrative Assistants (AAs), and Locally Engaged Staff (LES). Training in the areas of Resource Management, Information Management Technology (IMT) and Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) is delivered at HQ through classroom instruction and self-directed online tutorials, and on a 7-day/24-hour basis to missions around the world and Canadian Regional Offices using remote training technology.

The Centre for Intercultural Learning (CFSC)

CFSC has been preparing Canadians for international assignments since 1969. Its mandate is to support organizations and individuals involved with international activities in developing the intercultural competencies essential for international success.

CFSC delivers training services in the area of intercultural effectiveness to Canada-based staff and locally-engaged personnel working in Canadian missions. It provides numerous other federal and provincial government departments, non-governmental and private sector organizations with a wide range of intercultural effectiveness, pre-departure, re-integration and orientation to Canada courses. CFSC has also developed international personnel selection tools and on-line learning and information services to support greater personal and organizational intercultural effectiveness.

CFSC's government clients include the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA), Department of National Defence (DND), Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC), Canadian Border Services Agency (CBSA), Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP), Correctional Service of Canada (CSC), and others.

The Centre for Foreign Languages (CFSL)

CFSL offers full-time Professional Proficiency (PP) training, in classroom or at a distance, in a large variety of foreign languages. New languages are added on a regular basis to adjust to the departmental needs. Immersion sessions are offered in Canada and abroad to complement the PP courses. In addition, the Centre also offers short-term pre-posting training and, on a part-time basis, maintenance and online programs.

Course participants' level of proficiency is determined by foreign language testers certified by CFSL.

The Centre also offers, on a cost-recovery basis, foreign languages training and testing services to other federal government departments and agencies, as well as to foreign countries. The main clients include the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA), Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC), Canadian Border Services Agency (CBSA), Canadian Security Intelligence Services (CSIS), Public Service Commission (PSC), Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP), Heritage Canada and the House of Commons.

The Centre for Learning Advisory Services, eLearning and Administration (CFSA)

CFSA provides information on learning opportunities within and outside DFAIT, advises managers and employees on the development of organizational and individual learning plans as well as on the interpretation of learning policies and guidelines. The Centre also coordinates the Required Training offered by the Canada School of Public Service and develops learning roadmaps for various employees groups. To expand the CFSI ever growing curriculum of online courses and better serve clients, the Centre manages the design of online courses and products as well as course evaluation instruments.

Footer

Date Modified:
2011-11-02

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada

international.gc.ca

Mandat et structure

Le mandat de l'Institut canadien du service extérieur (CFSI) a été approuvé en 2007. Il englobe les besoins de formation et de perfectionnement d'une variété de groupes et de niveaux d'employés du Ministère ainsi que les exigences en matière de perfectionnement en gestion.

CFSI assume la responsabilité de coordonner la mise en œuvre de la politique fédérale sur de formation, perfectionnement et apprentissage et de fournir un service consultatif pour le développement des plans d'apprentissages individuels.

Le mandat 2007 de l'Institut identifie les priorités suivantes :

  • Alignera ses programmes avec les priorités du ministère et du gouvernement fédéral
  • Sera un centre d'expertise reconnu en matière d'apprentissage des affaires internationales, les langues étrangères et d'efficacité interculturelle au service du GC
  • Répondra aux besoins du Ministère Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada (MAECI) tels que définis par son mandat et l'orientation donnée par la gestion en étant le principal fournisseur de formation durant la carrière de tous les employés du Ministère
  • Continuera de dispenser de la formation sur les systèmes ministériels du MAECI à la gestion des ressources
  • Maximisera l'utilisation des technologies de pointe pour améliorer l'apprentissage et simplifier les opérations
  • Offrira des services consultatifs en apprentissage à guichet unique au moyen d'un centre de services à la clientèle jouissant d'une bonne visibilité
  • Réalisera des évaluations systématiques des besoins en apprentissage et des évaluations cycliques des cours et des programmes
  • Produira des rapports annuels sur l'apprentissage qui aborderont toutes les activités de formation du MAECI
  • Facilite l'accès et promeut les partenariats avec les autres fournisseurs de formation du MAECI à l'École de la fonction publique du Canada, aux autres ministères, provinces et organismes d'apprentissage

L'Institut comprend cinq centres d'apprentissage :

Le Centre d'apprentissage en affaires internationales et en gestion (CFSD)

CFSD organise la formation professionnelle et le perfectionnement en gestion. Les programmes sont adaptés en fonction de différents groupes, allant des nouveaux agents du service extérieur aux nouveaux chefs de mission. CFSD se spécialise notamment dans les domaines suivants : affaires internationales, compétences de base liées au service extérieur, expansion internationale des affaires, politique commerciale et économique et sécurité et coopération.

Le Centre d'apprentissage des services ministériels (CFSS)

CFSS est responsable de l'élaboration, de la conception et de la prestation de la formation, y compris des programmes de formation à l'intention des agents de gestion et des affaires consulaires (AGC), des adjoints administratifs (AA) et des employés recrutés sur place (ERP). La formation dans le domaine de la gestion des ressources, gestion de l'information et de la technologie (GIT) et la planification des ressources de l'entreprise (PRE) est offerte à l'Administration centrale en salle de classe, par tutoriel auto-dirigé et 7 jours/ 7, 24h/24 aux missions à l'étranger et bureaux régionaux canadiens en utilisant les technologies de formation à distance.

Le Centre d'apprentissage interculturel (CFSC)

Depuis 1969, le CFSC prépare les Canadiens aux affectations à l'étranger. Il a pour mandat d'aider les personnes et les organismes engagés dans des activités internationales à se doter de compétences interculturelles essentielles à leur réussite à l'étranger.

CFSC offre des services en formation dans le domaine de l'efficacité interculturelle aux employés canadiens et au personnel recruté sur place œuvrant dans les missions canadiennes à l'étranger. Il fourni à plusieurs autres ministères fédéraux et provinciaux, diverses organismes non gouvernementaux et du secteur privé une large gamme de cours en efficacité interculturelle, pré-départ, réintégration, et orientation au Canada. CFSC a également développé des outils d'évaluation du personnel et de services d'apprentissage et de renseignements en ligne en appui à l'accroissement de l'efficacité interculturelle sur les plans personnel et organisationnel.

CFSC compte parmi ses clients l'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI), le ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN), Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada (CIC), l'Agence canadienne des services frontaliers (ACSF), la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC), Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) et d'autres.

Le Centre de formation en langues étrangères (CFSL)

CFSL offre à plein temps des cours de compétence professionnelle en langues étrangères. Ces cours sont donnés en classe ou à distance, dans un grand nombre de langues dont la variété s'ajuste aux besoins du ministère. Des immersions au Canada ou à l'étranger complètent le programme de ces cours. CFSL offre aussi de la formation de courte durée pour la préparation aux affectations et des cours à temps partiel ou en ligne pour le maintien des connaissances.

Le niveau de maîtrise de la langue est établi par des évaluateurs en langues étrangères, agréés par le Centre.

D'autres ministères et organismes du gouvernement fédéral, de même que des pays étrangers peuvent également bénéficier de services de formation et d'évaluation en langues étrangères selon le principe du recouvrement des coûts. Parmi les principaux clients, mentionnons l'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI), Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada (CIC), l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (AFSC), le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS), la Commission de la Fonction publique (CFP), la Gendarmerie royale canadienne (GRC), Patrimoine canadien (PCH) et la Chambre des Communes.

Le Centre des services consultatifs en matière d'apprentissage, d'apprentissage en ligne et d'administration (CFSA)

CFSA dispense des conseils sur les possibilités d'apprentissage au Ministère et à l'extérieur; conseille les gestionnaires et les employés sur l'élaboration de plans d'apprentissage individuels et organisationnels de même que sur l'interprétation de politiques et de directives en matière d'apprentissage. Le centre coordonne également la formation indispensable offerte par l'École de la fonction publique du Canada et conçoit des parcours d'apprentissage destinés à divers groupes d'employés. Afin de faire croître le programme de cours et de produits en ligne de l'Institut et de mieux servir ses clients, CFSA gère la conception de cours et de produits en ligne ainsi que le développement d'outils d'évaluation de cours.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2011-11-02