Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada

international.gc.ca

Language testing - Scales/Levels

Where do you rank?

You want to know how you would rank on the oral, reading and writing proficiency scales? Read the descriptions of the levels.


Oral Proficiency Rating Scale

LevelProficiencyDefinition
5Educated Native ProficiencyFunctionally equivalent to that of a highly articulate and well-educated native speaker. Reflects the cultural standards of the country where the language is spoken. Language usage and ability to function are superior throughout.
4+Advanced Professional Proficiency, PlusSpeaking proficiency is regularly superior in all respects and is usually equivalent to that of a well-educated, highly articulate native speaker. Speaks effortlessly and smoothly on all topics. Understands all forms and styles of speech and shows strong sensitivity to social and cultural references. Language usage and ability to function are fully successful. There may be an occasional non-native slip.
4Advanced Professional ProficiencyAble to use the language fluently and accurately on all levels normally pertinent to professional needs. Language usage and ability to function are fully successful. Can tailor language to audience and discuss in depth highly abstract or unfamiliar topics. Able to speak with a great deal of fluency, grammatical accuracy, complex vocabulary and in an idiomatic fashion. Understands all forms and styles of speech and shows strong sensitivity to social and cultural references. May have some difficulty with some dialects and slang.
3+General Professional Proficiency, PlusAble to use the language to satisfy professional needs in a wide range of sophisticated and demanding tasks. Operates at level 4 most of the time, but cannot sustain the performance across a variety of topics. Understanding is complete, including idioms, nuances, register shifts and humour or irony. Often matches a native speaker's strategic and organizational abilities. Basic and complex structures are fully controlled except for an occasional error in low-frequency structures. There are no patterned errors.
3General Professional ProficiencyAble to speak the language with sufficient structural accuracy, vocabulary and cohesiveness in discourse to participate effectively in most formal and informal conversations on practical, social, and professional topics. Understanding is essentially complete. Can discuss with fluency and ease abstract issues and special fields of competence and interest. Can support opinion and hypothesize. Can provide a structured argument that is clear and well organized. While the influence of the speaker's first language can be felt (in pronunciation, grammar and vocabulary), there are no patterned errors and errors never distract the listener or interfere with communication.
2+Limited Working Proficiency, PlusAble to satisfy most working requirements with language that is often, but not always, acceptable and effective. Operates at level 3 most of the time but is unable to sustain the performance across all topics, i.e. when called on to perform level 3 tasks, may avoid the tasks altogether or resort to simplification through the use of description or narration instead of argumentation or hypothesis. Also, may give concrete examples to illustrate a point instead of arguing the point abstractly. Often shows remarkable ease of speech but performance is uneven. Vocabulary may still be generic (general) rather than precise. Often strong in either grammar or vocabulary, but not in both. Comprehension of normal native speech is nearly complete. Can be understood by native speakers not used to dealing with foreigners.
2Limited Working ProficiencyAble to satisfy routine social demands and limited work requirements. Can handle with confidence, but not accuracy, complicated tasks. Speaks with ease and facility on concrete topics – giving facts and talking casually about topics of current public and personal interest – using general vocabulary and linking sentences together smoothly with appropriate connectors. When dealing with more complex or abstract topics or issues, fluency breaks down. Can narrate and describe in major time frames. Can understand main ideas and most details on a variety of topics, and discourse referring to different time frames or aspects. Can be understood without difficulty by native speakers.
1+Elementary Proficiency, PlusCan initiate and maintain predictable face-to-face conversations and satisfy limited social demands. Operates mostly at level 2 but cannot sustain the performance across all topics and tasks. Can converse with ease and confidence when dealing with routine tasks and social situations, describe people and places and narrate in present tense. May hesitate and change the intended message due to lack of language resources. Understanding of normal native speech is inconsistent due to failure to grasp details and, sometimes even main ideas. Influence of first language is evident in pronunciation, grammatical structures and vocabulary. However, can be understood by native speakers not used to dealing with foreigners, although repetition and reformulation may be needed.
1Elementary ProficiencyAble to satisfy courtesy requirements and maintain simple face-to-face conversations on familiar topics. Can ask and answer simple questions and participate in simple conversations on topics beyond the most immediate needs. Speaks in sentences but often hesitates and pauses to search for adequate vocabulary. Able to understand sentence-length utterances on a variety of concrete topics, but understanding is uneven. Can be understood by native speakers used to dealing with foreigners.
0+Memorized ProficiencyAble to satisfy immediate needs using mostly rehearsed utterances. Can handle level 1 tasks but cannot sustain the performance at that level. Shows little autonomy of expression, flexibility and spontaneity. Relies heavily on learned phrases or a recombination of these and words used by the interlocutor. Inability to conjugate verbs. Strong influence of first language in pronunciation, grammar and vocabulary (borrowed words, literal translations). Can usually differentiate most significant sounds when produced in isolation, but when combined in words or groups of words, may have difficulty understanding. Can be understood by native speakers used to dealing with foreigners.
0No ProficiencyUnable to function in the spoken language, except for a few isolated words and phrases.

Note:

  • Level 2/2+ is that on which much daily communication and social interactions are handled routinely and effortlessly among native speakers.
  • Levels 3 and above entail a much more sophisticated control of the language and a breadth and depth of vocabulary not normally used in everyday exchanges.

Back to Top


Reading Proficiency Rating Scale

LevelProficiencyDefinition
5Educated Native ProficiencyReading ability is functionally equivalent to that of the well-educated native reader.
4+Advanced Professional Proficiency, PlusNear native ability to read and understand extremely difficult or abstract prose, a wide variety of vocabulary, idioms, colloquialisms, and slang. Strong sensitivity to and understanding of sociolinguistic and cultural references.
4Advanced Professional ProficiencyAble to read fluently and accurately all styles and forms of the language in any subject as well as those pertinent to professional needs. Understands all sociolinguistic and cultural references. Can follow unpredictable turns of thought readily in editorial, conjectural, and literary texts, as well as in materials in own special field, including official documents and correspondence. Recognizes all professionally relevant vocabulary known to the educated non-professional native reader. Speed and accuracy is often nearly that of a well-educated native reader.
3+General Professional Proficiency, PlusAble to read with facility and appreciate a wide variety of texts as well as those pertinent to professional needs. Has a broad active general, specialized and abstract vocabulary. Able to comprehend many sociolinguistic and cultural references, as well as a considerable range of complex structures, low-frequency idioms, and connotations. However, accuracy is not complete, and here again some nuances and subtleties may escape the reader.
3General Professional ProficiencyAble to read within a normal range of speed and with almost complete comprehension a variety of authentic texts on unfamiliar subjects. Reading ability does not depend on subject matter knowledge, except if the material is highly dependent on cultural knowledge or outside one's general experience and not accompanied by explanation. Text types include news stories, wire service reports, international news items, correspondence, technical material, etc. in one's professional field. Material may include hypothesis, argumentation, and supported opinions. Misreadings are rare. Able to read between the lines and derive the author's implicit intent, but may not detect or understand subtleties and nuances. May experience some difficulties with unusually complex structures and low-frequency idioms.
2+Limited Working Proficiency, PlusAble to understand most general factual prose as well as some discussions on concrete topics related to special professional interests. Has a good active reading vocabulary and is able to use the context to make sensible guesses about unfamiliar vocabulary and material. Can get the gist of the information and some secondary ideas. Weaknesses include slowness, uncertainty, inability to discern nuances.
2>Limited Working ProficiencyAble to read simple and straightforward factual texts written for the general reader that are presented in a predictable sequence and contain high frequency sentence patterns. Persons who have professional knowledge of a subject may be able to scan and summarize texts that are well beyond their general proficiency level. In general, however, the person does not have a broad active vocabulary and is quite slow in reading.
1+Elementary Proficiency, PlusAble to read and understand simple texts for informative social purposes, such as biographical information or narration of events, straightforward newspaper headlines. Can guess at unfamiliar vocabulary if highly contextualized. Can locate main ideas and routine information of professional significance in more complex texts and in the professional specialty.
1Elementary ProficiencyAble to read very simple descriptions of places, things and public events such as those simplified for tourists. Can get some main ideas and locate prominent items of professional significance in more complex texts.
0+Memorized ProficiencyUnable to read connected prose, but can recognize high frequency elements of a syllabary or a character system. Able to read (but not always interpret accurately) some or all of the following: numbers, isolated words and phrases, street signs, office and shop designations.
0No ProficiencyNo practical ability to read the language.

Back to Top


Writing Proficiency Rating Scale

LevelProficiencyDefinition
5Educated Native ProficiencyWriting proficiency is functionally equivalent to that of a highly articulate educated native. There are no non-native errors of structure, spelling, syntax or vocabulary. Writing is both clear, explicit, informative, and imaginative.
4+Advanced Professional Proficiency, PlusAble to write the language precisely and accurately in a wide variety of prose styles pertinent to a variety of audiences and professional needs. Varied use of stylistic devices and flexibility within a style. Can both write and edit formal and informal correspondence, official reports and documents, and professional articles, including writing for special purposes which might include legal, technical, educational, literary and colloquial writing. The writer employs a very wide range of stylistic devices.
4Advanced Professional ProficiencyAble to write the language precisely and accurately in a variety of prose pertinent to social issues and professional needs. Errors of grammar, syntax, punctuation and vocabulary are rare. Writing is consistently and explicitly organized with appropriate connectors and discourse devices (ellipsis, parallelisms, subordinates).
3+General Professional Proficiency, PlusAble to write in a variety of prose styles pertinent to general, social and professional needs. Good control of basic and complex structures, all verb tenses and tense sequence, morphology, syntax and punctuation. Usually uses cohesive devices well, but variety is limited. May not be able to express nuances or subtleties very well, nor tailor language to audience.
3General Professional ProficiencyAble to use the language effectively in most formal and informal written exchanges on practical, social, and professional topics. Can write reports, summaries, short papers on current events and particular areas of interest, or on special fields with reasonable ease. Control of structure, general vocabulary and spelling is adequate to convey message accurately but style may be obviously foreign. Punctuation is generally controlled. Good control of grammar with occasional errors in complex structures and tense sequence. Consistent control of compound sentences. Relationship of ideas is consistently clear.
2+Limited Working Proficiency, PlusShows ability to write with some precision and in some detail about most common topics. Can write about concrete topics relating to particular interests and special fields of competence. Often shows surprising fluency and ease of expression, but under time constraints and pressure language may be inaccurate. Can control basic and some complex structures, with some errors in more complex constructions (passives, relative clauses, word order, tense usage and sequence). Generally strong in either grammar or vocabulary, but not in both. Normally controls general vocabulary and some working vocabulary with some misuse. Can handle most social correspondence and take fairly accurate notes on what has been presented orally.
2Limited Working ProficiencyAble to write routine social correspondence and prepare documentary materials required for most limited work requirements. Can write simply about a limited number of current events or daily situations. Good control of morphology and basic syntactic structures. Uses a limited number of cohesive devices. However, still makes common errors in spelling, punctuation, and constructions (plurals, articles, gender, prepositions, verb tenses, negatives).
1+Elementary Proficiency, PlusAble to meet most survival needs and limited social demands. Can write short paragraphs related to most survival needs (food, lodging, transportation, immediate surroundings and situations) and limited social demands (greetings, relating personal history, daily life preferences, etc.). Can express fairly accurate present and future time and some past verb forms, but not always accurately. Can control elementary vocabulary and basic syntactic patterns only. Generally cannot use basic cohesive elements of discourse (relative constructions, object pronouns, connectors).
1Elementary ProficiencyAble to meet limited practical needs. Writes in simple sentences with errors in spelling, grammar, and punctuation. Writing tends to be a loose collection of sentences or sentence fragments without much organization. At this level, can write simple phone messages, excuses, notes to service people and friends.
0+Memorized ProficiencyWrites using memorized material and set expressions. Can produce 50 of the most common characters, write dates, own name, nationality, address, and a few short sentences. Spelling and characters may be incorrect.
0No ProficiencyNo functional writing ability.

Footer

Date Modified:
2011-11-30

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada

international.gc.ca

Evaluation linguistique - échelles/niveaux

À quel niveau vous situez-vous?

Vous voulez savoir où vous vous situez sur les échelles de compétence en expression orale, écrite et en lecture? Lisez les descriptions des divers niveaux.


Échelle d'évaluation - Expression orale

NiveauCompétenceDéfinition
5Compétence du locuteur d'origine instruitLa langue et l'expression sont équivalentes à celles du locuteur d'origine très instruit. Elles reflètent les normes culturelles du pays et sont en tout temps au niveau supérieur.
4+Compétence professionnelle avancée, plusEn général, la langue et l'expression sont habituellement équivalentes à celles du locuteur d'origine instruit. La personne s'exprime avec aisance et sans effort dans tous les domaines, comprend tous les styles et formes de discours, et perçoit très bien les allusions sociales et culturelles. A l'occasion, on remarque quelques écarts ou une façon de s'exprimer un peu inusitée.
4Compétence professionnelle avancéeS'exprime couramment et avec précision à tous les niveaux de langue normalement utilisés dans un cadre professionnel. L'utilisation de la langue et la capacité de fonctionnement sont excellentes. La personne peut adapter son discours en fonction de son interlocuteur ou de l'auditoire et mener une discussion approfondie sur des sujets abstraits ou non familiers. Parle couramment et de façon idiomatique sans erreurs grammaticales et en utilisant une terminologie précise. Comprend tous les styles et formes de discours et perçoit très bien les allusions sociales et culturelles. Peut cependant éprouver des difficultés avec certains dialectes et avec l'argot.
3+Compétence professionnelle générale, plusAMaîtrise suffisamment la langue pour exécuter une grande diversité de tâches professionnelles complexes et exigeantes. Se situe la plupart du temps au niveau 4, mais ne peut s'y maintenir dans tous les domaines. Comprend tout, qu'il s'agisse d'expressions idiomatiques, de nuances de sens, de changements de registre, d'humour ou d'ironie. Possède souvent d'aussi bonnes capacités stratégiques et organisationnelles qu'un locuteur d'origine. Les structures de base et les structures complexes sont parfaitement maîtrisées bien que des erreurs surviennent à l'occasion lors de l'utilisation de structures peu fréquentes. Les erreurs ne suivent pas de schème précis.
3Compétence professionnelle généraleS'exprime avec suffisamment de précision dans le vocabulaire et les structures et de cohérence dans le discours pour participer de façon efficace à la plupart des conversations formelles et informelles portant sur des sujets d'ordre pratique, social et professionnel. La personne comprend pratiquement tout et peut discuter avec aisance et facilité de questions abstraites et de ses champs de compétence et ses intérêts particuliers. Peut exprimer et défendre des opinions et soutenir des hypothèses en présentant des arguments clairs et structurés. L'influence de la langue maternelle se fait parfois sentir (dans la prononciation, le le vocabulaire et/ou les structures). On remarque des erreurs isolées qui ne suivent pas de schème précis, ne détournent jamais l'attention de l'interlocuteur et ne nuisent en aucun cas à la communication.
2+Compétence de travail limitée, plusSatisfait à la plupart des exigences de travail sur le plan linguistique en communiquant souvent de manière acceptable et efficace, sans toutefois y parvenir toujours. La personne s'exprime la plupart du temps au niveau 3, mais ne peut s'y maintenir dans tous les domaines, c.-à-d. que lorsqu'elle doit exécuter des tâches de niveau 3, elle les évite parfois ou elle se simplifie la tâche en utilisant la description ou la narration au lieu de proposer des arguments et d'émettre des hypothèses, ou en donnant des exemples personnels pour illustrer son point de vue au lieu de le soutenir de façon abstraite. S'exprime souvent, mais pas toujours, avec aisance. Le vocabulaire utilisé est encore générique (général) plutôt que précis. On remarque également que la personne est forte en grammaire ou en vocabulaire, mais pas dans les deux. Elle comprend presque parfaitement le discours normal d'un locuteur d'origine et se fait comprendre des locuteurs d'origine peu habitués à traiter avec des étrangers.
2Compétence de travail limitéeSatisfait aux exigences de la vie sociale quotidienne et, de manière plus limitée, à celles du milieu de travail. Peut accomplir avec assurance mais non avec précision des tâches complexes. Parle avec aisance et facilité de sujets concrets – donne des faits et parle spontanément de sujets actuels d'intérêt public et personnel – en utilisant un vocabulaire général et en enchaînant les phrases avec les mots charnières appropriés. On remarque plus d'hésitations, de pauses et de reformulations lorsque des sujets ou des questions plus complexes ou abstraits sont abordés. Peut faire des narrations et des descriptions dans les temps principaux. Peut comprendre les idées générales et la plupart des détails dans un grand nombre de sujets et de discours où sont utilisés différents temps et aspects. Est facilement compris par les locuteurs d'origine.
1+Compétence élémentaire, plusPeut engager et poursuivre une conversation prévisible en tête à tête et satisfaire de façon limitée aux exigences de la vie sociale. Se situe la plupart du temps au niveau 2, mais ne peut s'y maintenir dans tous les domaines et pour toutes les tâches. Peut converser avec aisance et assurance dans des situations sociales et les tâches usuelles, décrire des personnes et des endroits et raconter des choses en utilisant le présent. Peut hésiter et changer le message prévu faute de connaissances linguistiques suffisantes. N'arrive pas toujours à comprendre le discours d'un locuteur d'origine en raison de difficultés à saisir les détails et parfois même les idées principales. L'influence de la langue maternelle se fait nettement sentir dans la prononciation, les structures grammaticales et le vocabulaire. Arrive toutefois à se faire comprendre des locuteurs d'origine peu habitués à traiter avec des étrangers, bien que la répétition et la reformulation soient parfois nécessaires.
1Compétence élémentairePeut utiliser les formules de courtoisie élémentaires et tenir une conversation simple en tête à tête sur des sujets connus. Peut poser et répondre à des questions simples et participer à des conversations rudimentaires portant sur des sujets allant au-delà des besoins les plus immédiats. Arrive à faire des phrases, mais hésite et doit souvent s'arrêter pour chercher ses mots. Peut comprendre des propos de la longueur d'une phrase portant sur un grand nombre de sujets concrets, mais n'y arrive pas toujours. Arrive à se faire comprendre des locuteurs d'origine habitués à traiter avec des étrangers.
0+Compétence fondée sur la mémoirePeut satisfaire aux besoins immédiats en utilisant principalement des expressions mémorisées. Peut accomplir des tâches de niveau 1, mais ne peut le faire sur une base régulière. Manifeste peu d'autonomie sur le plan de l'expression et peu de souplesse et de spontanéité. Dépend largement de phrases apprises ou des mots utilisés par l'interlocuteur. Utilise surtout les verbes à l'infinitif plutôt qu'au temps approprié. L'influence de la langue maternelle se fait nettement sentir dans la prononciation, la grammaire et le vocabulaire (emprunts, traductions littérales). Peut habituellement distinguer la plupart des sons importants lorsqu'ils sont prononcés séparément, mais peut avoir de la difficulté à comprendre lorsqu'ils forment des mots ou des groupes de mots. Arrive à se faire comprendre des locuteurs d'origine habitués à traiter avec des étrangers.
0Aucune compétence fonctionnelleNe peut s'exprimer oralement de façon fonctionnelle, même s'il arrive à dire quelques phrases ou mots isolés.

N.B.

La plupart des situations quotidiennes de communication et d'interaction sociale dans lesquelles les locuteurs d'origine s'expriment couramment et sans effort se situent au niveau

2/2+. Les niveaux 3 à 5 requièrent une maîtrise beaucoup plus poussée de la langue et un vocabulaire beaucoup plus étendu que celui normalement utilisé dans les échanges quotidiens.

Haut de la page


Échelle d'évaluation - Lecture

NiveauCompétenceDéfinition
5Compétence du locuteur d'origine instruitLa personne possède une compétence de lecture égale sur le plan fonctionnel à celle d'un lecteur d'origine instruit.
4+Compétence professionnelle avancée, plusLa personne possède une compétence presque égale à celle du locuteur d'origine et comprend des textes extrêmement difficiles ou abstraits, un large vocabulaire, un grand éventail d'expressions idiomatiques et de tournures familières ou vulgaires. La personne est très sensible aux référents sociolinguistiques et culturels et les comprend fort bien.
4Compétence professionnelle avancéeAble to read fluently and accurately all styles and forms of the language in any subject as well as those pertinent to professional needs. Understands all sociolinguistic and cultural references. Can follow unpredictable turns of thought readily in editorial, conjectural, and literary texts, as well as in materials in own special field, including official documents and correspondence. Recognizes all professionally relevant vocabulary known to the educated non-professional native reader. Speed and accuracy is often nearly that of a well-educated native reader.
3+Compétence professionnelle générale, plusLa personne peut lire avec facilité et apprécier une grande diversité de textes, dont ceux qui sont pertinents dans un contexte professionnel. La personne possède un vocabulaire actif élargi de nature générale, spécialisée ou abstraite. Elle peut comprendre bon nombre de référents sociolinguistiques et culturels, ainsi qu'un éventail considérable de structures complexes, des expressions idiomatiques peu usitées et des connotations. Cependant, la lecture n'est pas parfaitement exacte et le lecteur qui possède ce niveau de compétence peut passer à côté de certaines nuances et subtilités.
3Compétence professionnelle généraleLa personne peut lire à une vitesse normale, et avec une compréhension presque parfaite, divers textes authentiques portant sur des sujets peu familiers. L'aptitude à la lecture ne dépend pas de la connaissance du sujet, sauf si le document nécessite absolument une familiarité avec le contexte culturel ou traite d'un sujet qui dépasse l'expérience générale du lecteur et ne s'accompagne pas d'explications. Il peut s'agir des types de textes suivants : actualités, rapports d'agences de transmission, actualités internationales, correspondance, documents techniques relevant du domaine de compétence professionnelle du lecteur. Ils peuvent comprendre des hypothèses, des arguments et des opinions documentées. Les fautes de lecture sont rares. La personne peut lire entre les lignes et déduire l'intention implicite de l'auteur, mais sans peut-être saisir et comprendre toutes les subtilités et nuances. Elle peut avoir des difficultés avec des structures particulièrement complexes et des expressions idiomatiques moins usitées.
2+Compétence de travail limitée, plusLa personne peut comprendre la plupart des textes factuels ainsi que les documents qui traitent de sujets concrets liés à ses intérêts professionnels précis. Son vocabulaire actif à la lecture est bon, et elle est capable de deviner de façon logique, d'après le contexte, le sens des termes et autres éléments qui ne lui sont pas familiers. Elle arrive à comprendre l'essentiel de même que certaines idées secondaires. Ses points faibles sont la lenteur, l'hésitation et l'incapacité de saisir les nuances.
2>Compétence de travail limitéeLa personne est capable de lire des textes simples, de nature factuelle, rédigés dans un style direct et destinés au lecteur profane lorsque le déroulement des idées est prévisible et que la construction des phrases est courante. Si un texte porte sur un domaine professionnel dont elle a une connaissance pratique, elle sera peut-être en mesure de le parcourir et d'en résumer le contenu, même si la complexité du texte dépasse largement sa compétence linguistique générale. Cependant, son vocabulaire actif n'est généralement pas très vaste, et sa lecture est passablement lente.
1+Compétence élémentaire, plusLa personne est en mesure de lire et de comprendre des textes simples de nature informative ou sociale tels que des renseignements biographiques ou des récits et des manchettes de journaux simples. Elle peut deviner des mots inconnus, si le contexte est très clair, et comprendre les idées principales et l'information courante relevant de son domaine professionnel dans des textes plus complexes ou qui touchent à ce dernier.
1Compétence élémentaireLa personne peut lire des descriptions très simples de lieux, de choses et d'événements publics, par exemple celles qui sont simplifiées à l'intention des touristes. Elle peut avoir une idée du sens et repérer certains éléments fréquents liés à son domaine professionnel dans des textes plus complexes.
0+Compétence fondée sur la mémoireLa personne est incapable de lire un texte suivi, mais elle peut reconnaître certains éléments très fréquents dans un syllabaire ou un ensemble de caractères. Elle parvient à lire (sans que son interprétation soit toujours la bonne) un ou plusieurs des éléments suivants : nombres, phrases ou mots isolés, panneaux indiquant le nom des rues, noms d'entreprise ou de commerce.
0Aucune compétence fonctionnelleIncapacité totale de lire la langue.

Haut de la page


Échelle d'évaluation - Expression écrite

NiveauCompétenceDéfinition
5Compétence du locuteur d'origine instruitLa personne possède une compétence de rédaction égale sur le plan fonctionnel à celle d'un rédacteur d'origine très cohérent et instruit. Elle ne commet aucune erreur de structure, d'orthographe, de syntaxe ou de vocabulaire que ne fait pas un locuteur d'origine. Ses textes sont clairs, explicites, instructifs et pleins d'imagination.
4+Compétence professionnelle avanceé, plusLa personne peut rédiger avec précision et exactitude dans divers styles de prose pertinents pour satisfaire aux besoins de divers auditoires et dans des contextes professionnels variés. Elle se sert de procédés stylistiques et de la souplesse qu'offre chaque style. Elle peut rédiger et réviser de la correspondance formelle ou informelle, des rapports et des documents officiels, des articles professionnels afin de répondre à des besoins spéciaux exigeant un style juridique, technique, didactique, littéraire ou familier. La personne emploie une gamme très variée de procédés stylistiques.
4Compétence professionnelle avancéeLa personne peut rédiger avec précision et exactitude dans divers styles pertinents pour satisfaire à des besoins sociaux et professionnels. Les fautes de grammaire, de syntaxe, de ponctuation et de vocabulaire sont rares. La rédaction est toujours organisée et le style est clair; la personne se sert des charnières et des ressources du discours appropriées (ellipse, parallélisme, propositions subordonnées).
3+General Professional Proficiency, PlusLa personne peut rédiger dans les quelques styles nécessaires pour satisfaire à des besoins généraux, sociaux et professionnels. Elle possède une bonne maîtrise des structures de base et complexes, de tous les temps de verbes et de la concordance des temps, de la morphologie, de la syntaxe et de la ponctuation. Elle emploie des éléments qui servent à la cohésion du discours, mais ce sont souvent les mêmes. Elle n'est peut-être pas en mesure d'exprimer très bien les nuances ou les subtilités ni d'adapter son discours à son auditoire.
3Compétence professionnelle généraleLa personne peut utiliser la langue efficacement dans la majeure partie des échanges écrits formels et informels portant sur des sujets d'ordre pratique, social et professionnel. Elle peut rédiger avec une facilité raisonnable des comptes rendus, des résumés et de courts documents sur les actualités et des domaines d'intérêts particuliers ou encore sur des sujets spécialisés. Elle maîtrise assez bien la structure, le vocabulaire général et l'orthographe pour transmettre un message avec exactitude, mais le style est de toute évidence celui d'un rédacteur étranger. La ponctuation est généralement bien maîtrisée, de même que la grammaire, mais la personne commet parfois des erreurs quant elle utilise des structures complexes, et elle se trompe dans la concordance des temps. Elle maîtrise uniformément les phrases composées, et les liens entre les idées sont toujours clairs.
2+Compétence de travail limitée, plusLa personne fait preuve d'une capacité de rédiger avec une certaine précision et assez de détails sur la plupart des sujets courants. Elle peut rédiger sur des sujets concrets qui touchent des intérêts et des champs de compétence particuliers. Elle montre parfois une fluidité et une facilité d'expression surprenantes, mais dans des moments de stress ou quand elle doit se dépêcher, la qualité de son expression écrite peut s'en ressentir. Elle maîtrise les structures de base et certaines structures complexes (passif, propositions relatives, ordre des mots, concordance des temps et séquence). Ses compétences sont généralement solides en grammaire ou en vocabulaire, mais pas sur les deux plans. La personne maîtrise normalement le vocabulaire général et certains termes de travail qu'elle utilise mal parfois. Elle peut s'occuper de la plupart de la correspondance sociale et prendre des notes assez exactes durant un exposé oral.
2Compétence de travail limitéeLa personne peut rédiger de la correspondance sociale de routine ainsi que la plupart des documents nécessaires à des fins professionnelles. Elle peut rédiger seulement sur des sujets limités touchant à des événements courants ou des situations au quotidien. Elle possède une bonne maîtrise de la morphologie et des structures syntaxiques de base. Elle se sert d'un nombre limité d'éléments assurant la cohésion du discours mais fait encore des fautes courantes d'orthographe, de ponctuation et de construction (pluriel, articles, genre, prépositions, temps de verbe et négation).
1+Compétence élémentaire, plusLa personne peut répondre à des besoins essentiels et à des exigences sociales limitées. Elle rédige de courts paragraphes liés à la plupart des besoins essentiels (nourriture, logement, transport, environs immédiats et situations réelles) ou à des exigences sociales limitées (mots de bienvenue, renseignements personnels, préférences au quotidien, etc.). Elle peut s'exprimer avec une certaine exactitude au présent et au futur et connaît quelques verbes au passé, mais elle commet parfois des erreurs. Elle maîtrise un vocabulaire élémentaire et des structures syntaxiques de base seulement. Elle ne peut pas en général utiliser les éléments fondamentaux qui assurent la cohésion du discours (constructions relatives, pronoms objets et charnières).
1Compétence élémentaireLa personne peut répondre à des besoins pratiques limités. Elle est capable d'écrire des phrases simples en commettant des fautes d'orthographe, de grammaire et de ponctuation. Elle rédige généralement en mettant bout à bout des phrases ou des parties de phrases sans grande organisation logique. À ce niveau, elle peut rédiger des messages téléphoniques simples, des excuses, des notes à des collègues et à des amis.
0+Compétence fondée sur la mémoireLa personne écrit au moyen de formules mémorisées et d'expressions toutes préparées. Elle peut écrire 50 des caractères les plus courants, écrire des dates, son nom, sa nationalité, son adresse et quelques courtes phrases. L'orthographe et la graphie peuvent comporter des erreurs.
0Aucune compétence fonctionnelleAucune compétence.

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2011-11-30