Gaza Flotilla 2011 

Important Consular Information for Canadians

The Government of Canada takes the safety and security of Canadians abroad very seriously and endeavours to provide Canadian travellers the best possible advice so that they can take informed decisions.

The security situation along the coast of Gaza remains volatile. Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada (DFATD) advises against all travel to the Gaza Strip. See full travel report.

Minister Baird issued a statement on November 2, 2011 with the hope of dissuading Canadians from participating in a flotilla bound for the Gaza Strip. The Canadian government provides consular assistance within its mandate and its ability to do so.

The border around the Gaza Strip is under the control of Israeli and Egyptian authorities. Canadians who break the laws of another country are subject to the judicial system of that country. DFAIT can neither offer protection from the consequences of such actions nor override the decisions of local authorities.

The decision to travel is the sole responsibility of the traveller, and travellers are responsible for their own personal safety. It is strongly recommended that Canadians who choose to travel to the Gaza Strip register with the Registration of Canadians Abroad service prior to leaving. 

Assistance for Canadians in Israel, the West Bank and the Gaza Strip

Quick Links

Subscribe

La flottille de Gaza - 2011

Information consulaire importante pour les Canadiens

Le gouvernement du Canada prend très au sérieux la question de la sécurité des Canadiens à l'étranger et s'emploie à fournir aux voyageurs canadiens des conseils aussi utiles que possible afin qu'ils puissent prendre des décisions éclairées.

La situation sécuritaire le long de la côte de Gaza reste instable. Ministère des affaires étrangères, du commerce et du développement recommande d'éviter tout voyage dans la bande de Gaza. Veuillez consulter les conseils aux voyageurs.

Le 2 novembre 2011, le ministre Baird a fait une déclaration dans l’espoir de dissuader les Canadiens de prendre part à une flottille qui se dirige vers la bande de Gaza. Le gouvernement canadien offre une aide consulaire en vertu de son mandat et dans la mesure où il peut le faire.

La frontière entourant la bande de Gaza est contrôlée par Israël et par l'Égypte. Les Canadiens qui enfreignent les lois d'un pays étranger sont assujettis au système judiciaire de ce pays. Le MAECD ne peut protéger qui que ce soit contre les conséquences de tels gestes, ni invalider les décisions des autorités locales.

La décision de voyager relève de la responsabilité du voyageur et c'est à lui qu'il incombe de veiller à sa sécurité personnelle. Si vous décidez de vous rendre à Gaza, nous vous conseillons fortement de vous inscrire au service d'Inscription des Canadiens à l'étranger avant votre départ.

Assistance pour des Canadiens en Israël, la Cisjordanie et la bande de Gaza

Liens connexes

Abonnez-vous