Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Canada's Response to the Situation in Libya

The Government of Canada has lifted the unilateral economic sanctions it imposed on Libya on February 27, 2011. Now that the Gaddafi regime no longer holds power, the Government of Canada has repealed the imposed economic sanctions in support of the Libyan people and the new governing authorities.

Prime Minister Stephen Harper announced that Canada has lifted its sanctions in Paris, France on Thursday September 1, 2011.

Canada’s Role in Libya

Canada's military mission has not changed. Its armed forces are playing a leading role preventing attacks and the threat of attacks against civilians. This intervention is in response to United Nations Security Council Resolution 1973, which calls for the use of all necessary means to protect civilians in Libya.

Operation MOBILE is the Canadian Forces’ participation in Operation UNIFIED PROTECTOR, the NATO-led effort to impose on Libya the arms embargo and no-fly zone authorized in U.N. Security Council Resolution 1973 of 17 March 2011, which called on the international community to protect civilians and civilian-populated areas in Libya. Op UNIFIED PROTECTOR was launched on 22 March as a NATO maritime mission enforcing the arms embargo on Libya originally described in Resolution 1970 of 26 February 2011 and strengthened in Resolution 1973. Canada is one of the original members of the coalition engaged in Op UNIFIED PROTECTOR.

Canada interacts with the National Transitional Council (NTC) as the Libyan government until Libyans select for themselves democratic representatives.

Background

The unanimous passing of United Nations Security Council Resolutions 1970 and 1973 sent a very clear message: the murder of its own citizens by the Libyan regime, and the gross violations of the population's human rights will not be tolerated by the international community, and will carry serious consequences.

On September 16, 2011, the United Nations Security Council, acting under Chapter VII of the Charter of the United Nations, adopted Resolution 2009 (2011), which amended the sanctions in place against Libya by easing the arms embargo and partially lifting the assets freeze. These changes were implemented in Canada in the form of amendments to the existing Regulations.

Canada had therefore implemented the following binding sanctions contained in the UNSC Resolution:

  • An arms embargo requiring all states to prevent the sale or supply of arms into Libya, or the export of arms from Libya;
  • The inspection of cargo going into Libya;
  • A travel ban on Muammar Qadhafi and 15 individuals closely associated with him; and
  • An asset freeze against Muammar Qadhafi and members of his family.

Travel

Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada advises against all travel to Libya, except for Tripoli and the Benghazi area, for which we advise against non-essential travel.

Any friends and relatives in Canada seeking information on Canadian citizens believed to be in Libya should contact DFAIT's Emergency Operations Centre at by calling toll-free, 1-800-387-3124 or by sending an email to sos@international.gc.ca.

Canadian citizens in Libya requiring consular assistance should contact the Emergency Operations Centre in Ottawa at 00-1-613-996-8885 or send an email to sos@international.gc.ca.

News Releases:

Travel Resources and Warnings

Information

Photo Gallery

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Réponse du Canada à la situation en Libye

Le gouvernement du Canada a levé les mesures imposées unilatéralement contre la Libye le 27 février, 2011. Maintenant que le régime Qadhafi n’est plus en pouvoir, le gouvernement du Canada a abrogé les mesures imposées en support du peuple de la Libye et des nouvelles autorités.

Le premier ministre Stephen Harper a annoncé que le Canada a levé les sanctions à Paris, France le 1er septembre, 2011.

Le rôle du Canada en Libye

La mission militaire du Canada reste inchangée. Nos forces armées jouent un rôle de premier plan dans la lutte pour contrer les attaques et les menaces d’attaque à l’encontre de civils. Cette intervention s'inscrit dans la foulée de la résolution 1973 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, qui demande que tous les moyens nécessaires soient utilisés pour protéger la population civile en Libye

L’opération Mobile constitue la participation des Forces canadiennes à l’opération Unified Protector, l’effort dirigé par l’OTAN visant à imposer à la Libye l’embargo sur les armes et la zone d’exclusion aérienne autorisés par la résolution 1973 du Conseil de sécurité de l’ONU, adoptée le 17 mars 2011, qui demandait à la communauté internationale de protéger les civils et les secteurs comportant une population civile en Libye.

Le Canada interagit avec le Conseil national de transition (CNT) à titre de gouvernement libyen jusqu'à ce que les Libyens sélectionnent eux-mêmes leurs représentants démocratiques.

Contexte

L'adoption unanime des résolutions 1970 et 1973 par le Conseil de sécurité envoie un message clair : la communauté internationale ne tolérera pas que le régime libyen tue ses propres citoyens et viole de façon flagrante les droits de sa population et assurera que ces exactions aient des conséquences graves.

Le 16 septembre 2011, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, en vertu du chapitre VII de la Charte des Nations Unies, a adopté la résolution 2009 (2011), qui a modifié les sanctions en place contre la Libye en assouplissant l'embargo sur les armes et en levant partiellement le gel des avoirs. Ces changements ont été mis en œuvre au Canada sous la forme d'amendements aux règlements existants.

Le Canada a donc mis en application les sanctions obligatoires suivantes, prévues dans la Résolution 1970 :

  • Un embargo sur les armes exigeant de tous les États qu'ils empêchent la fourniture ou la vente d'armes à la Libye ou l'exportation d'armes par la Libye;
  • L'inspection de tout fret destiné à la Libye;
  • L'interdiction de voyager pour Mouammar Kadhafi et 15 de ses proches;
  • Le gel des biens de Mouammar Kadhafi et des membres de sa famille.

Voyager

Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada recommande d'éviter tout voyage en Libye, à l’exception de Tripoli et du secteur de Benghazi, pour lesquels nous recommandons d’éviter tout voyage non essentiel.

Les amis et les parents qui sont au Canada et qui veulent se renseigner sur des citoyens canadiens qui se trouvent en Libye devraient communiquer avec le Centre des opérations d’urgence du MAECI en appelant, sans frais, le 1-800-387-3124, ou en envoyant un courriel à sos@international.gc.ca.

Tout citoyen canadien se trouvant en Libye et ayant besoin d’une assistance consulaire devrait communiquer avec le Centre des opérations d’urgence à Ottawa au 00-1-613-996-8885, ou encore envoyer un courriel à sos@international.gc.ca pour obtenir de l’aide.

Communiqués

Conseils aux voyageurs et Avertissements

Information

Galerie de photos