Backgrounder - Canadian Humanitarian and Development Assistance in Iraq

Canada remains very concerned by the escalating humanitarian and security situation in Iraq. To-date, 1.8 million Iraqi children, women and men, including Yezidis and Christians, have been displaced by the so-called Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant (ISIL), which has been carrying out a murderous rampage in Iraq, seizing territory and systematically killing civilians.

After months of clashes and isolation, diminishing supplies of food, essential items and fuel, as well as irregular access to electricity and water, are becoming growing concerns. Health care services have been disrupted and communication channels cut in some areas.

Canada is a top tier humanitarian donor to Iraq and has committed a total of $36.9 million in humanitarian assistance since the beginning of the year for Iraqis affected by the conflict ($27.4 million) and Syrian refugees ($9.5 million), through UN humanitarian agencies, the International Committee of the Red Cross and NGO partners. This assistance is helping meet the urgent health, shelter, protection, education and food needs of thousands of civilians.

Canada’s total assistance of $36.9 million includes $8 million in assistance to UNICEF—announced on October 17, 2014, by Minister Paradis—in support of the No Lost Generation (NLG) initiative in Iraq, which addresses the education and protection needs of conflict-affected children in Iraq.

The NLG initiative will reach as many as 200,000 at-risk children in Iraq, and will focus on education in emergencies, child protection and social cohesion by helping to:

Education in emergencies

  • establish fully equipped prefabricated schools;
  • train teachers to deliver quality education in emergency situations, including conflict-sensitive education, protection and psychosocial support, teaching in emergency contexts and classroom management;
  • provide catch-up classes and other learning opportunities; and
  • provide basic learning supplies to vulnerable children.

Child protection

  • establish child-friendly spaces in camps for internally displaced persons;
  • establish child-protection camp committees, and train committee members and protection staff to mobilize camp communities against neglect, violence, abuse and exploitation affecting the safety and well-being of children, and carry out child-protection interventions in camps;
  • establish child helplines, identify cases of unaccompanied and separated children and provide them with needed assistance and services, trace unaccompanied and separated children and reunify them with their families, and provide unaccompanied and separated children with temporary care through foster care arrangements; and
  • train social workers to deliver timely and appropriate social services to identified vulnerable children and their families.

Social cohesion

  • implement sport, art, culture and other collective, conflict-sensitive mini-projects to promote social cohesion;
  • implement micro-projects with a focus on social cohesion designed and implemented by adolescent, youth and community groups;
  • establish an outreach program that uses social media, community events and household visits to maintain engagement with and participation of communities in the project;
  • facilitate monthly intercommunity child-focused debates; and
  • assist identified youth leaders to create a network for peer support and education.

Canada’s assistance also includes $7 million in humanitarian assistance—announced on September 4, 2014, by Foreign Affairs Minister John Baird on behalf of Minister Paradis— for the provision of:

  • Kits with non-food items, including mattresses, plastic sheeting, hygiene kits, blankets, solar lamps and cooking sets;
  • Access to safe drinking water, sanitation facilities and education to raise awareness on hygiene and water conservation;
  • Support to meet imminent additional winterization needs of internally displaced families;
  • Additional support to meet emergency survival needs of internally displaced people, including medicines, clothing and money to pay for rental housing;
  • Primary health-care services with integrated mental-health programming provided at camp-based clinics and mobile medical units;
  • Mental-health and community-outreach services; and
  • Essential medical commodities to existing health facilities.

Additionally, it includes $5 million announced by Minister Paradis on August 10, 2014, allocated to four experienced humanitarian partners active on the ground:

  • Development and Peace: $1,000,000;
  • International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC): $1,750,000;
  • Save the Children Canada: $1,250,000; and
  • Mercy Corps: $1,000,000.

Canada maintains an emergency stockpile, managed by the Canadian Red Cross. The stockpile is comprised of relief items designed to meet the basic needs of crisis-affected populations, including tents, blankets, kitchen sets, hygiene kits, and jerry cans. An initial deployment of relief supplies from Canada’s emergency stockpile to address the immediate needs of conflict-affected people in northern Iraq was announced by Minister Paradis on August 29, 2014.

In June 2014, Iraq was added to the list of Canada’s development country partners.

Document d’information - Aide humanitaire et au développement du Canada en Iraq

Le Canada demeure très préoccupé par la dégradation des conditions humanitaires et sécuritaires en Iraq. À ce jour, 1,8 million d’enfants, de femmes et d’hommes iraquiens, dont des yézidis et des chrétiens, ont été déplacés par le soi-disant État islamique en Iraq et au Levant (EIIL), qui mène une campagne meurtrière en Iraq, s’emparant du territoire et tuant systématiquement les civils.

Après des mois d’affrontements et d’isolement des populations, la baisse des réserves de vivres, d’articles essentiels et de carburant et l’accès sporadique à l’électricité et à l’eau sont de plus en plus préoccupants. Les services de soins de santé ont été perturbés et les canaux de communication coupés dans certaines régions.

Le Canada est un important donateur d’aide humanitaire à l’Iraq. Depuis le début de l’année, il s’est engagé à verser un total de 36,9 millions de dollars aux Iraquiens touchés par le conflit (27,4 millions de dollars) et aux réfugiés syriens (9,5 millions de dollars), par l’intermédiaire d’organismes humanitaires de l’ONU, du Comité international de la Croix-Rouge et d’ONG partenaires. Cette aide contribue à répondre aux besoins urgents en matière de santé, d’abris, de protection, d’éducation et d’alimentation de milliers de civils.

Cette enveloppe d’aide du Canada au montant total de 36,9 millions de dollars comprend une contribution de 8 millions de dollars à l'initiative de l'UNICEF Non à une génération perdue en Iraq annoncée le 17 octobre 2014 par le ministre Paradis. Le but de cette initiative est de répondre aux besoins des enfants Iraquiens vulnérables en matière d'éducation et de protection.

L'initiative Non à une génération perdue aidera quelque 200 000 enfants à risque en Iraq et apportera une aide surtout en matière d'éducation en situation d'urgence, de protection des enfants et de cohésion sociale grâce aux moyens suivants :

Éducation en situation d'urgence

  • établir des écoles préfabriquées entièrement équipées;
  • former des enseignants à offrir une éducation de grande qualité en situation d'urgence, y compris en matière d'éducation qui tient compte des conflits, de protection et de soutien psychosocial, d'enseignement dans un contexte d'urgence et de gestion de classe;
  • fournir des cours de rattrapage et d'autres occasions d'apprentissage;
  • fournir du matériel d'apprentissage de base aux enfants vulnérables.

Protection des enfants

  • créer des endroits sûrs pour les enfants dans les camps pour personnes déplacées à l'intérieur du pays;
  • établir des comités de protection des enfants au sein des camps et former les membres de ces comités et le personnel de protection en vue de mobiliser les collectivités des camps dans la lutte contre la négligence, la violence, l'abus et l'exploitation touchant la sécurité et le bien-être des enfants, et mettre en œuvre des interventions visant à protéger les enfants dans les camps;
  • mettre en place des lignes de secours à l'intention des enfants; repérer les enfants non accompagnés et séparés de leur famille, leur fournir l'aide et les services dont ils ont besoin, puis les réunir à leur famille; et fournir à ces enfants des soins temporaires au moyen d'ententes d'accueil familial;
  • former les travailleurs sociaux à fournir des services sociaux appropriés et en temps opportun aux enfants vulnérables et à leur famille.

Cohésion sociale

  • mettre en œuvre de petits projets collectifs tenant compte des conflits, par exemple dans les domaines du sport, de l'art et de la culture, dans le but de promouvoir la cohésion sociale;
  • mettre sur pied des microprojets portant en particulier sur la cohésion sociale, conçus et mis en œuvre par des groupes d'adolescents, de jeunes et de membres de la collectivité;
  • établir un programme de sensibilisation qui comprend l'utilisation des médias sociaux, la tenue d'activités communautaires et des visites de ménages pour mobiliser les collectivités dans la mise en œuvre de projets et assurer leur participation à ces derniers;
  • faciliter des débats mensuels intercommunautaires portant sur les enfants;
  • aider les jeunes leaders à créer un réseau pour le soutien et l'éducation entre pairs.

L’enveloppe d’aide du Canada comprend aussi les 7 millions de dollars d’aide humanitaire annoncés le 4 septembre 2014 par le ministre des Affaires étrangères John Baird, au nom du ministre Paradis, en vue de fournir :

  • des articles non alimentaires, y compris des matelas, des bâches de plastique, des trousses d’hygiène, des couvertures, des lampes solaires et des ustensiles de cuisine;
  • un accès à l’eau potable, des installations sanitaires ainsi que des mesures de sensibilisation en matière d’hygiène et de conservation de l’eau;
  • un soutien pour répondre aux nouveaux besoins imminents des familles déplacées à l’approche de l’hiver;
  • un soutien additionnel pour répondre aux besoins de survie des personnes déplacées, y compris des médicaments, des vêtements et de l’argent pour un logement locatif;
  • des soins de santé primaires comportant un volet de santé mentale, offerts par des cliniques situées dans les camps et des unités médicales mobiles;
  • des services mobiles de santé mentale et de sensibilisation de la communauté;
  • un soutien aux installations de santé existantes sous la forme de fournitures médicales essentielles.

L’enveloppe comprend également la somme de 5 millions de dollars annoncée par le ministre Paradis le 10 août 2014 et répartie entre quatre partenaires humanitaires expérimentés actifs sur le terrain :

  • Développement et Paix : 1 000 000 $;
  • Comité international de la Croix-Rouge (CICR) : 1 750 000 $;
  • Aide à l’enfance Canada : 1 250 000 $;
  • Mercy Corps : 1 000 000 $.

Le Canada maintient une réserve de fournitures d’urgence qui est gérée par la Croix-Rouge canadienne. Cette réserve comprend des articles de secours pouvant répondre aux besoins essentiels des populations touchées par une crise, dont des tentes, des couvertures, des ustensiles de cuisine, des trousses d’hygiène et des jerrycans. Un déploiement initial de fournitures de secours provenant de la réserve d’urgence du Canada en vue de répondre aux besoins immédiats des personnes touchées par le conflit dans le nord de l’Iraq a été annoncé par le ministre Paradis le 29 août 2014.

En juin 2014, l’Iraq a été ajouté à la liste des pays en développement partenaires du Canada.