Canada’s response to the situation in Syria

Since the start of the Syrian uprising in March 2011, Canada has worked to support the Syrian people. Canada has been active in calling on the international community to come together and defend the rights of the Syrian people to determine its own future.

Canada has also contributed generously to the various international efforts to aid the Syrian people, including those living as refugees in neighbouring countries, support Syrian civil society and counter the threat posed by chemical weapons.

To date, Canada has committed more than $700 million in humanitarian, development and security assistance in response to the Syrian crisis. This support includes the following.

Humanitarian assistance

Since early 2011, the unrest in Syria has led more than 3.8 million Syrians to seek refuge in the nearby countries of Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon and Turkey, resulting in significant humanitarian needs. According to the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA), 12.2 million people inside Syria, including 7.6 million who are internally displaced, also need urgent help. It is estimated that more than 200,000 people have died in the ongoing conflict, with hundreds of thousands wounded.

Since January 2012, Canada has committed $403.5 million to international humanitarian assistance in response to the Syrian crisis. This amount includes the $50 million announced by Minister Paradis on January 7, 2015, for conflict-affected people in Syria and neighbouring countries, including Jordan, Lebanon and Turkey, and the $150 million announced by Prime Minister Stephen Harper on January 24, 2014, as well as prior commitments. This assistance is delivered through experienced humanitarian partners in response to urgent needs, and it is contributing to significant results on the ground.

Canada has also expanded its commitment to help Syrian refugees by resettling an additional 10,000 Syrians by the end of 2017, bringing to 11,300 the total number of Syrian refugees Canada has committed to resettling. Canada will work with the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees and private sponsors to resettle these Syrian refugees in Canadian communities. Visit Refugees and asylum for more information about Canada’s refugee protection programs.

Development projects

Canada has already committed $230.7 million to support development projects in the region to strengthen government services and infrastructure stressed by the influx of Syrian refugees, specifically in health, education and the delivery of basic services, and to address Jordan’s specific development challenges.

Security and Stability Initiatives

Canada has committed $67.2 million in security-related assistance to address the effects of the Syrian crisis, including $52.51 million for Jordan. These funds will help mitigate the threat of chemical weapons and other weapons and materials of mass destruction, assist Jordanian security forces in managing the non-humanitarian aspects of the influx of Syrian refugees and contribute to Jordan’s counterterrorism capacity. This support also includes $3.8 million in stabilization assistance to Syrian activists and civil society members in areas such as civil administration, accountability, independent media and secure communications.

Travel advice for Canadians in Syria

The Government of Canada advises against all travel to Syria, because of the ongoing conflict. Commercial means to leave Syria are extremely limited, and Canadians already there should leave as soon as it is safe to do so. It is strongly recommended that Canadians register with the Registration of Canadians Abroad service, and it is important that travel documents are kept up to date.

Many airlines, including Arab League carriers, have suspended their flights from Syria. Battles between Syrian and opposition armed forces have taken place in the vicinity of the airports in Damascus and Aleppo. These airports could be closed quickly, with little or no notice, and checkpoints may delay or impede access to the airport. It is advised to check with the airline on the status of a flight before travelling to the airport.

Canadians leaving Syria by land to Lebanon should transit through the border area as quickly as possible. Consult Travel Advice for Lebanon for up-to-date information.

Canadians who choose to remain in Syria despite this warning should limit their movements and keep abreast of the latest developments. Outbreaks of violence can occur with little or no notice.

Contact Information

(collect) 613-996-8885
1-800-606-5499

sos@international.gc.ca.

Assistance for Canadians in Syria

Embassy of Canada to Syria (Operations suspended - Canadians in Syria can obtain consular assistance from our Embassy in Lebanon)

Register here if you are a Canadian in Syria

Travel Report for Syria

Subscribe

News releases by email

Travel updates by email

Follow us on Twitter.com: @DFATDCanada

Media Centre

More Syria-related news from before 2014 at news.gc.ca

Réponse du Canada à la situation en Syrie

Depuis le début du soulèvement en Syrie, en mars 2011, le Canada s’emploie à aider le peuple syrien. Le Canada a appelé la communauté internationale à se mobiliser pour défendre le droit du peuple syrien à décider de son avenir.

Le Canada a également apporté une généreuse contribution aux divers efforts internationaux pour soutenir les Syriens, y compris les réfugiés dans les pays avoisinants, appuyer la société civile syrienne et contrer la menace que posent les armes chimiques

À ce jour, en réponse à la crise qui sévit en Syrie, le Canada s’est engagé à verser plus de 700 millions de dollars au titre de l’assistance humanitaire et de l’aide au développement et à la sécurité. Ce soutien comprend :

Aide humanitaire

Depuis le début de 2011, les troubles civils en Syrie ont poussé plus de 3,8 millions de Syriens à chercher refuge dans les pays avoisinants (en Égypte, en Iraq, en Jordanie, au Liban et en Turquie), ce qui a suscité des besoins d’aide humanitaire considérables. Selon le Bureau de la coordination des affaires humanitaires des Nations Unies, 12,2 millions de personnes en Syrie, dont 7,6 millions ont été déplacées à l’intérieur du pays, ont besoin d’une aide urgente. On estime à plus de 200 000 le nombre de personnes ayant perdu la vie dans le conflit actuel, et des centaines de milliers d’autres ont subi des blessures.

Depuis janvier 2012, le Canada s’est engagé à fournir 403,5 millions de dollars en aide humanitaire internationale en réponse à la crise en Syrie. Ce montant comprend la contribution supplémentaire de 50 millions de dollars annoncée par le ministre Paradis, le 7 janvier 2015, pour venir en aide aux personnes touchées par le conflit en Syrie et dans les pays voisins, dont la Jordanie, le Liban et la Turquie. Elle s’ajoute aux 150 millions de dollars annoncés le 24 janvier 2014 par le premier ministre Stephen Harper et à des engagements antérieurs. En réponse aux appels urgents, cette assistance est fournie par les partenaires humanitaires expérimentés et contribue à l’atteinte de résultats concrets sur le terrain.

Le Canada a également accru son engagement en ce qui concerne la réinstallation des réfugiés syriens. D’ici la fin de 2017, il vise à réinstaller 10 000 Syriens de plus, ce qui portera le nombre de réfugiés ainsi réinstallés à 11 300 personnes. Le Canada collaborera avec le Haut Commissariat des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés et des répondants privés afin de réinstaller ces réfugiés syriens dans les collectivités canadiennes. Prière de consulter la page sur les réfugiés et les demandes d’asile pour obtenir plus d’information sur les programmes canadiens de protection des réfugiés.

Projets de développement

Le Canada s’est déjà engagé à verser 230,7 millions de dollars à l’appui de projets de développement dans la région en vue d’améliorer les infrastructures et les services gouvernementaux surchargés par l’afflux de réfugiés syriens, plus particulièrement en ce qui a trait à la santé, à l’éducation et à la prestation de services essentiels, et de résoudre les problèmes de développement propres à la Jordanie.

Initiatives de sécurité et de stabilité

Le Canada s’est engagé à verser 67,2 millions de dollars pour apporter de l’aide liée à la sécurité afin de faire face aux répercussions de la crise en Syrie, dont 52,51 millions de dollars destinés à la Jordanie. Ces fonds serviront à atténuer la menace que constituent les stocks d’armes chimiques ainsi que les armes et matières de destruction massive, à aider les forces de sécurité jordaniennes dans leur gestion des aspects non humanitaires du flux de réfugiés syriens et à renforcer la capacité de lutte contre le terrorisme de la Jordanie. Ce montant comprend également une aide de 3,8 millions de dollars aux militants syriens et aux membres de la société civile syrienne pour appuyer leurs efforts de stabilisation dans divers domaines, dont l’administration civile, la responsabilisation, l’indépendance des médias et la sécurisation des communications.

Conseils aux voyageurs canadiens en Syrie

Le gouvernement du Canada recommande d’éviter tout voyage en Syrie en raison du conflit actuel. Les moyens de transport commerciaux permettant de quitter la Syrie sont extrêmement limités, et les Canadiens qui s’y trouvent déjà devraient quitter le pays dès qu’ils peuvent le faire en toute sécurité. Nous conseillons vivement aux Canadiens de s’inscrire auprès du service d’Inscription des Canadiens à l’étranger et de veiller à ce que leurs documents de voyage soient constamment à jour.

De nombreux transporteurs aériens, y compris ceux de pays de la Ligue arabe, ont interrompu leurs vols en partance de la Syrie. Des combats entre les forces armées syriennes et celles de l’opposition se sont déroulés à proximité des aéroports de Damas et d’Alep, lesquels pourraient être fermés subitement, sans guère de préavis. Des points de contrôle pourraient aussi retarder, voire empêcher l’accès aux aéroports. Nous recommandons aux voyageurs de communiquer avec leur compagnie aérienne pour vérifier l’état de leur vol avant de se rendre à l’aéroport.

Les Canadiens qui quittent la Syrie par voie terrestre en direction du Liban devraient traverser la région frontalière le plus rapidement possible. Prière de consulter les Conseils aux voyageurs pour le Liban pour obtenir l’information la plus récente.

Les citoyens canadiens qui décident de rester en Syrie malgré ces avertissements doivent limiter leurs déplacements et se tenir au courant de l’évolution de la situation. Des flambées de violence peuvent survenir à tout moment, sans guère de préavis.

Coordonnées

(collect) 613-996-8885
1-800-606-5499

sos@international.gc.ca.

Aide pour les Canadiens en Syrie

Ambassade du Canada en Syrie (Activité interrompue - les Canadiens en Syrie peuvent obtenir de l'aide consulaire auprès de l'Ambassade du Canada au Liban.)

Enregistrez-vous ici si vous êtes un Canadien en Syrie

Conseils aux voyageurs : Syrie

Abonnez-vous

Communiqués par courriel

Conseils aux voyageurs par courriel

Suivez-nous sur Twitter : @MAECDCanada

Media Centre