Canada's Response to the Situation in Ukraine

Canada is among the strongest international supporters of Ukraine’s efforts to restore stability and implement democratic and economic reforms. Together with our allies and partners, we continue to call on Russia to follow through on its Geneva commitments to de-escalate the crisis and call off its provocateurs. Ukraine’s sovereign territory must be respected and the Ukrainian people must be free to determine their own future.

In the face of ongoing Russian military aggression and illegal occupation, Canada has taken a number of steps to support the Ukrainian people as they work to restore political and economic stability, including imposing sanctions against those responsible for the ongoing crisis. Canada has also taken steps to enhance the readiness of NATO through a number of reassurance measures to reinforce the Alliance’s collective defense.

The Government of Canada is committed to supporting Ukraine during this important period of transition. Until Russia clearly demonstrates its respect for Ukraine's sovereignty and territorial integrity, Canada will continue to work with its allies and like-minded countries to apply pressure that will further isolate Russia economically and politically.

Travel Advice

While there is no nationwide advisory in effect for Ukraine, Canadians are advised to exercise a high degree of caution. Please be advised that regional advisories to avoid non-essential travel and avoid all travel are in place for certain areas. We strongly recommend that Canadians consult the Travel Advice for Ukraine for regular updates and register with the Registration of Canadians Abroad service.

Key Tweets on the situation in Ukraine (December)

Key Tweets on the situation in Ukraine (November)

Key Tweets on the situation in Ukraine (October)

Key Tweets on the situation in Ukraine (September)

Key Tweets on the situation in Ukraine (August)

Key Tweets on the situation in Ukraine (July)

Key Tweets on the situation in Ukraine (June)

Key Tweets on the situation in Ukraine (May)

Key Tweets on the situation in Ukraine (April)

Key Tweets on the situation in Ukraine (March)

Key Tweets on the situation in Ukraine (February)

More Information

Photo Gallery

Canada stands #UnitedForUkraine

Canada’s Ongoing Support for Ukraine – Timeline

Media Centre

La réponse du Canada à la situation en Ukraine

Le Canada est l’un des plus ardents défenseurs des efforts déployés par l’Ukraine pour rétablir la stabilité et mettre en œuvre des réformes démocratiques et économiques. De concert avec nos alliés et nos partenaires, nous continuons à demander à la Russie de respecter l’engagement pris à Genève de désamorcer la crise et de rappeler ses agents provocateurs. Le territoire souverain de l’Ukraine doit être respecté, et le peuple ukrainien doit être libre de décider de son avenir.

Face à l’agression militaire et à l’occupation illégale par la Russie, le Canada a pris un certain nombre de mesures pour soutenir le peuple ukrainien, à l’heure où celui-ci s’efforce de rétablir la stabilité politique et économique, y compris l’imposition de sanctions contre les responsables de la crise actuelle. Le Canada est aussi intervenu afin d’améliorer l’état de préparation de l’OTAN au moyen d’un certain nombre de mesures visant à rassurer les alliés afin de renforcer leur défense collective.

Le gouvernement du Canada est déterminé à apporter son soutien à l’Ukraine pendant cette période de transition importante. Aussi longtemps que la Russie ne manifestera pas clairement qu’elle respecte la souveraineté et l’intégrité territoriale de l’Ukraine, le Canada collaborera avec ses alliés et des pays aux vues similaires pour faire pression sur celle-ci et l’isoler encore plus sur les plans économique et politique.

Conseil aux voyageurs

Aucun avertissement n’est en vigueur pour l’ensemble de l’Ukraine, bien qu’on invite les Canadiens à faire preuve d’une grande prudence. Veuillez noter qu’il y a toutefois des avertissements en vigueur pour certaines régions, où nous recommandons d’éviter tout voyage ou encore tout voyage non essentiel. Nous recommandons fortement aux Canadiens de consulter les Conseils aux voyageurs pour l’Ukraine pour se tenir au courant de la situation et d’utiliser le service d’Inscription des Canadiens à l’étranger.

Tweets clés sur la situation en Ukraine (du 9 juin à date)

Tweets clés sur la situation en Ukraine (du 5 mai au 9 juin)

Tweets clés sur la situation en Ukraine (du 15 avril au 5 mai)

Tweets clés sur la situation en Ukraine (du 15 février au 15 avril)

Plus d'information

Coordonnées

Canadians en Ukraine :

380 (44) 590-3100
613-996-8885 (téléphonez à frais virés si disponible)

Canadiens au Canada :

613-996-8885
1-800-387-3124

sos@international.gc.ca

Aide pour les Canadiens en Ukraine

Ambassade du Canada en Ukraine

Inscription des canadiens à l'étranger

Avertissements et conseils aux voyageurs : Ukraine

Aide au développement

Le programme de développment en Ukraine

Les projets de développement en Ukraine

Connectez avec l'ambassade du Canada en Ukraine

Twitter : @AmbCanUkraine
Facebook : Ambassade du Canada en Ukraine

Abonnez-vous

Communiqués par courriel

Conseils aux voyageurs par courriel

Suivez-nous sur Twitter : @MAECDCanada

Galerie de photos

Centre des médias