Newfoundland & Labrador

Eastern Gateway to North America

Newfoundland and Labrador is strategically located on the east coast of Canada as the entrance to North America from Europe. With its rich natural resources, surplus of skilled labour and modern infrastructure to transport goods and services, Newfoundland and Labrador is an ideal place to do business. The province leads the country in GDP growth, thanks to its vast offshore petroleum reserves, massive hydro-electric power capacity, minerals, forestry and fishery resources, and fast-growing high-tech industries specializing in advanced ocean technologies, marine bio-technologies, defence and aerospace. Factor in business-friendly tax credits and incentives, and an outstanding quality of life, and it’s easy to understand why knowledgeable investors are choosing Newfoundland and Labrador as their new home.

Business Environment

  • Home to low cost business real estate and office space, and 17 industrial parks, all with easy access to water, energy and communications and transportation networks
  • Economic Diversification and Growth Enterprises program (EDGE) provides long term corporate tax holidays to new and expanding business locating in Newfoundland and Labrador - up to 15 years in most areas of the province
  • Tax credit programs such as the Business Attraction Fund, Oil & Gas Manufacturing and Services Export Development Fund, Direct Equity Tax Credit, Small Business Tax Credit, Scientific R&D Tax Credit and the Film and Video Tax Credit make this province perfect for new and expanding businesses

Workforce

  • Progressive labour environment and an education and training infrastructure that has resulted in a skilled and talented workforce
  • Surplus labour supply means incoming employers can find the right people - with the right skill sets - across a broad range of occupations
  • Some of the lowest labour costs in Canada

Other Key Advantages

  • Produces 12% of the value of all mineral production in Canada
  • At the forefront of the oil and gas production with 80% of eastern Canada's offshore petroleum resources located offshore, producing close to one-half of Canada's conventional light crude oil and accounting for 35% of the province’s annual GDP
  • Sophisticated ICT infrastructure, including the longest uninterrupted stretch of submarine fibre-optic cable in the world and separate hybrid cable network service
  • Year round deep sea port and 2 international airports make it a gateway for economic growth

Sector Strengths

  • Oil and Gas
  • Mining
  • Ocean Technology
  • Manufacturing
  • Information and Communications Technology
  • Aerospace

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Porte d'entrée de l'Est en Amérique du Nord

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador occupe un emplacement stratégique sur la côte Est du Canada, en tant que porte d’entrée de l’Europe sur l’Amérique du Nord. Avec ses ressources naturelles considérables, son abondante main-d’œuvre qualifiée et ses infrastructures modernes dans les domaines des services et du transport des marchandises, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador est un endroit idéal pour les affaires. La province affiche la plus forte croissance du PIB au Canada, grâce à ses nombreux atouts : vastes réserves marines de pétrole; gigantesques capacités hydroélectriques; ressources minérales, forestières et halieutiques; et secteurs de pointe en plein essor, spécialisés dans les technologies océanologiques avancées, les biotechnologies marines, la défense et l’aérospatiale. Ajoutez à cela une qualité de vie exceptionnelle ainsi que des crédits d’impôt et des mesures d’encouragement favorables aux entreprises, et l’on comprend aisément pourquoi les investisseurs avisés choisissent de s’implanter à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

Environnement d’affaires

  • Faible coût de l’immobilier commercial et des locaux à bureaux, et 17 parcs industriels dotés d’un accès pratique aux voies maritimes et aux réseaux d’énergie, de communications et de transport
  • Programme EDGE (Economic Diversification and Growth Enterprises) offrant aux entreprises en démarrage et en expansion qui s’installent à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador un long congé fiscal pouvant aller jusqu’à quinze ans dans la plupart des régions de la province
  • Programmes de crédits d’impôt, notamment pour la prise de participations directes, les petites entreprises, la R-D scientifique et la production cinématographique et vidéographique, et divers fonds, comme le Business Attraction Fund (fonds pour l’attraction des entreprises) et le Oil & Gas Manufacturing and Services Export Development Fund (fonds pour l’expansion des exportations de matériel et de services pétroliers et gaziers), qui font de la province un lieu idéal pour les entreprises en démarrage et en expansion

Main-d’œuvre

  • Milieu de travail progressiste, et infrastructure d’éducation et de formation ayant produit une main-d’œuvre talentueuse et qualifiée
  • L’offre de travailleurs excédentaire fait en sorte que les employeurs peuvent trouver les bonnes personnes, possédant les compétences requises, dans un vaste éventail de professions
  • Coûts de la main-d’œuvre parmi les moins élevés au Canada

Autres avantages clés

  • À l’origine de 12 % (en valeur) de toute la production minérale au Canada
  • Parmi les principaux producteurs de pétrole et de gaz : la province compte 80 % des ressources pétrolières en mer du Canada et produit près de la moitié du pétrole brut léger classique du Canada. Le secteur pétrolier et gazier représente 35 % du PIB annuel provincial
  • Infrastructure de TIC perfectionnée, comportant le plus long câble continu à fibres optiques sous-marin du monde et un service de réseau distinct de câbles hydrides
  • Son port en eaux profondes ouvert toute l’année et ses deux aéroports internationaux font de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador un lieu propice à la croissance économique

Forces sectorielles

  • Pétrole et gaz
  • Exploitation minière
  • Technologies océaniques
  • Fabrication
  • Technologies de l’information et des communications
  • Aérospatiale et défense