Fredericton: Smart City

City Profile

Fredericton is the capital city of the province of New Brunswick, Canada
Population: 110,983

  • Startup Capital of Canada (Startup Canada 2016 Awards) with supportive entrepreneurial ecosystem to fuel business
  • One of the World's Top 7 Intelligent Communities (2008 and 2009 Intelligent Community Forum)
  • Most Cost Competitive location in Canada (KPMG 2016 Competitive Alternatives report)

Key Advantages

  • Home to the University of New Brunswick, Canada’s Most Entrepreneurial University (Startup Canada), and
  • 4 universities and 7 training colleges
  • 4th most educated population in Canada
  • Canada’s most loyal workforce, with average job tenure of 9.4 years
  • A natural Innovation District with 60+ research & development organizations found within a 2km radius
  • A digital product development living lab that sparks innovation. Private sector leveraging research expertise and partnering with in-market experts acting as technology first-adopters
  • Located in GMT -4.0, North America’s most convenient time zone for simultaneously serving both coasts of North America, South America and Europe
  • An envious lifestyle with end-to-end commutes averaging 20 minutes, and an abundance of outdoor activities including 88km of paved trails, 7 skating rinks, 8 golf courses, and a ski/snowboard hill

Sector Strengths

Information Technology

Fredericton’s ICT business and research community are key drivers of the economy. Fredericton operates its own not-for-profit ultra high-speed gigabit fibre network, GO FRED, with the best value commercial internet connectivity in Canada. Many of the world’s best and brightest are using Fredericton as their launch pad for developing, testing, and marketing innovative ICT technologies, including technology giants like Siemens and IBM. Subsectors include:

  • Cybersecurity
  • Big Data
  • GPS & Avionics

Biotechnology

Fredericton is the biotechnology nerve-centre of the province with the most diverse biomass in Canada and a long history of natural resource biotechnology innovation. Fredericton offers some of the lowest biotech business costs in the G7, impressive academic and private-sector research capacity, and a rich array of privately-held forests, waterways, coastlines, and agricultural lands. Subsectors include:

  • Agriculture
  • Marine Biotechnology
  • MedTech
  • Forestry

Engineering

Home to one of the largest number of engineers per capita in Canada, Fredericton’s 112 engineering firms consistently make their mark outside New Brunswick’s borders. Fredericton’s 160-year tradition of engineering innovation is bolstered by city’s engineering-related academic research chairs and organizations, private-sector research facilities, and the University of New Brunswick’s Faculty of Engineering—Canada’s oldest engineering school. Subsectors include:

  • Energy
  • Environmental
  • Bio-medical

Natural Resources

Blessed with a more diverse biomass than any other province in Canada, New Brunswick’s natural resource sector and associated industries employ over 30,000 people and contribute approximately $600M to Fredericton’s GDP. More than 350 engineering, ICT, biotechnology, environmental, and advanced manufacturing companies in the Fredericton region keep the natural resources sector globally competitive— one reason why Fredericton was named one of “Canada’s Resource Cities” by the Canadian Chamber of Commerce. Current and planned natural resource investments for the next 10 years in New Brunswick total $6 billion. Subsectors include:

  • Forestry
  • Mining
  • Agri-technology
  • Oil & Gas

Connect with Fredericton

Fredericton, une ville intelligente

Profil de la ville

Fredericton est la capitale de la province du Nouveau-Brunswick au Canada
Population : 110 983 habitants

  • Capitale canadienne des jeunes entreprises (Prix Startup Canada 2016) grâce à son écosystème d’entreprises favorable aux affaires
  • Une des sept premières collectivités intelligentes au monde (Intelligent Community Forum, 2008 et 2009)
  • Destination commerciale la plus avantageuse sur le plan des coûts d’entreprise (rapport Choix concurrentiels, édition 2016, de KPMG)

Principaux avantages

  • La ville abrite l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick, université la plus axée sur l’entrepreneuriat au Canada (Startup Canada)
  • Quatre autres universités et sept collèges de formation
  • Sa population se classe au quatrième rang au Canada quant au niveau de scolarité.
  • La main-d’œuvre la plus fidèle au Canada : durée d’emploi moyenne de 9,4 ans
  • Un district naturel de l’innovation qui regroupe plus de 60 organismes de recherche et développement dans un rayon de 2 km
  • Un laboratoire de développement de produits numériques qui stimule l’innovation. Le secteur privé tire parti de l’expertise en recherche et s’associe à des experts du marché local qui deviennent ainsi les premiers utilisateurs de nouvelles technologies
  • Situé dans le fuseau horaire de Greenwich moins 4; ce fuseau est le plus commode de l’Amérique du Nord pour desservir à la fois les deux côtes de l’Amérique du Nord, l’Amérique du Sud et l’Europe
  • Un style de vie enviable : des déplacements quotidiens d’une durée moyenne de 20 minutes et de nombreuses activités de plein air (88 km de sentiers pavés, 7 patinoires, 8 terrains de golf et une pente de ski et de planche à neige)

Principaux secteurs d’activité

Technologie de l’information

Les entreprises dans le domaine des technologies de l’information et des communications (TIC) et la communauté de la recherche de Fredericton sont d’importants moteurs de l’économie. Fredericton exploite, sans but lucratif, son propre réseau à fibres optiques ultra haute vitesse, GoFred, qui offre la meilleure connectivité Internet commerciale au Canada. Plusieurs des meilleurs et des plus brillants au monde utilisent Fredericton comme rampe de lancement pour le développement, le test et le marketing de TIC innovatrices, y compris des géants technologiques comme Siemens et IBM. Les principaux sous-secteurs sont:

  • Cybersécurité
  • Mégadonnées
  • GPS et avionique

Biotechnologie

Fredericton est le centre névralgique de la biotechnologie de la province, qui possède la biomasse la plus diversifiée au Canada et une longue histoire d’innovation en biotechnologie des ressources naturelles. Fredericton offre aux entreprises en biotechnologie des coûts opérationnels parmi les plus bas du G7, une impressionnante capacité de recherche universitaire dans le secteur privé et une grande diversité de forêts privées, de cours d’eau, de zones littorales et de terres agricoles. Les principaux sous-secteurs sont :

  • Agriculture
  • Biotechnologie marine
  • Technologie médicale
  • Foresterie

Ingénierie

La population de Fredericton compte l’un des plus grands ratios d’ingénieurs par habitant au Canada. Les 112 firmes d’ingénierie de Fredericton font régulièrement leur marque à l’extérieur des frontières du Nouveau-Brunswick. Depuis 160 ans, à Fredericton, l’innovation en ingénierie est soutenue par des organismes et des chaires de recherche universitaire en génie, des établissements de recherche du secteur privé et la Faculté de génie de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick – la plus ancienne école d’ingénieurs du Canada.  Les principaux sous-secteurs sont :

  • Énergie
  • Environnement
  • Biomédical

Ressources naturelles

Profitant d’une biomasse plus diversifiée que dans toute autre province du Canada, le secteur des ressources naturelles et les industries connexes du Nouveau-Brunswick emploient plus de 30 000 personnes et représentent environ 600 millions de dollars du PIB de Fredericton. Plus de 350 entreprises des secteurs de l’ingénierie, des TIC, de la biotechnologie, de l’environnement et de la fabrication de pointe dans la région de Fredericton maintiennent le secteur des ressources naturelles concurrentiel à l’échelle mondiale – c’est l’une des raisons pour lesquelles la Chambre de commerce du Canada a désigné Fredericton comme l’une des « villes ressources canadiennes » (en anglais). Les investissements actuels et prévus dans les ressources naturelles au Nouveau-Brunswick au cours des 10 prochaines années, totalisent 6 milliards de dollars. Les principaux sous-secteurs sont:

  • Foresterie
  • Exploitation minière
  • Technologie agricole
  • Pétrole et gaz naturel

Créez des liens avec Fredericton

Twitter@IgniteFredNB
(disponible en anglais seulement)