Montréal

Cosmopolitan and Cost Effective

Quick Facts
Province: Québec
Population: 3.6 million 3,75 million (1st Quarter 2009 – Conference Board of Canada)

Creative, multilingual and festive, Montréal is the cultural heart of Canada and an exciting place to do business. For investors seeking both substance and style, the city is renowned for hard work as much as hard play. Montreal’s Gross Domestic Product of $121 billion is nearly half of provincial GDP. Québec’s largest city boasts world-class industry clusters, 11 institutions of higher learning, a well-connected, well-educated and stable work force and exceptionally competitive costs.

Key Advantages

  • Montréal Stock Exchange trading volume increased 41.3% in 2006 over 2005
  • At the forefront in generating patents and investing in university research — investments were up by 41.4% in 2005 from the year before
  • Home to one of the world's leading clusters in life sciences, with the largest concentration of biotech R&D in Canada
  • Served by two airports: Mirabel and Montréal-Trudeau providing direct connections to more than 150 domestic and international destinations in North America, Europe and Asia; the Montréal-Trudeau airport is less than 20 minutes from downtown
  • One of the three world-hubs for aerospace—more than 20 industry leaders and suppliers who are responsible for 70% of Canadian R & D in aerospace and about 60% of Canadian sales in this advanced manufacturing sector
  • Globally recognized universities including McGill (among top 25 in the world), Concordia, Université de Montréal and Université de Québec à Montréal — Concordia University is home to the internationally renowned Institute for Aerospace Design and Innovation and the Center for Studies in Behavioral Neurobiology
  • Port of Montréal is one of the busiest inland ports in the world and a key transfer point for transatlantic cargo at the doorstep of North America’s industrial heartland, offering year-round the fastest, most direct and most economical access to major US markets
  • United Nations city, through the presence of the International Civil Aviation Organization, a UN agency
  • Host to more than 40 annual festivals, including international film and jazz festivals, attracting 2 million visitors each year

Sector Strengths

  • Aerospace
  • Life Sciences
  • Information and Communications Technologies
  • Manufacturing
  • Agri-food

Montréal

Cosmopolite et performante

Fiche signalétique
Province : Québec
Population : 3,6 millions d’habitants – 3,75 millions d’habitants (1er trimestre 2009 – Conference Board du Canada)

Créative, multilingue et animée, la ville de Montréal est le cœur des activités culturelles du Canada et un lieu fascinant où faire des affaires. Pour les investisseurs sensibles à la fois au fond et à la forme, Montréal est réputée comme étant un endroit où l’on sait concilier travail sérieux et joie de vivre. Le produit intérieur brut de 121 milliards de dollars de la ville représente presque la moitié de celui de la province. La plus grande ville du Québec s’enorgueillit de ses grappes industrielles de calibre mondial, de ses 11 établissements d’enseignement supérieur, de sa main-d’œuvre branchée, instruite et stable et de ses coûts exceptionnellement concurrentiels.

Principaux avantages

  • Le volume de transactions de la Bourse de Montréal a augmenté de 41,3 % entre 2005 et 2006.
  • À l’avant-garde de la création de brevets et de l’investissement dans la recherche universitaire : la valeur des investissements a augmenté de 41,4 % en 2005 par rapport à l’année précédente.
  • Lieu d’implantation de l’une des plus importantes grappes de sciences de la vie dans le monde, Montréal affiche la plus forte concentration de R-D en biotechnologie au Canada.
  • La ville est desservie par deux aéroports : Mirabel et Montréal-Trudeau, avec des liaisons directes vers plus de 150 destinations intérieures et internationales en Amérique du Nord, en Europe et en Asie. L’aéroport Montréal-Trudeau est à moins de 20 minutes du centre-ville.
  • L’un des trois centres mondiaux de l’aérospatiale – plus de 20 maîtres d’œuvre et d’équipementiers responsables de 70 % de toute la R D faite au Canada en aérospatiale et d’environ 60 % des ventes canadiennes réalisées dans ce secteur de haute technologie.
  • Des universités reconnues sur le plan mondial dont l’Université McGill (parmi les 25 meilleures du monde), l’Université Concordia, l’Université de Montréal et l’Université du Québec à Montréal. L’Université Concordia abrite l’Institute for Aerospace Design and Innovation et le Groupe de recherche en neurobiologie comportementale, tous deux de renommée internationale.
  • Le Port de Montréal est l’un des ports intérieurs les plus achalandés du monde et un point de transbordement clé du fret transatlantique situé tout près du centre industriel de l’Amérique du Nord. Il offre toute l’année l’accès le plus rapide, le plus direct et le plus économique aux grands marchés américains.
  • Montréal est une cité des Nations Unies en raison de la présence de l’Organisation de l’aviation civile internationale (OACI), un organisme de l’ONU.
  • La ville hôte de plus de 40 festivals annuels dont un festival du film et le Festival international de jazz. Les festivals attirent chaque année plus de deux millions de visiteurs.

Principaux secteurs d’activités

  • Aérospatiale
  • Sciences de la vie
  • Technologies de l’information et des communications
  • Fabrication
  • Agroalimentaire