Advantages

The Government of Yukon spends more per capita than any other Canadian jurisdiction on direct financial incentives for exploration in the mining industry. The Government of Yukon also dedicates a percentage of its total budget to direct exploration incentive and actively promotes its abundant mineral wealth to world markets. This support extends to Yukon’s untapped oil and gas reserves that boast an estimated 17 trillion cubic feet of natural gas and 700 million barrels of oil.

Small enterprise ventures continue to exist in many forms and provide a solid supplement to the economy. Yukon’s economy includes over 3,000 registered businesses, which translates into roughly one business per 10 Yukoners. The highly entrepreneurial economy is filled with independent business owners and often larger industries that have numerous smaller active operators, such as, specialized construction companies, independent exploration companies and placer mines.

Yukon boasts an extensive network of all-season roads and a robust airport system. It has a sole cable-delivered broadband network that provides high-speed internet to Yukon communities, mobile access and a telecommunications delivery system that ensures online access to the majority of Yukoners. Consequently, Yukon businesses are able to effectively connect with partners around the globe.

Yukon has a modern economy grown from its traditional roots and though mining and tourism remain traditional economic pillars of Yukon, a number of emerging sectors are fuelling the growth in Yukon’s economy. Long-known for rich natural resources and well-developed infrastructure in the North, Yukon is increasingly recognized as an entrepreneurial, developmental, and innovation hot spot.

  • Real GDP growth of 1.3% to almost $2.3 billion, marking the tenth consecutive annual increase.
  • No governmental debt, no territorial sales tax and a very competitive tax regime.
  • Some of the lowest personal income tax rates in Canada and competitive corporate income tax rates.
  • Government spends a higher percentage of its annual budget on capital projects than any other Canadian jurisdiction.
  • Abundant and diverse energy resources including fossil fuel reserves, numerous lakes and rivers, windy and mountainous terrain, broad forest cover and sunny conditions.
  • Significant resources of gold, silver, copper, tungsten, nickel and coal as well as one of the world’s largest iron ore deposits and one of the world’s largest undeveloped lead-zinc district.
  • More than 4,800 km of all-weather roads and easy access to two ice-free ports closer to Asia than British Columbia.

Workforce

  • Yukon has one of the strongest performing labour markets in Canada.
  • Young workforce — almost 60% of the working population under the age of 45, slightly higher than the Canadian average.
  • One of the highest ratios of university degree holders in Canada, as well as a high rate of school completion and trade certification.
  • Workforce is skilled in natural resource industries with expertise in working in remote, cold-climate conditions.

Territorial Incentives

The Government of Yukon encourages investment in the territory and strives to create a favourable investment environment. Some of these business incentives are:

  • Yukon Venture Loan Guarantee Program

    Administered through Business Development Bank of Canada and chartered banks, YG may guarantee 65% of loans approved by chartered banks for new Yukon business start-ups and for certain expansions of businesses which have or are projected to have less than $5m in gross revenues and less than 100 employees.
  • Yukon Small Business Investment Tax Credit (YSBITC)

    The YSBITC permits eligible investors to claim 25%of their investment in an eligible Yukon company as a credit on their individual income tax returns. The credit is calculated at 25%of the value of an investment. Investors are permitted to claim a credit to a maximum of $25,000 per year.
  • Strategic Industries Development Fund (SIDF)

    SIDF is designed to help support strategic development projects and the growth of Yukon’s key industries (Film and Sound, Innovation and Technology, Mining, Oil and Gas, Forestry and Tourism and Culture) through subsidizing up to 50% of eligible costs for approved projects.
  • For more information about available financing programs, visit Invest Yukon or Funding and Programs. Yukon’s businesses have worked to make Yukon investment-ready and the Yukon government has invested in the people and the economy. This cooperation of industry and government has matured into a number of Yukon advantages that have leveraged the territory into a strong position, well-prepared for new challenges and new development.

Sector Strengths

  • Mining & Exploration
  • Tourism
  • Film & Sound Production
  • Innovation & Technology
  • Oil & Gas
  • Small-Medium Enterprise
Map of Canada with Yukon  Territory  highlighted.

Territorial Profile

Population: 36,483

Major cities: Whitehorse and Dawson City

Avantages

Le gouvernement du Yukon dépense plus par habitant au chapitre d’incitatifs financiers directs destinés aux activités d’exploration dans l’industrie minière que tout autre gouvernement au Canada. Il consacre également un pourcentage de son budget total à des incitatifs directs destinés aux activités d’exploration et fait activement la promotion de ses vastes ressources minières auprès des marchés mondiaux. Ce soutien vise également les activités dans les secteurs pétrolier et gazier, dont les réserves inexploitées recèlent, selon les estimations, 17 billions de pieds cubes de gaz naturel, et 700 millions de barils de pétrole.

Le territoire compte différentes petites entreprises qui apportent une solide contribution à l’économie locale. On dénombre près de 3 000 entreprises enregistrées au Yukon, soit environ une entreprise par dix habitants. Cette économie hautement entrepreneuriale comprend des chefs d’entreprise indépendants ainsi que de grandes entreprises qui exploitent de nombreuses entreprises plus petites, comme des entreprises de construction spécialisées, des entreprises d’exploration indépendantes et des mines placériennes.

Le Yukon dispose d’un vaste réseau de routes toutes saisons ainsi que d’un solide système aéroportuaire. Il compte également un réseau à large bande par câble exclusif qui permet aux collectivités d’avoir accès à Internet haute vitesse. En outre, un système de prestation de services mobiles et de télécommunications offre à la plupart des Yukonnais l’accès à des services en ligne. Par conséquent, les entreprises du Yukon sont en mesure de communiquer efficacement avec des partenaires dans le monde entier.

Le Yukon a une économie moderne qui s’appuie sur ses racines traditionnelles. L’exploitation minière et le tourisme demeurent certes des piliers économiques fondamentaux, mais plusieurs secteurs émergents stimulent également la croissance du territoire. Reconnu depuis longtemps pour ses ressources naturelles abondantes et ses infrastructures bien développées dans le Nord, le Yukon est de plus en plus considéré comme un pôle d’entrepreneuriat, de développement et d’innovation.

  • Le PIB réel a progressé de 1,3 p. 100 pour s’établir à presque 2,3 milliards de dollars, ce qui représente une dixième croissance annuelle consécutive.
  • Aucune dette gouvernementale, aucune taxe de vente territoriale et régime fiscal très concurrentiel.
  • Taux d’imposition sur le revenu des particuliers parmi les plus bas au Canada, et taux concurrentiels en ce qui concerne l’imposition sur le revenu des sociétés.
  • Le gouvernement consacre aux projets d’immobilisation un plus fort pourcentage de son budget annuel que tout autre gouvernement au Canada.
  • Ressources énergétiques abondantes et diversifiées, notamment des réserves de combustibles fossiles, de nombreux lacs et rivières, des superficies venteuses et montagneuses, un important couvert forestier et de l’ensoleillement.
  • Importantes réserves d’or, d’argent, de cuivre, de tungstène, de nickel et de charbon, ainsi que l’un des plus grands gisements de minerai de fer et l’une des plus importantes réserves de plomb et de zinc non exploitées du monde.
  • Plus de 4 800 km de routes toutes saisons et accès facile à deux ports libres de glace situés plus près de l’Asie que de la Colombie-Britannique.

Main-d’œuvre

  • Le marché du travail du Yukon figure parmi les plus performants du Canada.
  • Main-d’œuvre jeune — près de 60 p. 100 de la population active du territoire est âgée de moins de 45 ans, une proportion légèrement supérieure à la moyenne canadienne.
  • L’une des plus fortes proportions de diplômés universitaires au Canada, et un taux élevé d’achèvement des études et d’accréditation professionnelle.
  • Une main-d’œuvre qualifiée dans les secteurs des ressources naturelles et habituée au travail en régions éloignées et par temps froid.

Incitatifs territoriaux

Le gouvernement du Yukon encourage l’investissement dans le territoire et s’efforce de créer un environnement propice aux investisseurs. Voici quelques-uns des incitatifs offerts aux entreprises :

  • Programme de garanties de prêts à redevances du Yukon

    Administrée par l’intermédiaire de la Banque de développement du Canada et des banques à charte, ce programme peut garantir 65 p. 100 des prêts approuvés par les banques à charte pour les nouvelles entreprises en démarrage au Yukon ou pour certaines entreprises en expansion qui prévoient générer un chiffre d’affaires brut de moins de cinq millions de dollars et qui comptent moins de 100 employés.
  • Crédit d’impôt à l’investissement dans la petite entreprise (CIIPE)

    Le CIIPE permet aux investisseurs admissibles de déduire de leur impôt un crédit correspondant à 25 p. 100 de la valeur de leur investissement dans une entreprise yukonnaise admissible. Les investisseurs peuvent demander un crédit maximal de 25 000 $ par année.
  • Fonds de développement des industries stratégiques (FDIS)

    Le FDIS a été conçu en vue d’appuyer les projets de développement stratégique et de favoriser la croissance des industries clés du Yukon (film et enregistrement sonore, innovation et technologie, exploitation minière, pétrole et gaz, foresterie, tourisme et culture) grâce à des subventions pouvant atteindre 50 p. 100 des coûts admissibles des projets approuvés.
  • Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les programmes de financement offerts, veuillez consulter Invest Yukon (disponible en anglais seulement) ou Financement et programmes. Les entreprises yukonnaises ont déployé des efforts pour instaurer un climat propice à l’investissement dans le Yukon, et le gouvernement du territoire a investi dans les personnes et dans l’économie. Cette coopération entre l’industrie et le gouvernement a généré plusieurs retombées pour le Yukon, qui est aujourd’hui bien positionné et bien préparé pour relever de nouveaux défis et accueillir de nouveaux développements.

Principaux secteurs d’activités

  • Exploration et exploitation minières
  • Tourisme
  • Production de films et enregistrement sonore
  • Innovation et technologie
  • Pétrole et gaz
  • Petites et moyennes entreprises
La carte du Canada avec la territoire du Yukon encerclé.

Profil de la territoire

Population : 36 483 habitants

Principales villes : Whitehorse et Dawson City

Twitter@yukongov (disponible en anglais seulement)
FacebookYukon Gov (disponible en anglais seulement)