Provincial Profile

Ontario is the best location for investment in Canada, according to Site Selection magazine's annual “Best to Invest” rankings. Based on qualifying new corporate facilities and expansions, Ontario won the prestigious Canadian Competitiveness Award, an honour bestowed each year by the internationally renowned publication.

Ontario is the largest province in Canada, home to the capital city of Ottawa, and its largest city, Toronto.

Advantages

What makes this province unique? Three words: Innovation – Collaboration –Talent. Ontario is the largest IT region in North America outside of Silicon Valley. Here you can collaborate with universities and R&D facilities to drive innovation from lab to market quickly. Ontario’s extensive network of incubators and accelerators ensures a steady stream of innovative concepts, ideas and products that strengthen the entire ecosystem. And you’ll find an abundance of sophisticated talent with expertise across a wide array of sectors to generate the technological advancements needed to get – and stay – ahead.

Ontario Investment Office

The Ontario Investment Office serves as a one-window point of entry to provide improved access to services for major investment projects, licensing and permit coordination, facilitation of workforce training and site-selection supports. In short, the Office makes it easy to expand your business in Ontario.

Workforce

At 67%, Ontario has the highest level of postsecondary educational attainment in the OECD. An extensive network of 44 universities and colleges produces some 40,000 STEM graduates each year, and Ontario is home to 50% of the Canadian workforce in the high tech, financial and other knowledge-intensive industries.

With over 200 languages spoken, Ontario is easily Canada's most culturally diverse province. Your company will have access to a multicultural labour force that can provide reliable, market-leading product support, customer service, planning services, and after-sales support to virtually anywhere in the world.

Provincial Incentives

The Ontario Investment Office makes it easy to grow your business in Ontario, Canada, offering an array of government incentive programs and services that can lower your corporate taxes and help your business save on labour costs, R&D, and expansion activities.

Some examples include the Jobs and Prosperity Fund that provides grant and loan funding for projects in advanced industries, and the Scientific Research and Experimental Development (SR&ED) Program, a tax incentive program that can save you upwards of 60% when combined with other provincial R&D programs.

For a more detailed listing of Ontario’s numerous funding programs, please visit Ontario Incentives.

Sector Strengths

Profil de la province

L’Ontario est l’endroit par excellence où investir au Canada, selon le classement annuel Best 2 Invest de la revue Site Selection. Compte tenu du nombre de nouveaux édifices de sociétés et de projets d’agrandissement admissibles, l’Ontario a gagné le Canadian Competitiveness Award, un prix remis chaque année par cette publication internationalement reconnue.

L’Ontario est la plus grande province du Canada, où se trouve la capitale du pays, Ottawa, et sa plus grande métropole, Toronto.

Advantages

Quels facteurs rendent-ils l’Ontario si unique? Trois mots : Innovation – Collaboration – Talent. L’Ontario constitue le plus grand pôle des technologies de l’information en Amérique du Nord, hors de la Silicon Valley. En Ontario, il est possible de collaborer avec des universités et des établissements de recherche-développement pour faire cheminer rapidement les produits novateurs des laboratoires vers les marchés. Son vaste réseau d’incubateurs et d’accélérateurs garantit un flux constant de concepts, d’idées et d’innovations à même de renforcer l’écosystème en général. Il ne manque pas non plus de spécialistes de haut niveau possédant de l’expertise dans un vaste éventail de secteur en vue produire les avancées technologiques nécessaires pour occuper la première position – et rester en tête.

Bureau d’investissement de l’Ontario

Le bureau d’investissement de l’Ontario constitue un guichet unique pour bonifier l’accès aux services destinés aux projets d’investissement importants, veiller à la coordination de l’obtention des licences et des permis, ainsi que faciliter la formation de la main-d’œuvre et la sélection du site. Essentiellement, le bureau facilite la croissance de votre entreprise en Ontario.

Main-d’œuvre

Avec 67 % d’étudiants qui poursuivent des études au-delà du secondaire, l’Ontario se classe au premier rang de l’OCDE. Quelque 40 000 diplômés en science, technologie, ingénierie et mathématiques sortent chaque année de son vaste réseau de 44 universités et collèges, et l’Ontario accueille 50 % de la main-d’œuvre canadienne dans les secteurs des hautes technologies, de la finance et de l’économie du savoir.

Comptant une population parlant plus de 200 langues, l’Ontario est de loin la province la plus multiculturelle du Canada. Ainsi, votre entreprise aura accès à une main‑d’œuvre diversifiée et à même de fournir un service à la clientèle, une assistance technique, un soutien à la planification et un service après-vente fiables et de haute qualité, presque partout dans le monde.

Mesures incitatives provinciales

Le bureau d’investissement fait tout pour faciliter la croissance de votre entreprise en Ontario, au Canada. Il offre un éventail de programmes et de services incitatifs gouvernementaux susceptibles de réduire le fardeau fiscal de votre société et d’aider votre entreprise à réduire le coût de la main-d’œuvre, ainsi que des activités de recherche-développement et d’expansion.

Parmi ces programmes, mentionnons le Fonds pour l’emploi et la prospérité, qui vise à octroyer des subventions et des prêts pour des projets dans les secteurs de pointe, et le Programme de la recherche scientifique et du développement expérimental (RS&DE), un programme d’incitation fiscale qui peut vous faire économiser jusqu’à 60 % en combinaison avec d’autres programmes provinciaux de recherche‑développement.

Pour une liste exhaustive de ses nombreux programmes de financement, veuillez consulter la page des programmes et services d’encouragement en Ontario.

Forces de chaque secteur