Saskatoon

Quick Facts
Province: Saskatchewan
Population: 240,000

Saskatoon has earned its reputation as an innovative, business-friendly city at the heart of the Canadian prairies. With attractive tax rebates, a stable economy and a dedicated, highly educated workforce, Saskatoon has evolved into one of the most diversified economies in Western Canada ranging from mining, energy and manufacturing to transportation, life sciences, construction and agriculture.

Key Advantages

  • Outperformed all major cities in Canada for GDP growth in 2007, with an amazing 5.5% increase and was named the #1 small city with the "Best Economic Potential" by Foreign Direct Investment magazine
  • Central location makes it a key gateway for the booming mining industry in central and northern Saskatchewan
  • Home to 30% of Canada’s Ag-Biotech industry and is fast becoming Canada’s centre for plant and animal genome science
  • Expanding manufacturing sector which includes metal fabrication, transportation equipment, textiles, electronics, chemicals, printing and publishing
  • Significant tax abatement incentives to encourage expansion or location of operations, and facilitate long-term skilled or semi-skilled job creation
  • Commercial centre of Saskatchewan with excellent highway, air, and, rail transportation links to markets throughout North America
  • Metropolitan population of over 240,000 make it the largest urban centre in Saskatchewan and the nearby states of North Dakota and Montana
  • Excellent R&D location—One of the fastest growing research parks in North America includes the Vaccine and Infectious Disease Organization, the NRC Plant Biotechnology Institute, POS Pilot Plant Corporation (one of the most advanced synchrotron research facilities in the world, used to analyze a host of physical, chemical, geological and biological processes on a molecular level)
  • Ag-Biotech industry—Among its leading-edge achievements, the Saskatoon cluster produced the world's first genetically modified commercial canola variety and first genetically engineered animal vaccine

Sector Strengths

  • Manufacturing
  • Agriculture
  • Life Sciences: Biotechnology, Nutraceuticals, Pharmaceuticals
  • Food Processing
  • Warehousing and Transportation
  • Mining

Saskatoon

Fiche signalétique
Province : Saskatchewan
Population : 240 000 habitants

Saskatoon a mérité sa réputation en tant que ville innovatrice et favorable aux entreprises située au cœur des Prairies canadiennes. Grâce à ses allègements fiscaux très intéressants, une économie stable et une main-d'œuvre dévouée et hautement instruite, Saskatoon est devenue l’une des économies les plus diversifiées de l'Ouest du Canada et comprend notamment tout un éventail d'industries, de l’exploitation minière à l’énergie, en passant par la fabrication, les transports, les sciences de la vie, le bâtiment et l’agriculture.

Principaux avantages

  • A obtenu de meilleurs résultats que toutes les principales villes canadiennes en ce qui concerne la croissance du PIB en 2007, avec une augmentation sensationnelle de 5,5 % et a été nommée première petite ville au « meilleur potentiel économique » par le Foreign Direct Investment Magazine.
  • Sa situation centrale en fait l’une des principales portes de l'industrie minière en plein essor du Centre et du Nord de la Saskatchewan.
  • Compte 30 % de l'industrie de l'agrobiotechnologie du Canada et elle est en train de devenir rapidement le centre canadien de sciences génomiques végétale et animale.
  • Secteur manufacturier en expansion, qui comprend la transformation des métaux, le matériel de transport, les textiles, l'électronique, les produits chimiques, l'imprimerie et l’édition.
  • Importantes mesures incitatives d'abattement d'impôt pour encourager l'expansion ou l'établissement d'activités et faciliter la création d'emplois spécialisés ou semi-spécialisés à long terme.
  • Centre commercial de la Saskatchewan, relié aux marchés de toute l'Amérique du Nord par voie aérienne, par transport routier ou par voie ferrée.
  • Sa population métropolitaine de plus de 240 000 personnes en fait le plus grand centre urbain de la Saskatchewan et des États voisins du Dakota du Nord et du Montana.
  • Endroit idéal pour la R-D : l’un des parcs scientifiques qui connaît l’expansion la plus rapide en Amérique du Nord et qui comprend la Vaccine and Infectious Disease Organization, l'Institut de biotechnologie des plantes du Conseil national de recherches, la POS Pilot Plant Corporation (qui a l’une des installations de recherche synchrotronique les plus avancées du monde, utilisée pour analyser toutes sortes de procédés physiques, chimiques, géologiques et biologiques à l'échelle moléculaire).
  • Industrie de l'agrobiotechnologie : parmi les réussites de pointe de la grappe de Saskatoon, citons la production de la première variété de canola commerciale génétiquement modifiée et le premier vaccin pour animaux conçu génétiquement.

Principaux secteurs d'activités

  • Fabrication
  • Agriculture
  • Sciences de la vie : biotechnologie, neutraceutiques, produits pharmaceutiques
  • Transformation des aliments
  • Entreposage et transport
  • Mines