For More Information

 

Waterloo Region

Quick Facts
Province: Ontario
Population: 533,700

The Region of Waterloo is made up of the cities of Cambridge, Kitchener, and Waterloo, and the Townships of North Dumfries, Wellesley, Wilmot, and Woolwich.

Waterloo Region, known as Canada’s Technology Triangle, has developed the infrastructure necessary to support the pioneering efforts of local industry in everything from wireless to hybrid car technologies. With more than 150 local research centres and 550 technology companies, Waterloo Region is responsible for producing world-renowned products such as Research In Motion’s BlackBerry and Toyota’s Lexus RX 350.

Key Advantages

  • GDP of $ 21.5 billion and exports of $11.4 billion in 2006
  • University of Waterloo (UW), one of the three post-secondary institutions in Waterloo Region, is a highly commended institution, repeatedly recognized by Maclean’s magazine as Canada’s most innovative university and topping the categories for Best Overall and most likely to produce leaders of tomorrow
  • University of Waterloo has the largest cooperative education program in the world, providing a continuous stream of new graduates to meet the needs of traditional industries and businesses, and knowledge-based and technology-driven companies
  • More than 22 percent of all spin-off Canadian IT companies have originated in UW incubator programs, where students and faculty retain intellectual property rights when innovations are commercialized
  • Culture of learning is also complemented by a culture of leisure: residents can attend symphony concerts, kayak on the Grand River or take in all the action Toronto has to offer less than an hour down the highway
  • With more than 500,000 people within 30 km, over 5.2 million people within 100 km and a more cost-competitive business environment than Toronto, Vancouver, Calgary, Montreal and Ottawa, investment is steadily increasing in Waterloo Region
  • Advanced manufacturing in engineering and robotics—ATS Automation Tooling Systems, Babcock & Wilcox Canada, Rockwell Automation
  • Prominent financial services sector—BMO Ontario headquarters, Sun Life Financial, Manulife Financial, The Economical Insurance Group
  • Emerging health and life sciences cluster with significant recent investments—UW’s School of Pharmacy, Human Pharmacodynamic Research

Advanced Technology Companies

The number of high tech companies located in Waterloo has grown from 327 to more than 500 in the past three years. This growth is the result of a record number of tech companies starting up, expanding and breaking into brand new technology markets. The following are just a few of Waterloo’s successful tech companies:

  • 3M
  • Adobe Systems
  • Agile Systems
  • AMI Semiconductor
  • Automation Tooling Systems (ATS)
  • Audax Group
  • Babcock & Wilcox Canada
  • Campana Systems
  • COM DEV
  • DALSA
  • Descartes Systems Group
  • Google
  • IBM
  • McAfee
  • Merck
  • MKS
  • NavTech
  • Open Text
  • Oracle
  • Polymer Technologies
  • Raytheon
  • RDM
  • Research in Motion
  • Sandvine
  • S-S Technologies

Sector Strengths

  • High Tech
  • Automotive
  • Advanced Manufacturing
  • Financial Services
  • Life Sciences

Pour plus d'information

 

Région de Waterloo

Fiche signalétique
Province : Ontario
Population : 533 700 habitants

La région de Waterloo comprend les villes de Cambridge, de Kitchener et de Waterloo ainsi que les cantons de North Dumfries, de Wellesley, de Wilmot et de Woolwich.

La région de Waterloo, connue comme le triangle technologique du Canada, a élaboré l’infrastructure nécessaire pour appuyer les efforts d’innovation déployés par l’industrie locale dans de nombreux secteurs, allant des technologies sans fil à celles des voitures hybrides. La région compte plus de 150 centres de recherche et 550 entreprises de technologie, et on y fabrique des produits réputés mondialement, tels que le BlackBerry de Research In Motion et la Lexus RX 350 de Toyota.

Principaux avantages

  • En 2006, le PIB de la région s’est élevé à de 21,5 milliards de dollars et la valeur des exportations, à 11,4 milliards de dollars.
  • L’Université de Waterloo, l’un des trois établissements d’enseignement postsecondaires de la région, s’est taillée une réputation d’excellence, ayant été reconnue de nombreuses fois par la revue Maclean’s comme l’université la plus novatrice du Canada et ayant remporté la palme dans les catégories de l’université ayant affiché les meilleurs résultats globaux et la plus susceptible de produire les dirigeants de demain.
  • L’Université de Waterloo est également dotée du plus important programme concerté d’enseignement du monde, produisant de nombreux nouveaux diplômés pour répondre aux besoins des industries et des entreprises traditionnelles, ainsi que des entreprises du savoir et axées sur la technologie.
  • Plus de 22 % de toutes les entreprises canadiennes de TI dérivées d’autres sociétés sont créées dans le cadre des programmes d’incubation de l’Université de Waterloo, où les étudiants et les professeurs conservent leurs droits de propriété intellectuelle lorsque leurs innovations sont commercialisées.
  • La culture d’apprentissage est également complétée d’une culture de loisir : les résidents peuvent assister à des concerts symphoniques, faire du kayak sur la rivière Grande ou se divertir à Toronto, qui est située à moins d’une heure d’autoroute.
  • Avec plus de 500 000 personnes dans un rayon de 30 km, plus de 5,2 millions de personnes dans un rayon de 100 km et un environnement d’affaires plus compétitif sur le plan des coûts que Toronto, Vancouver, Calgary, Montréal et Ottawa, la région de Waterloo attire de plus en plus d’investissements.
  • Parmi les sociétés de fabrication de pointe en génie et en robotique, notons les suivantes : ATS Automation Tooling Systems, Babcock & Wilcox Canada et Rockwell Automation.
  • Les principales entreprises du secteur des services financiers : BMO (siège social pour l’Ontario), Compagnie d'assurance-vie Sun Life du Canada, Financière Manuvie et The Economical Insurance Group.
  • On y trouve un groupe émergent en santé et en sciences de la vie qui a fait l’objet d’importants investissements récents : école de pharmacie de l’Université de Waterloo et Human Pharmacodynamic Research.

Entreprises de haute technologie

Le nombre d’entreprises de haute technologie à Waterloo est passé de 327 à plus de 500 au cours des trois dernières années. Cette croissance résulte du nombre record d’entreprises de ce genre qui démarrent, prennent de l’expansion et percent de nouveaux marchés technologiques. Parmi les entreprises de haute technologie qui ont connu du succès dans la région de Waterloo, mentionnons les suivantes :

  • 3M
  • Adobe Systems
  • Agile Systems
  • AMI Semiconductor
  • Automation Tooling Systems (ATS)
  • Audax Group
  • Babcock & Wilcox Canada
  • Campana Systems
  • COM DEV
  • DALSA
  • Descartes Systems Group
  • Google
  • IBM
  • McAfee
  • Merck
  • MKS
  • NavTech
  • Open Text
  • Oracle
  • Polymer Technologies
  • Raytheon
  • RDM
  • Research in Motion
  • Sandvine
  • S-S Technologies

Principaux secteurs d’activités

  • Technologie de pointe
  • Industrie automobile
  • Fabrication de pointe
  • Services financiers
  • Sciences de la vie