Advantages

British Columbia has one of North America’s most competitive, flexible, and supportive business climates. The province consistently receives AAA credit ratings. Its vast resources, low taxes, stable and well-regulated financial system and fiscally responsible government attract investment from around the world.

  • The strategic location on Canada’s Pacific coast places British Columbia at the commercial crossroads of Asia-Pacific and North America. It is close to key markets and provides duty-free access to the U.S. and Mexico. Businesses using British Columbia’s ports take advantage of the shortest sea route from Asia to North America, which is seamlessly connected to all major U.S. economic centres by secure, reliable road and rail networks
  • British Columbia offers investment opportunities in many industry sectors, from resource extraction and development to advanced technology and knowledge-based industries.
  • The provincial tax credits, exemptions, and deductions help businesses invest and innovate.
  • The cost of doing business in British Columbia can be lower than in other locations in North America. Our corporate income tax rates and the cost of labour, power, and facilities give companies in British Columbia a competitive edge.

Workforce

British Columbia’s diverse, skilled and adaptable workforce is an asset for employers. With cosmopolitan cities, temperate climate and clean environment it is easy to recruit and retain top performers.

The province has a growing labour pool of more than 2.4 million workers and its highly educated, multi-lingual, and motivated workforce is responsive to the needs of businesses across industry sectors.

  • More than 70 per cent of workforce has completed post-secondary education and well over a quarter possesses a university degree.
  • A highly flexible workforce with more than 80 per cent employed in service industries, including a quarter in professional, educational and business support services.
  • Multilingualism is high – 360,000 British Columbia workers have one of the Chinese dialects as their first language. Another 194,000 have Punjabi, and 51,000 have Korean as their first language.

Provincial Incentives

British Columbia provides provincial tax credits and exemptions to encourage business investment and innovation. Certain incentives target specific industries, including: screen-based industries (film and television, interactive digital media), mining, natural gas, life sciences, and clean technology. Other incentives target specific business activities, such as certain international business activities, manufacturing, training, and research and development. Learn more here, Tax Incentives.

Sector Strengths

  • Agrifoods

    With a diverse and growing selection of agrifood products including Canadian wine and seafood, an international reputation for high food safety standards, and a favourable location for international shipping, British Columbia’s agrifoods sector is well positioned for investment and growth in both existing and new markets.
  • Forestry

    British Columbia’s forest industry has attractive investment opportunities in mills, forestry operations, the manufacturing of high-quality forest products and value-added wood products, and biofuels.
  • Mining

    British Columbia is internationally recognized as a centre of expertise in mining, metallurgy, environmental engineering, mine safety, and geoscience. The province is home to the world’s largest concentration of exploration companies and mining professionals, with more than 800 mining and mineral firms and 400 service suppliers choosing Vancouver as their base of global operations.
  • Natural Gas and LNG

    British Columbia’s strategic Pacific Rim location, abundant resources and supportive business environment ideally position the province to become a global leader in the supply of liquefied natural gas. Opportunities abound in B.C., with numerous natural gas projects identified and a strong government commitment to building this new industry.
  • Technology

     - including clean technology; information and communications technology (ICT) and wireless; film, television and digital media; and life sciences

    British Columbia’s reputation for technology innovation provides a range of investment opportunities. If you want to invest in a thriving technology or media sector, or do business with innovative companies in these sectors, explore the advantages British Columbia offers.

  • Tourism

    British Columbia is known around the world as an outstanding visitor destination. The province’s spectacular natural environment and welcoming, cosmopolitan cities provide memorable experiences and quality tourism products, as well as investment opportunities in tourism products and services.
  • Transportation

    There are significant investment opportunities, including building and maintaining transportation infrastructure, in British Columbia. Some of this work is done through public-private partnerships (P3s), an area where the province is a recognized leader.
Map of Canada with the province of British Colombia highlighted.

Provincial Profile

Population: 4,631,300

Major cities:
  • Vancouver and Lower Mainland,
  • Victoria,
  • Kelowna,
  • Kamloops,
  • Prince George

Avantages

La Colombie-Britannique compte sur l’un des climats les plus souples, les plus concurrentiels et les plus propices aux affaires. La province reçoit constamment des cotes de crédit AAA et ses vastes ressources, ses faibles impôts, son système financier stable et bien réglementé ainsi que son gouvernement responsable en ce qui a trait aux finances attirent des investissements du monde entier.

  • La Colombie-Britannique (C.-B.) dispose d’un emplacement stratégique le long de la côte pacifique du Canada, ce qui place la province au carrefour des routes commerciales en direction de l’Asie-Pacifique et de l’Amérique du Nord. En outre, elle est proche de marchés clés et offre un accès en franchise de droits aux États-Unis et au Mexique. Les entreprises qui tirent profit des ports de la C.-B. bénéficient de la route maritime reliant l’Asie à l’Amérique du Nord la plus courte, une route qui est par ailleurs reliée de façon harmonieuse à tous les grands centres économiques des É.-U. par des réseaux routiers et ferroviaires sûrs et fiables.
  • La C.-B. offre des occasions d’investissement dans de nombreux secteurs industriels, de l’extraction et l’exploitation des ressources à la technologie de pointe, en passant par les industries du savoir.
  • Les crédits, les exemptions et les déductions d’impôts qu’offre la province aident les entreprises à investir et à innover.
  • Le coût de faire des affaires en C.-B. peut s’avérer inférieur à celui d’autres lieux en Amérique du Nord. En effet, le taux d’imposition du revenu des sociétés ainsi que le coût de la main-d’œuvre, de l’électricité et des installations donnent aux entreprises de la C. B. un avantage concurrentiel.

Main-d’œuvre

La main-d’œuvre diversifiée, qualifiée et souple de la C.-B. constitue un atout pour les employeurs. Par ailleurs, il est facile de recruter et de retenir des employés performants avec des villes cosmopolites, un climat tempéré et un environnement sain.

La province dispose en outre d’un bassin de main-d’œuvre croissant comptant plus de 2,4 millions de travailleurs éduqués, multilingues et motivés qui répondent aux besoins des entreprises de tous les secteurs de l’industrie.
  • Plus de 70 p. 100 de la main-d’œuvre est titulaire d’un diplôme d’études postsecondaires et bien plus d’un quart d’un diplôme universitaire.
  • Une main-d’œuvre très souple dont plus de 80 p. 100 travaillant dans les industries des services, notamment 25 p. 100 dans les services professionnels, d’enseignement et de soutien aux entreprises.
  • Le multilinguisme est élevé – 360 000 travailleurs de la Colombie-Britannique ont un des dialectes chinois comme première langue, 194 000 autres ont le pendjabi, et 51 000, le coréen.

Incitatifs provinciaux

La Colombie-Britannique offre des crédits et des exemptions d’impôts pour encourager l’investissement et l’innovation. Certaines mesures incitatives visent des industries précises, comme les industries visuelles (cinéma et télévision, médias numériques interactifs), l’exploitation minière, le gaz naturel, les sciences de la vie et les technologies propres. D’autres mesures incitatives ciblent des activités particulières comme certaines activités commerciales internationales, la fabrication, la formation ainsi que la recherche et le développement. Apprenez-en davantage ici, Tax Incentives (disponible en anglais seulement).

Principaux secteurs d'activités

  • Agroalimentaire

    Jouissant d’une sélection variée et florissante de produits agroalimentaires, comme le vin et les fruits de mer, d’une réputation internationale en ce qui concerne ses normes de sécurité alimentaire élevées et d’un emplacement propice à l’envoi à l’étranger, le secteur de l’agroalimentaire de la Colombie-Britannique est bien placé pour l’investissement et la croissance aussi bien au sein des marchés existants que dans de nouveaux.
  • Foresterie

    L’industrie de la foresterie de la Colombie-Britannique offre des occasions d’investissement intéressantes en ce qui a trait aux scieries, aux activités forestières, à la fabrication de produits forestiers de qualité et de produits du bois à valeur ajoutée ainsi qu’aux biocarburants.
  • Exploitation minière

    La Colombie-Britannique est reconnue à l’échelle internationale comme un centre d’expertise dans les domaines de l’exploitation minière, de la métallurgie, du génie environnemental, de la sécurité des mines ainsi que de la géoscience. La province compte la plus grande concentration de sociétés d’exploration et de professionnels de l’exploitation minière du monde, recensant plus de 800 sociétés minières et de minéraux et plus de 400 fournisseurs de services ayant choisi Vancouver comme le siège de leurs activités mondiales.
  • Gaz naturel et GNL

    L’emplacement stratégique de la Colombie-Britannique le long du littoral du Pacifique, ses ressources abondantes et son environnement propice aux affaires placent la province dans une position idéale pour devenir un chef de file mondial en matière d’approvisionnement en gaz naturel liquéfié. Les occasions abondent en C.-B., où de nombreux projets de gaz naturel ont été recensés et où le gouvernement est fermement résolu à renforcer les capacités de cette nouvelle industrie.
  • Technologie

     - notamment les technologies propres; les technologies de l’information et des communications (TIC) et les technologies sans fil; le cinéma, la télévision et les médias numériques; les sciences de la vie.

    La réputation de la Colombie-Britannique en matière d’innovation technologique ouvre un vaste éventail d’occasions d’investissement. Si vous souhaitez investir dans un secteur florissant comme la technologie ou les médias, ou si vous cherchez à faire des affaires avec une entreprise novatrice dans ces secteurs, venez découvrir les avantages que la Colombie-Britannique a à offrir.

  • Tourisme

    La Colombie-Britannique est reconnue à travers le monde comme une destination touristique de rêve. Les paysages naturels spectaculaires de la province ainsi que ses villes cosmopolites et accueillantes offrent une expérience mémorable et un tourisme de qualité ainsi que des occasions d’investissement dans les secteurs du tourisme et des services.
  • Transports

    Il existe des occasions d’investissement importantes en Colombie-Britannique, notamment dans la construction et l’entretien des infrastructures de transport. Certains de ces travaux sont effectués dans le cadre de partenariats publics-privés, un domaine où la province est un chef de file reconnu.
La carte du Canada avec la province de Colombie-Britannique enclerclé.

Profil de la province

Population: 4 631 300 habitants

Principales villes :
  • Vancouver et Lower Mainland,
  • Victoria,
  • Kelowna,
  • Kamloops,
  • Prince George
Twitter@BCTradeInvest (disponible en anglais seulement)
FacebookGovernment of British Columbia (disponible en anglais seulement)