Whitehorse: A Highly Entrepreneurial Economy

 

City Profile

Map of Canada with the city of Whitehorse pinpointed.

Whitehorse is the capital city of the Yukon Territory, Canada
Population: 36,700

  • 100 years of mining history
  • Oil and gas exploration
  • Expert in cold climate technologies

Key Advantages

  • Rich resources and enormous economic potential
  • Active contributor to world cold climate technologies
  • No territorial sales taxes and among the lowest corporate income tax rates in Canada
  • Ice-free ports providing year round access to exports, and proximity to Asia
  • Yukon College has 13 campuses and extensive distance-learning courses

Sector Strengths

  • Cold Climate Technologies

    Yukon's climate and remote location have created a necessity to adapt and to innovate. It is an active contributor to the world cold climate technologies with innovation and technological advancement. Yukon has leveraged its knowledge sector into world leaders in cold climate technologies and environmental research. Read more about cold climate technologies.
  • Mining, oil and gas exploration

    Mineral exploration in Canada's Yukon remains strong. Exploration expenditures were estimated to have exceeded $300 million. Several advanced exploration projects returned significant drill results, highlighting the under-explored potential of these properties even at an advanced stage of exploration. Read more about mining, oil and gas exploration.
  • Entrepreneurial Spirit

    Yukon’s economy includes close to 3,000 registered businesses, which translates into roughly one business per 10 Yukoners. The highly entrepreneurial economy is filled with independent business owners and often larger industries that have numerous smaller active operators (e.g., specialized construction companies, independent exploration companies, and placer mines). These self-operated businesses complement the financial efforts of larger companies and government.
  • Tourism

    The world’s last unspoiled wildernesses with the Canada Games Centre as the largest recreation facility north of 60 along with world-class outdoor facilities and over 700 km of trails to explore; excellent accommodations, restaurants and shopping, live theatre and cultural events, abundant wildlife and amazing scenic views that attract close to 800,000 cruise ship passengers every year. Read more about tourism in Whitehorse.

Connect with Whitehorse

Whitehorse : une ville à l’économie hautement entrepreneuriale

Profil de la ville

La carte du Canada avec la ville de Whitehorse encerclé.

Whitehorse est la capitale du Territoire du Yukon, au Canada
Population: 36 700

  • 100 ans d’exploitation minière
  • Exploration pétrolière et gazière
  • Expertise en technologies pour les climats froids

Principaux avantages

  • Riche en ressources et énorme potentiel économique
  • Acteur de premier plan dans le secteur des technologies pour les climats froids
  • Aucune taxe de vente territoriale et taux d’imposition des sociétés parmi les plus bas au Canada
  • Les ports libres de glace permettent d’exporter des marchandises à longueur d’année et notamment vers l’Asie
  • Le collège du Yukon a 13 campus et dispense de nombreux cours à distance

Principaux secteurs d’activité

  • Technologies pour les climats froids

    L’emplacement éloigné et le climat du Yukon ont forcé les entreprises à s’adapter et à innover. Le Yukon contribue activement au secteur mondial des technologies pour les climats froids grâce à l’innovation et à des percées technologiques. Le territoire a su mettre à profit son secteur du savoir pour devenir un chef de file mondial des technologies pour les climats froids et de la recherche environnementale. Renseignez-vous sur les technologies conçues pour les climats froids (en anglais).
  • Exploration minière, pétrolière et gazière

    L’exploration minière au Yukon demeure solide. On estime que les dépenses en exploration ont dépassé 300 millions de dollars. Plusieurs projets d’exploration avancée ont donné des résultats de forage très encourageants, ce qui met en évidence le potentiel sous-exploité des terres appartenant aux compagnies minières, même à un stade avancé d’exploration. Renseignez-vous sur l’exploitation minière et l’exploration pétrolière et gazière (en anglais).
  • Esprit d’entrepreneuriat

    L’économie du Yukon comprend près de 3 000 entreprises enregistrées, ce qui se traduit par environ une entreprise par 10 habitants. Cette économie hautement entrepreneuriale se compose principalement d’entrepreneurs indépendants qui, souvent, sont à la tête de grandes entreprises qui exploitent de nombreuses entreprises plus petites (p. ex. des entreprises de construction spécialisées, des entreprises d’exploration indépendante et des mines placériennes). Ces entreprises autonomes viennent appuyer les efforts financiers déployés par les plus grandes entreprises et le gouvernement.
  • Tourisme

    Une des dernières régions sauvages vierges du monde, le Yukon accueille le Centre de jeux Canada, le plus grand centre récréatif au nord du 60e parallèle. On y trouve également des installations extérieures de calibre mondial, plus de 700 km de sentiers à explorer, des services d’hébergement et de restauration hors du commun, des magasins, du théâtre, des événements culturels, une faune abondante et des vues panoramiques spectaculaires qui attirent près de 800 000 bateaux de croisière par année. Renseignez-vous sur le tourisme à Whitehorse (en anglais).

Créez des liens avec Whitehorse

FacebookYukon Government
(en anglais)