Winnipeg: The World is Taking Notice

City Profile

Map of Canada with the city of Winnipeg pinpointed.

Winnipeg is the capital city of the province of Manitoba, Canada
Population: 778,400

  • Good to grow: Winnipeg is stable, diverse and alive with big business opportunity
  • From nearly 400 submissions worldwide, the Intelligent Community Forum named Winnipeg a ‘Top 7 Intelligent Community’ for 2014
  • Winnipeg was recently ranked among the top five best places to live in Canada (large cities) by MoneySense

Key Advantages

  • Winnipeg boasts the lowest overall business costs in Western Canada, Midwestern U.S. and Pacific U.S. (KPMG Competitive Alternatives 2014)
  • Winnipeg has the lowest published electricity rates in North America for mid-sized and large consumers
  • Winnipeg is home to CentrePort Canada, the only tri-modal inland port in the country and the only one to provide foreign trade zone advantages
  • Winnipeg is one of only two Canadian cities with three Class 1 railways: CN, CP, and BNSF
  • Winnipeg is at the hub of five major continental and global transportation routes, and it’s situated within a 24-hour drive to a population of 100 million
  • Winnipeg has the third-highest number of head offices per capita among Canada's largest cities (11.9 head offices per 100,000 population)
  • Winnipeg is located within a 90 minute drive of the United States

Sector Strengths

  • Advanced Manufacturing

    Winnipeg is one of North America’s most cost-competitive locations for manufacturing, supported by a highly skilled and hardworking labour force, among the lowest published electricity rates in North America, competitive manufacturing tax credits, the elimination of tariffs on the import of manufacturing inputs, and a robust and cost-competitive transportation and logistics infrastructure.

    Advanced manufacturing is Winnipeg’s largest industrial sector, representing 12 per cent of the city’s GDP and 10 per cent of all employment. In 2012, manufacturing sector wages in Winnipeg were 14 per cent lower than the Canadian average. Winnipeg has one of the highest internal rates of return in North America for a new investment by a manufacturing firm.

  • Aerospace

    The home of Western Canada’s largest Aerospace hub, Winnipeg is the most cost-effective city for aerospace manufacturing among Western U.S. and Canadian cities. The city has experienced more than $800 million in aerospace and aviation-related investment in recent years, with strong growth expected to continue into the future.

    Winnipeg’s aerospace industry currently employs a labour force of nearly 5,000 highly skilled workers, which grew by 33 per cent between 2006 and 2012. More than 50 aerospace firms are either headquartered or have major centres of operation in Winnipeg, including Boeing Canada, StandardAero, Magellan Aerospace and Cormer Aerospace. Winnipeg’s aerospace companies produce and sell products and services valued in excess of $1.6 billion per year.

  • Agribusiness

    Agriculture nourished Winnipeg’s initial growth and continues to feed its success. James Richardson & Sons, the Canadian Grain Commission and ICE Futures Canada (Canada’s leading agricultural exchange) are rooted in the city. Prairie headquarters and thriving agribusinesses—including farm equipment manufacturers, transportation and logistics firms, food processing companies and agri-marketing organizations—make Winnipeg a global agricultural powerhouse.

    While commodity markets like grain and livestock are substantially mature, extraordinary potential for growth exists with functional foods, biocomposites and biofuels. R&D efforts are fertilizing innovative new products for the agri-food and fibre industries, for value-added food processing firms, for manufacturing and technology companies, and for the life sciences and biotech industries.

  • Information and Communications Technology (ICT)

    Winnipeg’s large and small ICT firms contribute to a vibrant, entrepreneurial and diverse sector serving growth markets throughout the world. The city’s low business costs help ICT companies competing in these global markets achieve better profit margins. Major ICT firms—including IBM and HP Enterprise Services—have operational hubs in Winnipeg. The city is also the headquarters of MTS Allstream, one of Canada’s largest telecommunications providers.

    A highly innovative, entrepreneurial and expanding developer community exists here as well, with many high-tech start-ups recognized for providing world-class products and top-quality service. The head offices of more than 30 of Canada’s largest companies and public-sector institutions are based in Winnipeg, giving developers opportunities to serve a diverse client base boasting worldwide networks.

  • Transportation & Distribution

    Parked at the intersection of key trade and transportation corridors heading in all directions, Winnipeg is home to CentrePort Canada. The only inland port in the country to provide foreign trade zone advantages, this 20,000-acre initiative expedites the movement of goods economically and efficiently to North American, Asian and European markets.

    More than 40,000 people are employed in Winnipeg’s transportation and distribution sector, which is comprised of 4,300 business establishments. Winnipeg is the only major city between Thunder Bay and Vancouver with direct rail connections to the United States, and it also features access via rail to the northern seaport of Churchill. The city also boasts a celebrated new airport that continues to win accolades, and some of Canada’s biggest trucking firms are headquartered here.

Connect with Winnipeg

Winnipeg : le monde prend note

Profil de la ville

La carte du Canada avec la ville de Winnipeg encerclé.

Winnipeg est la capitale de la province du Manitoba, au Canada
Population : 778 400 habitants

  • Prospère : Winnipeg offre un milieu stable et diversifié ainsi que de formidables occasions d’affaires
  • Au terme d’un processus ayant attiré environ 400 candidatures de partout dans le monde, Winnipeg a été retenue pour faire partie de la « liste des sept collectivités les plus intelligentes de 2014 » de l’Intelligent Community Forum
  • MonseySense (en anglais) a récemment classé Winnipeg parmi les cinq meilleurs endroits (grande ville) où vivre au Canada

Principaux avantages

  • Winnipeg affiche les plus faibles coûts globaux pour les entreprises dans l’Ouest canadien, le Midwest américain et les États du Pacifique américains (KPMG, Choix concurrentiels, 2014)
  • Les tarifs d’électricité publiés pour les moyennes et les grandes entreprises y sont les plus faibles en Amérique du Nord
  • Winnipeg abrite le CentrePort Canada, le seul port intérieur trimodal au Canada et le seul à offrir des avantages en matière de zone franche
  • Winnipeg est une des deux seules villes canadiennes où sont en activité trois chemins de fer de catégorie 1 : CN, CP, et BNSF
  • Carrefour de cinq grandes routes de transport continentales et mondiales, la ville est située à moins de 24 heures de route d’une population de 100 millions d’habitants
  • Winnipeg se classe au troisième rang des grandes villes du Canada pour ce qui est du nombre de sièges sociaux par habitant (11,9 sièges sociaux par 100 000 habitants)
  • Winnipeg est située à moins d’une heure et demie de route des États-Unis

Principaux secteurs d’activité

  • Fabrication de pointe

    Winnipeg est l’une des villes les plus concurrentielles sur le plan des coûts dans le secteur de la fabrication. Elle est soutenue par une main-d’œuvre hautement qualifiée et vaillante, des tarifs d’électricité publiés parmi les plus faibles en Amérique du Nord, des crédits d’impôt de fabrication concurrentiels, la suppression des droits de douane frappant les intrants manufacturiers et des infrastructures de transport et de logistique dynamiques et concurrentiels.

    Plus grand secteur industriel de Winnipeg, la fabrication de pointe représente 12 p. 100 du produit intérieur brut de la ville et 10 p. 100 des emplois. En 2012, à Winnipeg, le salaire moyen dans le secteur de la fabrication était inférieur de 14 p. 100 à la moyenne canadienne. Le taux de rendement interne d’un nouvel investissement d’un fabricant à Winnipeg est un des plus élevés en Amérique du Nord.

  • Aérospatiale

    Plus grand carrefour de l’aérospatiale de l’Ouest canadien, Winnipeg est la ville la plus économique pour la fabrication aérospatiale de l’Ouest américain et du Canada. Au cours des dernières années, les investissements dans l’aérospatiale et l’aviation se sont chiffrés à plus de 800 millions de dollars, et leur forte croissance se poursuivra.

    Quelque 5 000 travailleurs hautement qualifiés occupent à l’heure actuelle un emploi dans le secteur de l’aérospatiale; de 2006 à 2012, leur nombre a progressé de 33 p. 100. La ville accueille les sièges sociaux ou grands centres d’activités de plus de 50 entreprises du secteur de l’aérospatiale, y compris Boeing Canada, StandardAero, Magellan Aerospace et Cormer Aerospace. La valeur des ventes de produits et services que produisent les entreprises du secteur de l’aérospatiale de Winnipeg se chiffre à 1,6 milliard de dollars par année.

  • Agroentreprise

    L’agriculture, qui a favorisé la croissance initiale de la ville, contribue toujours à sa réussite. La ville abrite James Richardson & Sons, la Commission canadienne des grains et l’InterContinental Exchange (ICE) Futures Canada (principale Bourse de produits agricoles du Canada). Grâce à son statut de siège social des Prairies et à son secteur de l’agroentreprise en plein essor — y compris les fabricants d’équipement agricole, les entreprises de transport et de logistique, les entreprises de transformation d’aliments et les organisations de marketing agricole —, Winnipeg s’impose comme un géant mondial de l’agriculture.

    Si les marchés des produits de base comme les grains et le bétail sont très bien établis, le potentiel de croissance des marchés des aliments fonctionnels, des biocomposites et des biocombustibles est substantiel. Les efforts déployés en R D stimulent l’innovation et la création de nouveaux produits au sein des industries agroalimentaires et des fibres, des entreprises de transformation des aliments à valeur ajoutée, des entreprises de fabrication et de technologies ainsi que des industries des sciences de la vie et de la biotechnologie.

  • Technologies de l’information et des communications (TIC)

    De nature dynamique entrepreneurial et diversifiée, les petites et grandes entreprises du secteur des TIC de Winnipeg compte des clients sur des marchés en expansion partout dans le monde. Les faibles coûts de la ville pour les entreprises permettent à celles du secteur des TIC présentes sur ces marchés mondiaux de dégager de meilleures marges de profit. De grandes entreprises des TIC— y compris IBM et HP Enterprise Services — ont établi des centres d’activités à Winnipeg. On y trouve également le siège social de MTS Allstream, un des plus grands fournisseurs de services de télécommunications au pays.

    De même, la ville compte une communauté croissante de développeurs innovateurs et entrepreneuriaux, où évoluent de nombreuses entreprises de pointe en démarrage qui fournissent des produits et des services de calibre mondial. Les sièges sociaux et les administrations centrales de 30 des plus grandes entreprises privées et organisations publiques sont établis à Winnipeg, ce qui offre aux développeurs l’occasion de faire affaire avec une clientèle diversifiée dotée de réseaux qui s’étendent partout dans le monde.

  • Transport et distribution

    Située à la croisée de grands corridors de commerce et de transport pointant dans toutes les directions, Winnipeg accueille CentrePort Canada. Seul port intérieur du pays à offrir des avantages en matière de zone franche, ces installations couvrant 20 000 acres rehaussent la rentabilité et l’efficacité du transport de marchandises vers les marchés de l’Amérique du Nord, de l’Asie et de l’Europe.

    Le secteur du transport et de la distribution de Winnipeg emploie plus de 40 000 personnes dans 4 300 entreprises. Winnipeg est la seule grande ville entre Thunder Bay et Vancouver dont le réseau ferroviaire traverse la frontière américaine, en plus d’offrir un accès ferroviaire au port maritime nordique de Churchill. Elle abrite également un nouvel aéroport réputé, dont on ne cesse de faire l’éloge, ainsi que les sièges sociaux de certaines des plus importantes entreprises de camionnage du Canada.

Créez des liens avec Winnipeg

TwitterEDWinnipeg
(en anglais)