Global Business Leaders Series - Amsterdam

Amsterdam, Netherlands
November 27, 2013

Invest in Canada, in partnership with the Embassy of Canada in The Netherlands and members of the Consider Canada City Alliance (CCCA) brought together senior policy-makers and business leaders from the Netherlands and Canada for an informative discussion highlighting Canada’s unique investment opportunities, particularly in advanced manufacturing and innovative technologies.

The plenary session in Amsterdam was a lively, interactive event held in partnership with the Financieele Dagblad Group. Jayson Myers, President and CEO of Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters (CME), Leo de Bever (AIMCO), John Jung (CCCA), Clark Grue (Rainmaker) and Melanie Aitken (Bennett Jones LLP) spoke informally on the opportunities in Canada, and provided specifics on Canada’s business environment, competitive advantages and prospects. Representatives of three Dutch companies (Vanderlande, Priva, Deltares) then spoke concerning their experiences in Canada. Notable points included looking at Canada as a number of regional economies and the compatibility of the Dutch and Canadian approaches to business. The plenary concluded with “Cross Canada Breakout” sessions, which allowed members of the audience to raise points directly with the representatives from the member cities of the CCCA.

Members of the CCCA also met one-on-one with over 100 business executives in the region to discuss investment opportunities in Canada. Several investment contacts, prospects and leads have been made to date.

Speakers:

  • James Lambert, Canada’s Ambassador to the Netherlands
  • Melanie Aitken, Partner, Bennett Jones LLP
  • Leo De Bever, CEO, AIMCo
  • Rens de Jong, Journalist, Business News Radio
  • Clark Grue, President & CEO, Rainmaker
  • John Jung, CEO, Canada's Technology Triangle
  • Jayson Myers, President & CEO, Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters

For more information:

Série de conférences pour les dirigeants d’entreprises de calibre mondial

Amsterdam, Pays-Bas
le 27 novembre 2013

Investir au Canada, en partenariat avec l'ambassade du Canada aux Pays-Bas et les membres de l'association Canada en tête, rassemble de grands décideurs et de hauts dirigeants d'entreprises des Pays-Bas et du Canada dans le cadre d'une discussion instructive mettant en avant les débouchés uniques qu'offre le Canada en matière d'investissement, en particulier dans les secteurs de la fabrication de pointe et des technologies novatrices.

La séance plénière à Amsterdam s’est avérée une activité stimulante et interactive qui avait été organisée en partenariat avec le Financieele Dagblad Group. Jayson Myers, président et chef de la direction de Manufacturiers et Exportateurs du Canada (MEC), Leo de Bever (AIMCO), John Jung (Canada en tête), Clark Grue (Rainmaker) et Melanie Aitken (Bennett Jones LLP) ont tenu des discussions informelles au sujet des possibilités qu’offre le Canada et ont donné des détails concernant le contexte commercial, les avantages concurrentiels et les perspectives du Canada. Des représentants de trois entreprises néerlandaises (Vanderlande, Priva, Deltares) ont ensuite parlé de leurs expériences au Canada. Les discussions ont porté notamment sur la perception du Canada comme un ensemble d’économies régionales et sur la compatibilité des approches commerciales néerlandaises et canadiennes. La séance plénière s’est terminée avec des « séances pancanadiennes en petits groupes » qui ont permis aux membres de l’auditoire de traiter de certains points directement avec les représentants des villes membres de Canada en tête.

Les membres de Canada en tête ont aussi rencontré personnellement près de 100 dirigeants d’entreprise de la région pour discuter des possibilités d’investissement au Canada. Plusieurs contacts, perspectives et pistes en matière d’investissement ont été établis jusqu’à maintenant.

Conférenciers :

  • James Lambert, ambassadeur du Canada aux Pays-Bas
  • Melanie L. Aitken, associée, Bennett Jones LLP
  • Leo de Bever, chef de la direction, AIMCo
  • Rens de Jong, journaliste, Business News Radio
  • Clark Grue, président et chef de la direction, Rainmaker
  • John G Jung, chef de la direction, Canada's Technology Triangle
  • Jayson Myers, président et chef de la direction, Manufacturiers et Exportateurs du Canada

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements :