Global Business Leaders Series - Guangzhou

Canada Investment and Innovation Forum

Guangzhou,

Invest in Canada in partnership with the Consulate General of Canada in Guangzhou, China brought together business leaders, senior policy makers and key local industry representatives from the Guangdong province, China and Canada for an informative discussion on Canada’s unique investment opportunities in: biotechnology and its application in life sciences, agriculture and agri-food, and bio-products; digital media and entertainment; and innovation with a focus on accelerators and incubators.

Aimed at Chinese corporate decision-makers and influencers seeking overseas investment prospects, this conference provided an opportunity to learn about the diverse range of business opportunities across Canada.

A Canadian delegation comprising members of the Consider Canada City Alliance (CCCA) – a group representing 11 of Canada’s largest cities – participated and met one-on-one with business executives to discuss shovel-ready investment projects across Canada.

Speakers included:

  • Craig Wright, Chief Economist and Senior Vice President, Royal Bank of Canada
  • Dr. Ron Boch, Vice President, Biotechnology and Industry Affairs, BIOTECanada
  • Carol A. Stewart, Founder and Past President, Association of University Research Parks (AURP) Canada
  • Michael Schmalz, President, Digital Extremes Ltd.
  • Robert Y. M. Kwauk, Chief representative, China, & Office Managing Partner, Beijing, Blake, Cassels & Graydon LLP

Série de conférences pour les dirigeants d’entreprises de calibre mondial – Guangzhou

Forum canadien sur l’investissement et l’innovation

Guangzhou,

Investir au Canada, en partenariat avec le consulat général du Canada à Guangzhou, en Chine, a rassemblé des dirigeants d’entreprises, des décideurs de haut niveau et des représentants clés de l’industrie locale de la province du Guangdong, en Chine, et du Canada, à l’occasion d’une conférence d’information sur les possibilités d’investissement uniques qu’offre le Canada dans différents secteurs : la biotechnologie et ses applications dans les sciences de la vie, l’agriculture, l’agroalimentaire et les bioproduits; les médias numériques et le divertissement; l’innovation axée sur les accélérateurs et les incubateurs.

Ciblant les chefs d’entreprise et les gens d’influence de la Chine qui recherchent des possibilités d’investissement à l’étranger, cette conférence a offert aux participants l’occasion d’en apprendre davantage sur le vaste éventail de débouchés qu’offre le Canada.

Une délégation canadienne composée de membres de l'Alliance des villes Canada en tête –un groupe qui représente 11 des plus grandes villes du Canada – a participé à cet événement et tenu des rencontres individuelles avec des dirigeants d’entreprises pour discuter de projets d’investissement prêts à démarrer au Canada.

Conférenciers :

  • M. Craig Wright, économiste en chef et premier vice-président, Banque Royale du Canada
  • M. Ron Boch, Ph. D., vice-président, Biotechnologie et Affaires sectorielles, BIOTECanada
  • Mme Carol A. Stewart, fondatrice et ancienne présidente, Association des parcs universitaires de recherche (AURP) du Canada
  • M. Michael Schmalz, président, Digital Extremes Ltd.
  • M. Robert Y. M. Kwauk, représentant en chef, Chine, et associé directeur, Beijing, Blake, Cassels & Graydon s.r.l.