Funding Programs and Incentives in Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada, along with other Canadian federal government departments, Crown corporations and agencies, and provincial/territorial governments offer funding program and incentive measures to help take your Canadian business operations to the next level.

Find out which funding programs or measures are right for you, the type of financial assistance they provide, and how to apply.

Find an Advisor

Canadian Trade Commissioners can tell you about funding and incentive program information that your investment may qualify for. 

Find an advisor near you.

Funding Opportunities for Businesses

Applicable Across Sectors

Scientific Research and Experimental Development (SR&ED) 

The Scientific Research and Experimental Development (SR&ED) program gives claimants benefits in the form of a refundable investment tax credit, a reduction of taxes payable, or both for their expenditures on eligible research and development (R&D) work done in Canada. The SR&ED Program gives claimants cash refunds and / or tax credits for their expenditures on eligible R&D work done in Canada.

Advanced Manufacturing Fund (AMF)

The Advanced Manufacturing Fund (AMF) promotes continued growth of Ontario's advanced manufacturing sector by supporting efforts to develop cutting-edge technologies and large-scale activities that will improve processes and increase productivity, establish clusters or global supply chains and collaborate with private sector, and research and post-secondary institutions.

Industrial Research Assistance Program (IRAP) 

The Industrial Research Assistance Program (IRAP) program assists firms to develop, adopt and adapt technologies and incorporate them into competitive products and services to be commercialized in the global marketplace. IRAP provides advisory services and funding to help SMEs undertake innovation projects.

Export Development Canada (EDC)

Export Development Canada (EDC) provides flexible inbound foreign direct investment financing programs to support greenfield and brownfield direct investments in Canada. In addition to providing financing support for an investor’s initial investment in Canada, EDC also offers highly flexible support to foreign direct investors once they are operating and exporting from Canada through loans, guarantees and lines of credit.

Business Development Bank of Canada (BDC)

Business Development Bank of Canada (BDC) offers financing solutions for foreign direct investors specifically tailored to protect cash flow and promote growth. BDC provides financing terms between 4 and 30 years to support investments in land and buildings, equipment or working capital. BDC is also a leader in subordinate financing to help finance fast-growing companies.

Other Funding Opportunities

Concierge Service

Your Guide to Innovation: The place where Canadian enterprises can find information and guidance to access programs and resources in support of business innovation.

List of Funding Opportunities

There is a wide range of government programs designed to help Canadian companies like yours export and grow. Check the EDC website to find out if there's a program your business qualifies for and can benefit from.

Funding Programs to Attract Foreign Direct Investment into Canada

Invest Canada-Community Initiatives (ICCI)

Funding program for Canadian communities aiming at attracting, retaining and expanding foreign direct investment.

Foreign Trade Zones - Marketing Program (FTZ-MP)

Funding program for Canadian regional organizations and non-profit organizations seeking to promote local Foreign Trade Zone-type benefits linked to strategic locations across Canada.

Mesures incitatives et programmes de financement offerts au Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada, parallèlement à d’autres ministères, sociétés d’État et organismes fédéraux canadiens et aux gouvernements des provinces et des territoires, offre des programmes de financement et des mesures incitatives qui peuvent vous aider à faire croître votre entreprise.

Renseignez-vous au sujet du programme ou de la mesure qui correspond à votre profil, du type d’aide financière offerte et de la façon de présenter une demande.

Faites appel à un conseiller

Les délégués commerciaux du Canada peuvent vous fournir des renseignements sur les programmes de financement et les mesures incitatives dont votre investissement pourrait bénéficier.

Repérer un conseiller le plus près.

Possibilités de financement pour les entreprises

applicables à de nombreux secteurs

Recherche scientifique et développement expérimental (RS&DE) 

Le Programme de la Recherche Scientifique et Développement Expérimental (RS&DE) est une initiative fédérale qui offre des encouragements fiscaux. Il est destiné aux entreprises canadiennes de toutes tailles et de tous les secteurs. Il a pour but de les encourager à faire de la R-D au Canada pour concevoir ou développer de nouveaux matériaux, dispositifs, produits ou procédés ou pour améliorer ceux qui existent déjà. Le programme est la plus importante source d’appui du gouvernement fédéral pour la R-D.

Fonds de fabrication de pointe (FFP)

Fonds de fabrication de pointe (FFP) appuie le développement des technologies de pointe et les activités porteuses de changement et à grande échelle qui amélioreront les procédés, accroîtront la productivité et profiteront aux grappes technologiques ou aux chaînes d'approvisionnement mondiales. Le FFP favorise aussi la croissance continue du secteur de fabrication de pointe de l’Ontario en encourageant les collaborations entre le secteur privé, les établissements postsecondaires et de recherche.

Programme d'aide à la recherche industrielle (PARI) 

Le Programme d'aide à la recherche industrielle (PARI) aide les entreprises à mettre au point, à adopter et à adapter des technologies, et à les intégrer à des produits et services concurrentiels destinés au marché mondial. Le PARI fournit des services consultatifs et du financement aux PME pour les aider à entreprendre des projets d’innovation.

Exportation et développement Canada (EDC)

Exportation et développement Canada (EDC) offre des programmes de financement souples pour les investissements étrangers directs entrants. L’organisme finance des programmes de soutien aux investissements directs en installations nouvelles et friches industrielles au Canada. En plus de fournir un appui au financement pour l’investissement initial au Canada, EDC offre également un soutien très souple aux investisseurs directs étrangers une fois qu’ils sont en activité et exportent à partir du Canada, grâce à des prêts, des garanties et des lignes de crédit.

Banque de développement du Canada (BDC)

La Banque de développement du Canada (BDC) offre des solutions de financement pour les investissements étrangers directs conçus spécifiquement pour protéger les liquidités et promouvoir la croissance. La BDC fournit des conditions de financement pendant des périodes allant de 4 à 30 ans pour soutenir les investissements dans les terrains et les bâtiments, l’équipement ou le fonds de roulement. La BDC est également un chef de file en financement subordonné pour aider à financer des sociétés à croissance rapide.

Autres sources de financement

Service de guide-expert

Votre conseiller en innovation: L'endroit où les entreprises canadiennes trouveront de l'information et de l’aide pour accéder aux ressources et aux programmes en appui à l'innovation des entreprises.

Liste des possibilités de financement

Il existe un bon nombre de programmes gouvernementaux qui aident les entreprises canadiennes comme la vôtre à croître en misant sur leur succès à l’exportation. Visitez le site de EDC pour voir si votre entreprise est admissible à l’un de ces programmes.

Programmes de financement visant à attirer des investissements étrangers directs au Canada

Investissement Canada-Initiatives des communautés (ICIC)

Programme de financement pour les communautés canadiennes visant à attirer, à retenir et à accroître l'investissement étranger direct.

Programme de marketing pour les zones franches (PM-ZF)

Programme de financement pour les organisations régionales et les organismes à but non lucratif canadiens visant à promouvoir des avantages locaux de type Zones Franches reliés à des emplacements stratégiques à travers le Canada.