Automotive

For foreign investors in the automotive sector, Canada offers a strategic location in the heart of one of the world’s largest and most lucrative automotive markets. With 450 companies and 1,250 facilities, which generated annual revenue of $84.7 billion in 2013, Canada is a global automotive centre.Footnote 1

“ This investment is helping us find much needed capacity for global products and securing jobs and it is positioning Oakville, Ontario as one of the most competitive and important facilities in the Ford system ”

Joe Hinrichs, Executive Vice President of the Americas Ford Motor Company

  • Canada is part of fully integrated North American market with annual sales of nearly 20 million vehicles and annual production of about 16 million units.
  • According to KPMG, auto parts operations based in Canada typically enjoy an 11.2% labour cost advantage compared to their U.S.-based counterparts. Footnote 2
  • Under NAFTA and the newly announced free trade agreement with the European Union, Canada enjoys preferential access to some of the largest and most important automotive markets in the world. These trade agreements allow automotive investors in Canada to benefit from integrated global supply chains and seize new export market opportunities.
  • Canada has an established automotive supply sector comprised of many of the world’s largest auto parts companies. These companies have long-standing relationships with leading car manufacturers globally and provide a strong revenue opportunity for foreign investors.

Leading Networks, Research Groups and Support Programs

Footnotes

Footnote 1

APMA – Canadian Automotive Supplier Industry Briefing presentation; Industry Canada, Statistics Canada. (2013)

Return to Footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

KPMG, Competitive Alternatives 2014

Return to Footnote 2 referrer

Automobile

Pour les investisseurs étrangers, le Canada offre un emplacement stratégique au cœur de l’un des plus grands et plus lucratifs marchés automobiles au monde. Avec 450 entreprises et 1250 installations, qui ont généré 84,7 milliards de revenu en 2013, le Canada est un centre mondial de l’automobile.Note 1

« Cet investissement nous aide à trouver une capacité dont nous avions grandement besoin pour nos produits mondiaux et pour assurer les emplois; il fait aussi des installations d’Oakville, en Ontario, l’une des plus importantes et des plus compétitives au sein du système Ford. »

Joe Hinrichs, vice-président exécutif et président des Amériques, Ford

  • Le Canada fait partie d’un marché nord-américain hautement intégré, dont les ventes annuelles atteignent environ 20 millions de véhicules et la production annuelle se chiffre à environ 16 millions d’unités.
  • Selon KPMG, de manière générale, le coût de la main-d’œuvre dans le secteur des pièces d’automobile au Canada est 11,2 p. 100 inférieur à celui des États-Unis.Note 2
  • Grâce à l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA) et à l’Accord économique et commercial global récemment annoncé avec l’Union européenne, le Canada bénéficie d’un accès préférentiel aux plus grands et plus importants marchés de l’automobile au monde. De tels accords commerciaux permettent aux investisseurs dans le secteur canadien de l’automobile de tirer profit de chaînes d’approvisionnement intégrées à l’échelle mondiale et de saisir les nouveaux débouchés à l’exportation.
  • Le Canada dispose d'un secteur établi de l'approvisionnement automobile composé de plusieurs des plus grandes entreprises de pièces automobiles au monde. Ces entreprises ont des relations de longue date avec les principaux constructeurs automobiles à l'échelle mondiale et offrent une forte opportunité de revenus aux investisseurs étrangers.

Principaux réseaux, groupes de recherche et programmes de soutien

Notes

Note 1

Association des fabricants de pièces d’automobile (AFPA) – présentation; Industrie Canada; Statistique Canada (octobre 2013)

Retour á la note 1 referrer

Note 2

KPMG, Choix concurrentiels, 2014

Retour á la note 2 referrer

Publication

Automobile

Automobile 2014 - PDF

Parler à un conseiller

Sebastien Roy
Sebastien Roy, Consulat général du Canada à Detroit
Repérer un conseiller le plus près.