Chemicals and Plastics

Canada’s growing chemicals and plastics sector is supported by secure access, low priced raw material and infrastructure. Chemicals and plastic production is among the world’s top for manufacturing; in Canada it is valued at more than $73 billionFootnote 1 with exports totaling near $40 billion in 2013.Footnote 2 It is poised for continued growth – Canada’s chemical sector alone is forecast to increase by 27% by 2020.

“ Canada’s access to competitively priced raw materials makes it a very attractive place to invest. NOVA Chemicals’ Canadian operations will be converting natural gas liquids from shale gas and oil development and oil sands upgrading off-gases into high-value petrochemicals, and we are evaluating even larger Canadian investments for the future ”

Grant Thomson, Senior Vice President and President Olefins and Feedstock NOVA Chemicals

  • With some of the world’s largest supplies of, and lowest costs for, feedstock and electricity, as well as quality skilled labour, world class research institutions, and easy access to nearby markets, global companies choose Canada for chemicals and plastics.
  • Canada has a strong, growing domestic market, but chemicals and plastics producers are also located within hours trucking distance of more than 190 million consumers – over 55% of North America’s population-based market.
  • Canada’s transportation infrastructure and border system are among the world’s best, facilitating movement of products and raw materials therefore reducing delays in getting a product to market.

Leading Networks, Research Groups and Support Programs

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Statistics Canada. Annual Survey of Manufactures and Logging, Total Manufacturing Output and Revenues, NAICS 325 (Chemical manufacturing including pharmaceuticals) and NAICS 3261 (Plastic product manufacturing) (2011).

Return to Footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Industry Canada. Trade Data Online, Trade by Industry, NAICS 325 and NAICS 3261 (2013).

Return to Footnote 2 referrer

Produits chimiques et matières plastiques

La croissance du secteur des produits chimiques et de matières plastiques au Canada est soutenue par l’accès sécuritaire, des matières premières à prix abordables et une infrastructure. Cette industrie, parmi les meilleures au monde pour la fabrication, est évaluée à plus de 73 milliards de dollars au Canada.Note 1 En 2013, ses exportations ont atteint près de 40 milliards de dollars.Note 2 1L’industrie est bien placée pour continuer de croître; en effet, à lui seul, le secteur canadien des produits chimiques devrait augmenter de 27 p 100 d’ici 2020.

« Le Canada a accès à des matières premières à des prix concurrentiels et cela en fait un endroit très attrayant pour les investisseurs. L’usine canadienne de NOVA Chemicals convertira des liquides de gaz naturel à partir du gaz de schiste, du pétrole et des sables bitumineux et transformera les effluents gazeux en produits pétrochimiques à forte valeur. De même, éventuellement, nous évaluons la possibilité d’investir davantage au Canada. »

Grant Thomson, vice-président principal et président, Olefins and Feedstocks NOVA Chemicals

  • Lorsqu’il est question de produits chimiques et de matières plastiques, les multinationales choisissent le Canada pour bénéficier de l’un des plus grands approvisionnements en matières de base et en électricité du monde, à un coût parmi les plus abordables, ainsi que pour sa main-d’oeuvre qualifi ée, ses instituts de recherche de calibre mondial et son accès facile aux marchés qui sont à proximité.
  • Le Canada dispose d’un vigoureux marché en croissance de produits chimiques et de matières plastiques, et les producteurs situés au Canada sont à quelques heures de route en camion de plus de 190 millions de consommateurs, soit plus de 55 p. 100 du marché nord-américain.
  • L’infrastructure des transports et le système frontalier du Canada sont parmi les meilleurs du monde, ce qui réduit au minimum le temps nécessaire pour acheminer les produits jusqu’au marché.

Les principaux réseaux, groups et organismes de recherche

Notes

Note 1

Statistique Canada, Enquête annuelle sur les manufactures et l’exploitation forestière, production manufacturière totale et revenus, SCIAN 325 (fabrication de produits chimiques, y compris les produits pharmaceutiques) et SCIAN 3261 (fabrication de produits en plastique), 2011.

Retour á la note 1 referrer

Note 2

Industrie Canada, Données sur le commerce en direct, commerce par industrie, SCIAN 325 et 3261, 2013.

Retour á la note 2 referrer