Renewable Energy

Canada offers foreign investors a strong renewable energy industry with opportunities across the entire value chain, from technology development and supply to energy generation, distribution and storage. Presently, 65% of electricity generated in Canada comes from renewable sourcesFootnote 1 and each year, renewables account for a greater share of Canada’s electricity-generation capacity.

“ ENERCON’s experience in Canada over the past 12 years has been overwhelmingly positive. Strong support from local industry including depth, maneuverability and integrity of the supply chain, superb wind resources, strong policy initiatives, a highly trained and motivated labour force and a rock-solid financial system have reinforced the 2001 decision to build our presence in this market. ”

Adrienne Downey, B. Eng., Operations and Business Development Manager, ENERCON Canada, Inc.

  • Canada’s long coastlines and vast land mass give it some of the best wind and solar resources. This is supported by a large domestic and regional market; Canada is the 6th largest consumer of electricity in the world.
  • The renewable energy industry is growing within Canada. Annual solar capacity has been forecasted to increase three-fold by 2025.Footnote 2 Wind energy moved from just 300 MW installed capacity in 2003 to close to 8,000 by end of 2013.Footnote 3 It is expected to add record 1,300 MW in 2014 and another 5,000 MW of projects over the next three years.
  • Canada is a world leader in collaborative R & D. There are tremendous opportunities to create partnerships between industry, government, universities, research institutes and testing facilities.

Leading Networks, Research Groups and Organizations

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Statistics Canada. Survey 2151 (2012).

Return to Footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Canadian Solar Industries Association. Canadian Solar Industry Directory, 2012.

Return to Footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

KPMG. Wind Energy in Canada: Realizing the Opportunity, Issue 2. July, 2013.

Return to Footnote 3 referrer

Énergies renouvelables

Le Canada offre aux investisseurs étrangers de nombreuses occasions sur l’ensemble de la chaîne de valeur : développement technologique, alimentation en carburant, production, entreposage et distribution. Actuellement, 65 p. 100 du total de l’électricité produite provient de sources renouvelables.Note 1 D’une année à l’autre, les sources d’énergie renouvelable comptent pour une proportion accrue de la capacité globale de production d’électricité du Canada.

« L’expérience d’ENERCON au Canada au cours des 12 dernières années a été extrêmement positive. Notre décision d’augmenter notre présence sur ce marché en 2001 a été motivée par un appui solide de la part de l’industrie locale, y compris la profondeur, la maniabilité et l’intégrité de la chaîne d’approvisionnement, des ressources éoliennes exceptionnelles, des initiatives solides au chapitre des politiques, une main-d’œuvre hautement qualifiée et motivée ainsi qu’un système financier remarquablement solide. »

Adrienne Downey, B. Ing., Gestionnaire des opérations et du développement des affaires, ENERCON Canada Inc

  • Le Canada, par la taille de son littoral et l’étendue de sa masse terrestre, dispose des meilleures ressources éolienne et solaire. Celles –ci sont soutenues par un grand marché national et régional. Le Canada est le sixième plus grand consommateur d’électricité au monde.
  • L’industrie de l’énergie renouvelable est en croissance au Canada. Il est prévu que la capacité annuelle d’énergie solaire triplera d’ici à 2025.Note 2 L’énergie éolienne est passée de 300 mégawatts installés en 2003 à 8000 mégawatts en 2013;Note 3 1300 mégawatts additionnels sont prévus en 2014 et 5000 mégawatts au cours des trois prochaines années.
  • Le Canada est aussi un chef de file mondial au chapitre de la R D coopérative dans le secteur de l’énergie renouvelable. Des opportunités de création de partenariats entre l’industrie, le gouvernement, les universités, les instituts de recherche et les centres d’essais existent.

Les principaux réseaux, groups et organismes de recherche

Notes

Note 1

Statistique Canada, enquête 2151, 2012.

Retour á la note 1 referrer

Note 2

Association des industries solaires du Canada, Canadian Solar Industry Directory, 2012.

Retour á la note 2 referrer

Note 3

KPMG, L’énergie éolienne au Canada — tirer parti des possibilités, deuxième numéro, juillet 2013.

Retour á la note 3 referrer