Financial Services

Canada’s   financial services sector is both diverse and remarkably secure. In 2011, the World Economic Forum rated Canada’s banking system the soundest in the world. 1

“ There are countries with comparable economic characteristics to Canada, but with a lot less friendly environment. In our dealings with the Canadian government, various parts of the government, with the business people, we feel that it’s a lot more congenial to our investments. ”

Gao Xiqing, President, China Investment Corp.

Canada’s thriving financial services sector includes banks, cooperatives, credit unions, insurance companies and brokers, pension fund managers, securities dealers and independent agencies.

  • Moody’s Investment Service ranks Canada’s banking sector first worldwide for financial strength and safety. No major Canadian banks failed during the financial crisis of 2008-2009 and Bloomberg Markets magazine listed four Canadian banks among the ten strongest in the world.2
  • The Canadian financial sector is among the world’s most well-regulated and is responsible for many international best practices. The World Bank ranks Canada fifth worldwide for its strength of investor protection, and assigns Canada a maximum score for depth of credit information.3
  • Between 2003 and 2011, more than 130 foreign companies established greenfield projects in Canada’s financial services sector. More than one quarter of all foreign direct investments in the sector involve technology projects.4
  • A boom in industrial development ensures steady demand for financial services: more than $300 billion worth of mega-capital (in excess of $1 billion each), private sector industrial projects have already been announced in Canada for the current decade. These projects require extensive international financing.


1 World Economic Forum Global Competitiveness Report 2012

2 Bloomberg, Canadians Dominate World’s 10 Strongest Banks (2012)

3 World Bank Doing Business Guide 2012

4 From 2003-2011. fDi Markets database, fDi Intelligence from the Financial Times Ltd

Service financiers

Le secteur canadien des services financiers est à la fois diversifié et remarquablement sûr. En 2011, le système bancaire du Canada a été jugé le plus solide du monde par le Forum économique mondial 1

« Il y a des pays qui présentent des caractéristiques économiques comparables à celles du Canada, mais un environnement beaucoup moins favorable. Dans nos relations avec le gouvernement du Canada, ainsi qu’avec différents services de ce dernier et les gens d'affaires, nous observons une attitude beaucoup plus ouverte à l’égard de nos investissements. »

Gao Xiqing, président, China Investment Corporation

Le secteur canadien florissant des services financiers comprend les banques, les coopératives, les caisses populaires, les compagnies et les courtiers d’assurance, les gestionnaires de fonds de pension, les courtiers en valeurs mobilières et les organismes indépendants.

  • Moody’s Investment Service a classé le secteur bancaire canadien au premier rang mondial pour ce qui est de sa solidité et de sa sécurité financières. Aucune grande banque canadienne n’a fait faillite pendant la crise financière de 2008-2009 et le magazine Bloomberg Markets a inscrit quatre banques canadiennes sur sa liste des dix banques les plus solides du monde 2 .
  • Le secteur financier canadien figure parmi les mieux réglementés du monde et est à l’origine de nombreuses pratiques exemplaires à l’échelle mondiale. La Banque mondiale place le Canada au cinquième rang mondial au chapitre de la protection des investisseurs et au premier rang pour ce qui est de l'exhaustivité de l'information sur le crédit 3 .
  • De 2003 à 2011, plus de 130 sociétés étrangères ont lancé des projets relatifs à des installations nouvelles dans le secteur canadien des services financiers.Plus d’un quart de tous les investissements étrangers directs dans ce secteur portaient sur des projets technologiques 4 .
  • En raison de l’essor du développement industriel, la demande de services financiers demeure constante : des projets industriels dirigés par le secteur privé d’une valeur supérieure à 300 milliards de dollars (de plus de 1 milliard de dollars chacun) ont déjà été annoncés au Canada pour la décennie en cours. Ces projets nécessitent un important financement de l’étranger.


1 Forum économique mondial, Rapport sur la compétitivité mondiale 2012

2 Bloomberg, Canadians Dominate World’s 10 Strongest Banks (2012)

3 Banque mondiale, guide Doing Business 2012

4 De 2003 à 2011. Base de données fDi Markets, fDi Intelligence, Financial Times Ltd