Career Development and Professional Training

Beginning a career at DFATD opens the door to a multitude of growth opportunities. Within the three career choices or “streams” of International Trade, Political Economic and Management Consular, there are four employment “groups”. Terms and conditions of employment for each—for example, salary, training and what we call “rotationality”—vary according to group. You can find more information about each group on www.tbs-sct.gc.ca but the basic differences are summarized below.

  1. Foreign Service (FS): Foreign Service Officers are designated either Political Economic or Commercial Economic. Foreign service officers agree to “rotationality”, meaning they are based in Ottawa but agree to be assigned to work overseas as part of his or her career path.
  2. Policy Officer (EC): Policy Officers are designated either Political Economic or Commercial Economic. Policy officers are based in Ottawa but are not required to agree to be assigned to regional offices in Canada or overseas as a condition of employment, although they may apply for such assignments.
  3. Commerce Officer (CO): Commerce Officers usually work in the trade policy and trade development fields. Commerce officers are based in Ottawa but are not required to agree to be assigned to regional offices in Canada or overseas as a condition of employment, although like policy officers they may apply for such assignments.
  4. Management Consular Officers (MCO): An MCO belongs to the “rotational AS” group. Although they are based in Ottawa, MCOs agree to “rotationality” and to work overseas as a condition of employment.
  5. Foreign Service Administrative Assistant (FSAA): An FSAA provides behind the scenes support in a challenging environment. Based in Ottawa, they may spend half to two thirds of their carer working and living abroad.

Employees may move from one group to another as they progress in their careers. Those who join DFATD as part of one group may eventually decide to take an assignment in another group using one of the transfer avenues available to them. All groups offer excellent opportunities for training and advancement.

Foreign Service Development Program (FS Recruits) and Management Consular Development Program (MCO Recruits)

As a new recruit for either the Foreign Service Officer stream or Management and Consular Affairs Officer stream, you will enter a training program in Ottawa where a combination of classroom instruction and on-the-job training will give you a solid grounding so that you can begin your first overseas assignment with confidence.

During the training program, your progress will be evaluated with regular performance appraisals to help you identify the areas where your skills can be strengthened. Upon successful completion of the training program, you will be ready for an assignment abroad.

Professional Development (CO and EC)

Professional training is provided to policy officers and commerce officers based on individual learning plans devised by the employees themselves in collaboration with their managers.

Ongoing Training (All Groups)

DFATD is committed to supporting the professional development of every employee. Ongoing training is an integral part of working in the department, and is provided in various ways, including on the job, online and in the classroom. Annual learning plans are developed for all employees, and training is provided through courses at the Canadian Foreign Service Institute and the Canada School of Public Service, as well as through courses delivered outside government.

Advancing Your Career (All Groups)

Successfully completing your first assignment opens the door to a career path that leads upward, one that is designed to increase your skill set and reward your potential. Career advancement paths differ for each individual and will depend on your performance, interests, and the successful completion of competencies exams.

Language Training

English and French Language Training

Foreign Service Officer and Management and Consular Affairs Officer recruits who must increase their fluency to meet DFATD standards in either of Canada’s two official languages are provided with language training. This can last up to 52 weeks.

Foreign Language Training

After the initial professional training program, you will be given the opportunity to learn a specific foreign language if you are to be posted to a country where you will be required to speak it. Training is provided in Ottawa and usually begins after you have received confirmation of your posting.

Perfectionnement de carrière et formation professionnelle

Une carrière au MAECD vous ouvre une multitude de portes. Au sein des trois filières que sont le commerce international, la politique et l’économie, et la gestion et les affaires consulaires, il y a quatre « groupes » d’emploi. Les conditions d’emploi (comme le salaire, la formation et ce que nous appelons la « permutation » varient selon le groupe. Vous trouverez plus d’information sur chacun des groupes au www.tbs-sct.gc.ca, mais en y voici un sommaire :

  1. Service extérieur, ou « FS » : Un agent du service extérieur est soit un agent politique et économique, soit un agent commercial et économique. Les agents du Service extérieur acceptent la « permutabilité », ce qui signifie qu’ils travaillent à Ottawa, mais acceptent d’être affectés à l’étranger dans le cadre de leur cheminement de carrière.
  2. Agent politique, ou « EC » : Un agent politique est soit un agent politique et économique, soit un agent commercial et économique. Les agents ES sont situés à Ottawa et ne s’engagent pas à être mutés dans les bureaux régionaux au Canada ou à l’étranger comme condition d’emploi. Ils peuvent cependant demander à l’être.
  3. Agent commercial, ou « CO » : Un agent commercial travaille d’habitude dans le domaine des politiques commerciales ou du développement commercial. Les agents CO sont situés à Ottawa et ne s’engagent pas à être mutés dans les bureaux régionaux au Canada ou à l’étranger comme condition d’emploi. Cependant, ils peuvent eux aussi demander à l’être.
  4. Agents de gestion et des affaires consulaires, ou « AGC » : Les AGC font partie d’un groupe appelé « AS permutants » ; ils sont situés à Ottawa mais ils acceptent la permutabilité et acceptent de travailler à l’étranger comme condition d’emploi.
  5. Adjoint administratif du service extérieur, ou « AASE » : les AASE fournissent le soutien essentiel dans les coulisses dans des environnements exigeants. Basé à Ottawa, ils peuvent passer la moitié aux deux tiers de leur carrière en travaillant et vivant à l’étranger.

Il est possible de passer d'un groupe à un autre au fur et à mesure de la progression des carrières. Les employés qui se joignent au MAECD dans un groupe peuvent décider de demander une affectation dans un autre groupe, en utilisant un des moyens à leur disposition. Tous les groupes offrent d'excellentes possibilités de formation et de promotion.

Programme de perfectionnement du service extérieur (FS) et Programme de développement de la gestion et des affaires consulaires (AGC)

Pour les filières politique et économique, et de gestion et des affaires consulaires, toutes les nouvelles recrues sont inscrites dans un programme de formation à Ottawa. Des séances en salle de classe et de la formation sur le terrain vous apporteront une base solide pour aborder votre première affectation à l’étranger en toute confiance.

Durant votre programme de formation, vos progrès seront mesurés par des évaluations régulières de votre rendement afin que de vous aider à mieux identifier les compétences que vous pouvez renforcer. Sitôt terminé avec succès votre programme de formation, vous serez prêt pour votre première affectation à l’étranger.

Formation professionnelle (CO et EC)

De la formation professionnelle est également offerte aux agents politiques et économiques et aux agents commerciaux selon les plans d'apprentissage individuels élaborés par les employés eux-mêmes, en collaboration avec leurs gestionnaires.

Formation continue (tous les groupes)

Le MAECD s'est engagé à soutenir le perfectionnement professionnel de tous ses employés. La formation continue fait partie intégrante de la vie des employés du Ministère, et elle est offerte de diverses façons, entre autres en salle de classe, en ligne ou bien sur le terrain. Chaque employé bénéficie d’un plan d'apprentissage annuel, et de la formation est dispensée par l'Institut canadien du service extérieur et l’École de la fonction publique du Canada, ainsi que par d’autres institutions à l’extérieur du gouvernement.

Promouvoir votre carrière (tous les groupes)

Après avoir réussi votre première affectation, de nouvelles avenues s'offrent à vous, qui vous permettront d'accroître vos compétences et de faire valoir votre potentiel. Les plans de carrière sont différents d'un employé à l'autre, et le vôtre dépendra de votre rendement, de vos intérêts et de vos résultats aux examens de compétences.

Formation linguistique

Enseignement du français et de l’anglais

Les recrues en tant qu’agents du service extérieur et agents de gestion et des affaires consulaires qui doivent accroître leurs connaissances dans l’une ou l’autre des langues officielles du Canada afin de répondre aux exigences du MAECD du Canada recevront une formation qui peut s’étendre sur 52 semaines.

Formation en langues étrangères

Après avoir terminé votre formation professionnelle initiale, on vous offrira la possibilité d’apprendre une langue étrangère précise si vous êtes affecté dans un pays où il est nécessaire de parler cette langue. La formation en langue étrangère est donnée à Ottawa, et elle débute généralement une fois que vous aurez reçu la confirmation de votre affectation.