Information Concerning the Hiring of Students at DFAIT

The Human Resources Policy and Operations Division is responsible for two students' programs in the Department. The Coop Program and the Federal Student Work Experience Program (FSWEP).

FSWEP Program

The FSWEP Program provide full time Canadian students with the opportunity to gain work experience in the federal public service. The Student have to return to school after the hiring period (all year-round). To be considered for employment by the federal government under FSWEP, a student must meet the following criteria:

  • The student must be currently recognized as having full-time student status by the academic institution in which he/she is presently enrolled and be planning to continue studying full-time in the upcoming academic term.

  • The student must be registered in the FSWEP national inventory

  • The student must have the minimum age to work in the province or territory where the job exists.

To register the student must complete the form available at all academic institutions. The name of the student will be kept in an inventory. When a manager requests a student, the PSC will contact candidates from the inventory whose qualifications match the criteria specified. A maximum of five names will be referred.

COOP Program

The Coop program enables students to continue to gain experience while pursuing their studies at the collegiate or university levels. The COOP Program of the academic institution must be officially recognized by the Public Service Commission. Periods of employment are specific: from January to April, May to August, and finally September to December of each year. To be considered for COOP employment at DFATD, students must meet the following criteria:

  • be registered and accepted in a COOP Program recognized by the PSC;
  • apply for a position offered jointly by DFATD and the PSC;
  • not have completed all the training periods required by the COOP program.

Information concernant l'embauche d'étudiants au MAECI

La Direction des politiques et opérations en ressources humaines est responsable de deux programmes d'embauche pour étudiants au Ministère. Le Programme Coop et le Programme fédéral d'expérience de travail étudiant (PFETÉ).

Programme PFETÉ

Le programme PFETÉ permet aux jeunes canadiens et canadiennes étudiant à temps plein d'acquérir une expérience de travail dans la Fonction publique fédérale. L'étudiant doit retourner aux études après la période d'embauche qui est accessible durant toute l'année. Toute personne embauchée dans le cadre du PFETÉ doit satisfaire aux critères suivants:

  • Être reconnue comme étant une étudiante ou un étudiant à plein temps par la maison d'enseignement où elle est inscrite et avoir l'intention de poursuivre des études à plein temps à la prochaine session.

  • Être inscrite au répertoire national du PFETÉ.

  • Avoir l'âge minimum requis pour travailler dans la province ou le territoire où est situé l'emploi.

Pour s'inscrire l'étudiante ou étudiant doit compléter le formulaire disponible dans toutes les maisons d'enseignement. Le nom de l'étudiant sera conservé dans un répertoire et lorsqu'un gestionnaire fera une demande d'étudiant, la Commission de la Fonction Publique (CFP) consultera le répertoire pour déterminer quelles personnes possèdent les compétences requises pour satisfaire aux critères de sélection. Cinq candidatures au maximum seront référées.

Programme COOP

Le programme d'emploi COOP permet à un(e) étudiant(e) d'acquérir de l'expérience tout en poursuivant ses études collégiales ou universitaires. La maison d'enseignement doit faire reconnaître son programme COOP par la CFP. Les périodes d'emploi sont spécifiques soit de janvier à avril, de mai à août et finalement de septembre à décembre. Pour être considéré pour un emploi COOP, l'étudiant(e) doit:

  • être admis dans un programme coop reconnu par la CFP
  • postuler à un poste offert conjointement par le ministère et la CFP
  • ne pas avoir complété les stages obligatoires du programme coop