Careers in International Trade

About us | A day in the life

Who we are

We are the International Trade component of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada.

Our mandate is to enable and contribute to Canada's prosperity through global commerce.


What we do

International trade officers:

  • promote Canada’s commercial and economic interests bilaterally and multilaterally,
  • help Canadian companies succeed internationally,
  • build networks essential to Canada’s international commerce and economic prosperity,
  • help shape Canadian trade policy, and
  • promote foreign investment in Canada.

Areas of work in international trade

Officers in all three occupational groups - Foreign Service Officer (FS), Policy Officer (EC), and Commerce Officer (CO) - have an opportunity to work in a number of complementary fields in Canada and abroad such as:

Client service delivery

Our raison d’être is to support the Canadian business community and deliver world-class client service. Trade Commissioners offer services to help Canadian businesses in the international marketplace. Officers help Canadian companies prepare for international markets, assess companies’ potential in foreign markets, find qualified contacts and help solve trade-related problems.

Business sectors group

Sector specialists play a vital role liaising with our regional offices, overseas offices and sector associations in Canada. They analyze Canada’s industry sector capabilities, interests and growth potential, and advise trade commissioners at Canadian embassies and consulates abroad and senior management on priority sectors and regions.

Investment promotion

Officers attract foreign direct investment to Canada, inform foreign companies about establishing their operations in Canada, compile investment briefs, organize visits of foreign companies, chair meetings, and provide guidance to Canadian provinces and municipalities.

Innovation

Officers in this area help Canadian clients access international technology networks, partners and resources to enhance their ability to compete, innovate and secure new markets. They also manage Canada’s bilateral STI cooperation agreements and their associated committees and working groups with a view to ensure concrete results and to facilitate industry engagement.

Bilateral commercial relations

Officers who work in the area of bilateral commercial relations develop trade knowledge, provide analysis and advice, and liaise between other government departments in Ottawa and Gatineau, DFATD’s regional offices and offices abroad, and foreign missions. They also prepare briefs, coordinate briefing books, draft ministerial correspondence and organize ministerial trade missions.

Trade negotiations and dispute settlement

Officers in the Trade Policy and Negotiations Branch develop Canada’s trade policies and positions related to, and participate directly in, the negotiation and implementation of bilateral, regional, and multilateral trade agreements. They also advise and engage in dispute settlement procedures under these agreements, and prepare the ground work for high-level international meetings and ministerial statements.

Market access barrier resolution

Officers in this area of work develop strategies and participate in engagement with foreign governments to protect and enhance international market access for Canadian business clients, including exporters of goods and services, as well as investors who encounter barriers and problems in foreign markets.

Trade policy development

Officers develop, analyze, and present strategies to senior management on a range of issues such as trade and investment issues, barriers, and negotiations, and their linkages to other policy areas (e.g., sustainable development).

Import and export controls

Officers working in the area of import and export controls develop policies, regulations and recommendations to the Ministers of International Trade and Foreign Affairs, and work to ensure the effective operation of Canada's systems for import and export controls, in compliance with Canada's domestic and international trade obligations.

International law

Officers who work in the Trade Law Bureau are practicing lawyers. The Trade Law Bureau advises the Government of Canada of its rights and obligations under international trade law. It also provides advice on the negotiation and implementation of multilateral, regional and bilateral trade agreements, and represents Canada in disputes under those agreements.

Communications

Officers who work in communications provide advice and prepare material in collaboration with other divisions for consideration and use by the Minister of International Trade and departmental officials. They ensure that communications across the department are well coordinated and effectively managed, and respond to inquiries from domestic and international media.

International trade portfolio coordination

Officers in this area work closely with Export Development Canada (EDC) and the Canadian Commercial Corporation (CCC), Canadian crown corporations, as well as with central agencies, to help ensure that Canadian companies have access to trade support tools such as financing, insurance, risk mitigation and contracting services.

Les carrières en commerce international



Qui nous sommes

Nous sommes le volet « commerce international » d'Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada.

Notre mandat est de contribuer à la prospérité du Canada par le biais du commerce international.


Nos activités

Les agents du commerce international :

  • défendent les intérêts commerciaux et économiques du Canada sur le plan bilatéral et multilatéral,
  • aident les entreprises canadiennes à réussir sur la scène internationale,
  • établissent des réseaux essentiels à la prospérité économique du Canada et à son commerce extérieur,
  • contribuent à modeler la politique commerciale canadienne, et
  • encouragent les investissements étrangers tant à l’intérieur qu’à l’extérieur du Canada.


Domaines de travail en commerce international

Les agents des trois groupes professionnels - Agents du service extérieur (FS), Agents politiques (EC), et Agents commerciaux (CO) - ont l’occasion de travailler dans un certain nombre de domaines complémentaires au Canada et à l’étranger tels que:

Prestation des services à la clientèle

Notre raison d’être est d’appuyer le milieu des affaires canadien et d’offrir des services à la clientèle de calibre mondial. Les délégués commerciaux aident les entreprises canadiennes à se préparer pour les marchés mondiaux, à évaluer leur potentiel sur les marchés étrangers, à rechercher des contacts qualifiés et à résoudre des problèmes liés au commerce.

Groupe des secteurs commerciaux

Les spécialistes sectoriels jouent un rôle crucial en assurant la liaison avec nos bureaux régionaux, nos bureaux à l’étranger et les associations sectorielles au Canada. Ils analysent les ressources, les intérêts et le potentiel de croissance des secteurs. Ils donnent également des conseils aux délégués commerciaux situés dans les ambassades et consulats canadiens à l’étranger ainsi qu'à la haute direction à propos des régions et leurs secteurs prioritaires.

Promotion des investissements

Les agents de promotion des investissements attirent au Canada les investissements directs étrangers, informent les entreprises étrangères intéressées à établir leurs activités au Canada, compilent des notes documentaires sur les investissements, organisent des visites d’entreprises étrangères, président des réunions et fournissent des conseils aux organismes provinciaux et municipaux canadiens.

Innovation

Les agents de ce secteur collaborent avec le Service des délégués commerciaux au Canada et à l’étranger pour faire la promotion de la recherche et développement et de la commercialisation des nouvelles technologies grâce à des partenariats avec les secteurs privé, universitaire et public ainsi qu’avec les principaux instituts de recherche et les entreprises des marchés clés à travers le monde.

Relations commerciales bilatérales

Les agents œuvrant dans le domaine des relations commerciales bilatérales acquièrent et accumulent des renseignements stratégiques, fournissent des analyses et des conseils et assurent la liaison entre les autres ministères à Ottawa, les bureaux régionaux et les bureaux à l’étranger du MAECI et ses missions diplomatiques à l’étranger.  En outre, ils préparent des dossiers, coordonnent des cahiers d’information, rédigent de la correspondance ministérielle et organisent des missions commerciales ministérielles.

Négociations commerciales et règlement des différends

Les agents du secteur de la politique et des négociations commerciales élaborent les politiques commerciales et les positions du Canada relatives à la négociation et à la mise en œuvre d’accords commerciaux bilatéraux, régionaux et multilatéraux et ils participent directement à ces activités. Ils donnent également des conseils sur les recours aux procédures de règlement des différends prévues par ces accords et y participent et effectuent des travaux préliminaires en vue de la tenue de réunions internationales et de déclarations ministérielles.

Contournement des obstacles d’accès aux marchés

Les agents de ce secteur élaborent des stratégies et collaborent avec des gouvernements étrangers afin de protéger et améliorer l’accès aux marchés mondiaux pour les entreprises canadiennes, incluant les exportateurs de biens et services, ainsi que les investisseurs qui rencontrent des obstacles et des problèmes sur les marchés étrangers.

Développement de politique commerciale

Les agents politique et les conseillers élaborent, analysent et présentent des stratégies à la haute direction à propos d’un éventail d’enjeux tels que l’investissement, les obstacles au commerce, les négociations et leurs liens avec d’autres politiques (par exemple, le développement durable).

Contrôles à l’exportation et à l’importation

Les agents qui travaillent dans le domaine des contrôles à l’exportation et à l’importation élaborent des politiques, règlements, et recommandations pour le ministère des Affaires étrangères et Commerce international. Ils cherchent à garantir l'efficacité des systèmes canadiens en matière de contrôles à l’exportation et à l’importation, en conformité avec les obligations commerciales nationales et internationales du Canada.

Droit international

Les agents de la Direction générale du droit commercial sont des juristes praticiens. La Direction générale du droit commercial conseille le gouvernement du Canada au sujet de ses droits et obligations dans le cadre du droit commercial international. Elle donne aussi des conseils sur la négociation et la mise en œuvre d’accords commerciaux bilatéraux, régionaux et multilatéraux, et représente le Canada dans les différends liés à ces accords.

Communications

Les agents de communications fournissent des conseils et préparent produits en collaboration avec d'autres directions pour le ministre du Commerce international et de ses fonctionnaires. Ils veillent à la coordinations des communications à travers le ministère et à la gestion efficace des réponses aux demandes des médias nationaux et internationaux.

Coordination du portefeuille du commerce international

Les agents de ce secteur travaillent en étroite collaboration avec Exportation et développement Canada (EDC) et la Corporation commerciale canadienne (CCC) – sociétés d’État Canadiennes – et avec les organismes centraux, afin que les entreprises canadiennes aient accès à des outils de soutien commercial, tels les services de financement, d’assurance, d’atténuation des risques et de passation de marchés.

Marché de l’aide

Les agents de ce secteur fournissent des conseils stratégiques et soutiennent le secteur privé canadien du marché de l'aide international.