Baird to Visit Russia and India

September 4, 2012 - Foreign Affairs Minister John Baird will travel to Russia and India from September 4 to 12, 2012.

Baird will begin his trip in Vladivostok, Russia, at the 24th APEC Ministerial Meeting, where he will engage in bilateral and multilateral discussions with members of one of the world’s largest economic zones.

“Our government is pursuing the most ambitious trade expansion plan in our country’s history,” said Baird. “We’re aiming to deepen trade and investment ties with large, dynamic and high-growth markets around the world.”

The Minister will spend three days in India, visiting Mumbai and New Delhi. He will meet with Indian leaders, including his counterpart, S.M. Krishna, Minister of External Affairs, and representatives of Canadian and Indian businesses.

“The objective of the India trip is to deepen an already-strong relationship between our two countries,” said Baird. “Canada remains deeply committed to the negotiations toward the Canada-India comprehensive economic partnership agreement, the administrative arrangements to the Nuclear Cooperation Agreement and the audiovisual co-production agreement. This visit signals a strong commitment to completing these important initiatives.”

The Minister will also further advance Canadian interests in educational cooperation, trade and investment, global and regional security, and governance issues.

This is Baird’s first visit to India as foreign affairs minister.

- 30 -

For further information, media representatives may contact:

Foreign Affairs Media Relations Office
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
613-995-1874
Follow us on Twitter: @DFAIT_MAECI

Visite du ministre Baird en Russie et en Inde

Le 4 septembre 2012 - Le ministre des Affaires étrangères John Baird effectuera une visite en Russie et en Inde du 4 au 12 septembre 2012.

Le ministre Baird se rendra d’abord à Vladivostok, en Russie, à la 24e Réunion ministérielle de l’APEC, où il participera à des discussions bilatérales et multilatérales avec les membres de l’une des plus grandes zones économiques du monde.

« Notre gouvernement s’est doté du plan d’expansion du commerce le plus ambitieux de l’histoire de notre pays, a déclaré le ministre Baird. Nous avons l’intention de resserrer nos liens en matière de commerce et d’investissement avec des marchés importants, dynamiques et à forte croissance du monde entier. »

Le ministre passera ensuite trois jours en Inde, où il se rendra à Mumbai et à New Delhi. Il y rencontrera des dirigeants indiens, y compris son homologue S.M. Krishna, de même que des représentants d’entreprises canadiennes et indiennes.

« Ce voyage en Inde vise à approfondir les relations bilatérales déjà solides entre nos deux pays, a déclaré le ministre Baird. Le Canada est déterminé à faire progresser les négociations sur l’Accord de partenariat économique global Canada‑Inde, de même que sur les arrangements administratifs prévus par l’Accord de coopération nucléaire et l’Accord de coproduction audiovisuelle. Cette visite est le signe de notre engagement profond à mener à terme ces importantes initiatives. »

Le ministre Baird s’efforcera également de faire progresser les intérêts du Canada en ce qui concerne la coopération en éducation, le commerce et l’investissement, la sécurité mondiale et régionale ainsi que les questions de gouvernance.

Il s’agit de la première visite de M. Baird en Inde en tant que ministre des Affaires étrangères.

- 30 -

Pour de plus amples renseignements, les représentants des médias sont priés de communiquer avec :

Le Service des relations avec les médias des Affaires étrangères
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
613-995-1874
Suivez-nous sur Twitter : @MAECI_DFAIT