Information for Media Accredited for Visit of U.S. President Obama

(No. A/11 - February 17, 2009) U.S. President Barack Obama will visit Ottawa on February 19, 2009. For access to the sites and the media work centre, media representatives, including members of Ottawa’s Parliamentary Press Gallery, must have official accreditation.

As access to the sites is limited, media outlets will be pooled. Receiving media accreditation does not automatically guarantee access to all events. Accredited Canadian media organizations or individuals may pick up their documentation and pool passes at the Media Accreditation Office on Wednesday, February 18 from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. EST.

A media work centre has been established to support accredited Canadian media throughout the visit. The centre will be located on the 5th floor of 150 Wellington Street. Accredited media will have access to 150 work stations with Internet and telephone connections from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. EST.

Transportation to the Canadian Reception Centre (CRC) at the Ottawa Macdonald-Cartier International Airport will be provided for Canadian media representatives who have obtained the Airport Pool 1 pass. Buses will travel between 150 Wellington Street and the CRC according to the following schedule (all times EST):

  4:30 a.m.          Buses depart 150 Wellington for the CRC

      8 a.m.          Buses depart 150 Wellington for the CRC

11:50 a.m.          Buses depart the CRC for 150 Wellington

12:35 p.m.          Buses depart 150 Wellington for the CRC

      6 p.m.          Buses depart the CRC for 150 Wellington

  6:15 p.m.          Buses depart the CRC for 150 Wellington

  6:45 p.m.          Buses depart the CRC for 150 Wellington

While the Parliament Hill grounds will be open to the public, enhanced security measures will be in place on February 19 for selected pooled media. Those who have been given a pool pass for events on Parliament Hill should arrive at the Visitor’s Welcome Centre, just inside the public entrance to the Centre Block, no later than 10:30 a.m. EST to undergo screening.

For more information, please contact:

Foreign Affairs Media Relations Office
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
613-995-1874

Media Accreditation Office
Accreditation Centre, 2nd Floor
165 Sparks Street
Booth Building
613-995-6200

Information à l'intention des représentants des médias accrédités pour la visite du président Obama

(No A/11 - Le 17 février 2009)  Le président des États Unis, M. Barack Obama, effectuera une visite à Ottawa le 19 février 2009. Les représentants des médias, y compris les membres de la Tribune de la presse parlementaire, devront être accrédités officiellement pour accéder aux endroits de la visite et au centre des médias.

L’accès aux sites étant limité, les organismes de presse seront regroupés en pool. Il est à noter que l'accréditation ne garantit pas l'accès à toutes les activités. Les organismes de presse et journalistes canadiens dûment accrédités pourront aller chercher leurs documents d'accréditation et leurs laissez-passer communs au Bureau d'accréditation des médias, le mercredi 18 février 2009, entre 9 h et 21 h HNE.

Un centre des médias sera mis à la disposition des journalistes canadiens dûment accrédités tout au long de la visite. Il sera situé au 150, rue Wellington, 5e étage, et sera ouvert de 7 h à 20 h HNE. Les journalistes accrédités y auront accès à 150 postes de travail avec accès à Internet et à des postes téléphoniques.

Le transport jusqu'au Centre canadien de réception (CCR) à l’aéroport international Macdonald-Cartier d’Ottawa sera fourni aux représentants des médias canadiens titulaires d'un laissez-passer commun 1 pour l'aéroport. Des autobus feront la navette entre le 150, rue Wellington et le CCR. L'horaire est le suivant (HNE) :

  4 h 30          Départ du 150 Wellington pour le CCR

  8 h 00          Départ du 150 Wellington pour le CCR

11 h 50         Départ du CCR pour le 150 Wellington

12 h 35         Départ du 150 Wellington pour le CCR

18 h 00         Départ du CCR pour le 150 Wellington

18 h 15         Départ du CCR pour le 150 Wellington

18 h 45         Départ du CCR pour le 150 Wellington

Le public continuera d'avoir accès au parterre de la colline du Parlement le 19 février, mais des mesures de sécurité supplémentaires seront en place pour certains médias regroupés en pool. Les représentants des médias détenant un laissez-passer commun délivré expressément pour les activités qui se dérouleront sur la colline du Parlement devront se présenter à 10 h 30 au plus tard au Centre d'accueil des visiteurs, situé près de l’entrée des visiteurs à l’édifice du Centre, afin de subir un contrôle de sécurité.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, prière de communiquer avec :

Le Service des relations avec les médias des Affaires étrangères
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
613-995-1874

Le Bureau d'accréditation des médias
Centre d'accréditation, 2e étage
165, rue Sparks
Édifice Booth
613-995-6200