Minister Cannon to Participate in Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada Centennial Celebrations During Open Doors Ottawa

(No. A/57 - June 5, 2009) The Honourable Lawrence Cannon, Minister of Foreign Affairs, will participate in public celebrations to mark Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada’s centennial as part of Open Doors Ottawa on Saturday, June 6.

Kiosks and displays at the department’s Lester B. Pearson Building headquarters will commemorate the 100th anniversary, as well as showcasing Canada’s priorities in foreign affairs and international trade, and the services the department provides to Canadians. The annual Open Doors Ottawa is the city’s largest architectural and heritage event.

Event: Open Doors Ottawa

Date: Saturday, June 6, 2009

Time: 11:30 a.m. EDT

Location: Lester B. Pearson Building, 125 Sussex Drive, Ottawa

Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada advances Canada’s foreign affairs and international trade priorities through its headquarters in Ottawa-Gatineau, 17 regional offices across Canada and an extensive network of over 170 embassies, high commissions, consulates and trade offices in 110 countries. In addition, it provides Canadians with passport, consular, and emergency services in Canada and abroad.

For more information, please contact:

Natalie Sarafian
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Foreign Affairs
613-995-1851

Foreign Affairs Media Relations Office
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
613-995-1874
international.gc.ca

Le ministre Cannon participera aux célébrations soulignant le centenaire d’Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada lors de l’événement Portes ouvertes Ottawa

(No A/57 - Le 5 juin 2009) Le ministre des Affaires étrangères, l’honorable Lawrence Cannon, participera aux célébrations publiques soulignant le centenaire d’Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada, lors de l’événement Portes ouvertes Ottawa, le samedi 6 juin.

À l’administration centrale du Ministère située à l’édifice Lester B. Pearson, des stands et des expositions commémoreront le 100e anniversaire. Ils mettront aussi en valeur les priorités du Canada en matière de politique étrangère et de commerce international, ainsi que les services qu’offre le Ministère aux Canadiens. L’événement Portes ouvertes Ottawa est la plus importante manifestation architecturale et patrimoniale de la ville.

Événement : Portes ouvertes Ottawa

Date : Le samedi 6 juin 2009

Heure : 11 h 30 HAE

Endroit : Édifice Lester B. Pearson, 125, promenade Sussex, Ottawa

Depuis l’administration centrale d’Ottawa-Gatineau en passant par ses 17 bureaux régionaux dans tout le Canada et son vaste réseau de plus de 170 ambassades, hauts-commissariats, consulats et bureaux commerciaux dans 110 pays, Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada veille à l’atteinte des priorités du Canada en matière d’affaires étrangères et de commerce international. Par ailleurs, le Ministère fournit aux Canadiens des services consulaires, de passeport et d’urgence, aussi bien au Canada qu’à l’étranger.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, prière de communiquer avec :

Natalie Sarafian
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Affaires étrangères
613-995-1851

Le Service des relations avec les médias des Affaires étrangères
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
613-995-1874
international.gc.ca