Canada Congratulates Chile on Invitation to Join OECD

(No. 386 - December 15, 2009 - 5 p.m. EST) The Honourable Lawrence Cannon, Minister of Foreign Affairs, today issued the following statement regarding Canada’s support of the Organisation for Economic Co‑operation and Development (OECD) decision to invite Chile to become a member:

“Today Canada joined with other OECD members in inviting Chile to become the organization’s next member.

“Canada congratulates Chile on this achievement. We have been a strong advocate of Chile’s accession to the OECD since the launch of membership talks in 2007. This is a significant moment for Chile, both because it will be the first South American country to join the OECD, and because it has made tremendous domestic policy changes in order to become a member—changes which will serve it well in the future.

“It is also a significant moment for the OECD, as the organization begins broadening its membership to include dynamic emerging countries. This will ensure the OECD remains relevant, effective and able to assist its members in tackling the economic challenges of the 21st century.

“Chile’s OECD membership will provide a valuable opportunity to increase engagement between our two nations, and we look forward to a long and productive collaboration.”

- 30 -

For further information, media representatives may contact:

Natalie Sarafian
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of Foreign Affairs

Foreign Affairs Media Relations Office
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada

Backgrounder - Canada and the OECD

The Organisation for Economic Co‑operation and Development (OECD) has 30 member countries, who together represent approximately 55 percent of the world economy. It is one of the world’s largest and most reliable sources of economic and social data, and gives its members the means to compare their performance and learn from each others’ practices.

Members use the Organisation to help improve their individual economic performances and to develop international standards for commercial and economic activity.

The OECD is also active with many non-member countries around the world in various policy areas.

Mexico’s Angel Gurría became OECD secretary‑general in 2006. He brokered the agreement allowing the OECD to begin accession negotiations with Chile, Estonia, Israel, Russia and Slovenia, and to pursue enhanced relations with China, India, Brazil, Indonesia and South Africa, five large emerging economies.

The OECD’s work includes:

  • Establishing international benchmarks by measuring, ranking, rating and evaluating the policies and performance of member and non-member economies in a wide range of areas, such as productivity, job creation, investment, innovation and taxation.
  • Conducting peer reviews, in which member states together assess the performance of another state, with the goal of helping it improve its practices and policy-making, and comply with established standards.
  • Conducting innovative public policy research in areas such as health, education, agriculture and trade, trade and services in developing countries, and security and development. OECD research also advances knowledge in areas such as the economic impact of ageing, migration, aid effectiveness, job creation, regulation and non-tariff trade barriers.
  • Promoting common international practices in areas such as taxation, corporate governance and export credits. OECD guidelines include the Model Tax Convention on Income and on Capital, Principles of Corporate Governance, Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises, and Common Approaches on Environment and Officially Supported Export Credits.

The Permanent Delegation of Canada to the OECD consists of an ambassador and a team of diplomats. The ambassador represents Canada in the OECD Council, which is the organization’s governing body and determines its program of work and budget. Other members of the Delegation participate in the work of the organisation’s other institutional bodies.

For more information, please visit the Permanent Delegation of Canada to the Organisation for Economic Co‑operation and Development.