Canada to Participate in Arctic Council Ministerial Meeting in Greenland

(No. 128 - May 10, 2011 - 10:45 a.m. ET) The Honourable Leona Aglukkaq, Minister of Health, will travel to Nuuk, Greenland, on May 11 and 12, 2011, to lead the Canadian delegation at the Arctic Council Ministerial Meeting.

The Arctic Council is a high-level intergovernmental forum that promotes social and economic aspects of sustainable development and environmental protection in the Arctic region.

It is made up of eight Arctic states (Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden and the United States) and six Arctic Indigenous peoples permanent participant organizations.

Canada was the first chair of the Arctic Council, from 1996 to 1998, and will next chair the Council in 2013.

- 30 -

For further information, media representatives may contact:

Jenny Van Alstyne
Office of the Honourable Leona Aglukkaq
Minister of Health

Foreign Affairs Media Relations Office
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
Follow us on Twitter.