Minister Baird and Minister of State Ablonczy Issue Statement on the Situation in Syria

Minister Baird and Minister of State Ablonczy Issue Statement on the Situation in Syria

December 15, 2011 - Ottawa - Foreign Affairs Minister John Baird and the Honourable Diane Ablonczy, Minister of State of Foreign Affairs (Americas and Consular Affairs), have announced that the government is mobilizing resources in Canada, in Syria and in the surrounding region to ensure that Canadians who want to leave Syria can do so quickly and while commercial options are still available.‬

‪The Canadian embassy in Damascus will help Canadians in Syria, their spouses and dependent children to obtain travel documents, such as passports and visas, in order to leave Syria as soon as possible. Efforts to expedite travel documents will continue until January 14, 2012.

‪Minister Baird and Minister of State Ablonczy also added that Canadians in Syria requiring consular assistance should contact the Canadian embassy in Damascus at 963 (11) 611-6692, 611-6851, or 611-6870, or place a collect call to Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada’s Emergency Operations Centre at 613-944-2471. They can also email sos@international.gc.ca.‬‬‬‬

Download this photo

Media Room

Related Links

Le ministre Baird et la ministre d’État Ablonczy font une déclaration au sujet de la situation en Syrie

Déclaration commune des ministres Baird et Ablonczy sur la situation en Syrie

Le 15 décembre 2011 - Ottawa - Le ministre des Affaires étrangères John Baird et la ministre d'État des Affaires étrangères (Amériques et Affaires consulaires), l'honorable Diane Ablonczy, ont annoncé que le gouvernement mobilise des ressources au Canada, en Syrie ainsi que dans les régions avoisinantes afin de s’assurer que les Canadiens désirant quitter la Syrie sont en mesure de le faire rapidement et pendant que des moyens de transport sont encore disponibles.

L'ambassade du Canada à Damas aidera les citoyens canadiens en Syrie, leurs conjoints et leurs enfants à charge à obtenir des documents de voyage tels les passeports et visas pour leur permettre de quitter la Syrie le plus rapidement possible. Les dispositions visant à accélérer l’obtention de documents de voyage seront en place jusqu’au 14 janvier 2012.

Le ministre Baird et la ministre d’État Ablonczy ont aussi ajouté que les Canadiens en Syrie ayant besoin d’une aide consulaire peuvent communiquer avec l'ambassade du Canada à Damas aux numéros suivants : 963 (11) 611-6692, 611-6851 ou 611-6870. Ils peuvent aussi téléphoner à frais virés au Centre des opérations d’urgence d’Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada au 613-944-2471, ou envoyer un courriel à sos@international.gc.ca.

Télécharger cette photo

Salle des médias

Liens connexes