Address by Minister Baird to House of Commons on Situation in Libya

No. 2011/23 - Ottawa, Ontario - June 14, 2011

Check Against Delivery

It is an honour for me to rise in this place and speak to the motion before us. It is an honour because I am proud of the part that Canada has played in the mission to protect the Libyan people from their rulers. It is a mission that is not yet over. The push for a more free and fair Libya is a cause not yet achieved. And so Canada—and our international partners—must continue to show resolve, patience and determination to go the distance and help Libyans secure their future. We must extend our military mission there. We must redouble our diplomatic efforts. And we must increase humanitarian aid. That is what our government proposes going forward. And the honourable members who will speak for the government over the course of today’s debate will elaborate on the suite of actions we are proposing.

While the citizens of Libya contemplate and prepare for the establishment of a constitutional state, modern and respectful of human rights, Colonel Qadhafi, without the slightest concern for his country, is practising a true scorched-earth policy.

We continue to believe that without the intervention of the international community and the adoption of UNSC [United Nations Security Council] Resolution 1973, Benghazi, the home of the opposition who were within range of Qadhafi’s forces in March, would have been utterly devastated.

Remember the threat launched by Qadhafi himself: “The decision has been made. Get ready, we are coming tonight,” he said in an audio message sent to Benghazi and broadcast on Libyan television.

He promised to search “house by house’’ and to show no mercy. However, because of our decisive action, Benghazi today is a vibrant community that, through the strength of its partnership projects, is inspiring to all who observe it.

Canada has been vocal in condemning the targeting of civilians by the Qadhafi regime, and the impact of that regime’s actions on the hundreds of thousands of people who have been trapped in Libya or forced to flee its borders. This regime has chosen to wage war on its own people. In the face of this blatant disregard for both human rights and international law, Canada has demanded that the regime halt its attacks against its own people and that perpetrators of crimes are brought to justice. We have been particularly disgusted by abhorrent reports that Qadhafi and his thugs are using torture and sexual violence as weapons against the Libyan population. Such actions are international crimes and may be war crimes or crimes against humanity. Canada calls for a full and impartial investigation of these allegations so that the perpetrators can be brought to justice.

Canada has made significant contributions to humanitarian aid already, as my colleagues will no doubt detail later. Let me say, at this juncture, that we are certainly prepared to do even more. I am pleased to announce, on behalf of my colleague the Minister of International Cooperation [the Honourable Beverley J. Oda], that Canada is prepared to commit an additional $2 million in humanitarian aid for Libya. A portion of this funding will go directly to support those who are victims of the use of sexual violence as a tool of war.

On March 31, this House pledged, through a unanimous motion, its support for Canada’s engagement in military operations in Libya. The men and women of the Canadian Forces, working under UN sanction, have helped to avert humanitarian tragedies in eastern Libya, and they have significantly limited the regime’s capacity to launch indiscriminate attacks on the innocent civilian population in the east. The Minister of National Defence [the Honourable Peter MacKay] will speak more to other achievements. But as important as each of these victories is, they are only stepping stones on the way to ending, permanently, the capacity of this regime to wage war on its people. We must press on.

From the outset of the crisis in Libya, Canada has supported a swift and decisive international response. Not only did we implement UNSC Resolution 1970 quickly, but we extended it further under the Special Economic Measures Act, freezing regime assets and putting in place a travel ban on regime members and an arms embargo. We committed fully to the enforcement of UNSC Resolution 1973, which calls for an immediate ceasefire, an arms embargo, increased sanctions and a no-fly zone to protect civilians.

Canada was among the first to call for the UN Security Council to refer the situation to the International Criminal Court, and strongly supported the creation of an International Commission of Inquiry into violations of human rights. The preliminary results of these inquiries have confirmed the seriousness of the crimes that are being committed. The report of the International Commission of Inquiry stated that these crimes are such as to indicate a policy directed by Qadhafi and his inner circle. Colonel Qadhafi seeks to remain in power by committing crimes against the people. He needs to be stopped and held accountable. He is a clear and present threat both to his people and to the stability of the region, including the emerging and promising democracies of Tunisia and Egypt. I would note that Canada’s end-game is shared by our G-8 partners, as expressed in Deauville [France] last month.

Canada’s engagement has been the result of a concerted whole-of-government effort. Abroad, we have worked closely with international and regional partners, including the League of Arab States, the African Union, and NATO partners and allies, to press the regime to comply with its international obligations.

Canada has been a member of the Libya Contact Group since its inaugural meeting in Doha, Qatar, in April. We participated in subsequent meetings in Rome, and in Abu Dhabi last week, where Canada was ably represented by my colleague the Honourable Julian Fantino, Associate Minister of National Defence. The Contact Group is an organization of like-minded nations that is helping to provide leadership and coordinate international efforts with regard to the future of Libya.

After three months of energetic diplomatic, military and humanitarian engagement, the world’s resolve to protect the civilians of Libya against attacks and threats of attacks from the Qadhafi regime has not faded. It is gaining momentum. But our work is far from over. And so we must look at doing more in terms of humanitarian aid. We must continue our military assault on Qadhafi’s command and control centres. We must also take a more robust and principled approach diplomatically, if our mission is to truly succeed. Increasing our diplomatic effort is what I would like to touch on here.

I am pleased to inform the House that Canada is embarking on an enhanced engagement strategy with the National Transitional Council of Libya, or NTC.

Canada will, as part of this strategy, recognize the NTC as the legitimate representative of the Libyan people going forward. Our government will engage with the institutions and representatives of the NTC. I will be seeking a meeting with my counterparts on the NTC—the Council’s vice-chairman and its ambassador to the United Nations. We will identify members of the NTC responsible for domestic issues and propose meetings with their Canadian counterparts. We will also happily arrange meetings between NTC members and honourable members of this place.

We welcome the efforts of the National Transitional Council in defining core driving principles, through its “Vision for a Democratic Libya,” and its blueprint for building a post-Qadhafi Libya, the “Road Map for Libya,” outlining a transition process based on inclusiveness and balanced representation. We will maintain an ongoing dialogue with the NTC to identify Libya’s most pressing needs now and into the future. We will do all we can to link the NTC with Canadian expertise on governance and civil society issues.

This is the start—we hope—of stronger ties between the Canadian and Libyan people and a brighter, better future for Libya as a whole.

The decision of this House to extend Canadian participation in the NATO mission should be accompanied by the steps outlined above, and more to come. By doing so, we will send a clear message that we are committed to fulfilling the UN mandate and that we are willing to uphold our commitment to providing protection and assistance to those in need.

The Libya mission came about in a unique set of circumstances. The threat to the civilian population, the threat of a massacre in Benghazi, was real and imminent, coming from the mouths of the Libyan leaders themselves. The capability existed to intervene. Military assets were available, and the geography made it possible. In regional terms, the situation in Libya represented, and continues to represent, a threat to the success of other nascent political openings in Tunisia, Egypt and elsewhere. That is why the Arab League called for action. It is why the international community, including Canada, has been compelled to respond. The track record of the Qadhafi regime over 40 years of unpredictability and interference in the affairs of the states of Africa and the Middle East was cause for real concern for the future.

Our strategy is clear. By applying steady and unrelenting military and diplomatic pressure, while also delivering humanitarian assistance, we can protect the civilian population, degrade the capabilities of the regime and create the conditions for a genuine political opening. At the same time, we can bolster the capacity of the Libyan opposition to meet the challenges of post-Qadhafi Libya and to lay the foundations of a state based on the sovereignty of the people.

In conclusion, let me say that the government understands the concerns of Canadians who oppose using lethal force and turning to military action to resolve the problems of the international community. I believe this is an instinct that all Canadians share, and is a credit to us all. At the same time, we have a responsibility to act, when we can, when our objectives are right and clear, to protect and assist those who share the values, and would share the institutions, for which many of our ancestors gave up their lives so that we could enjoy the benefits.

Since the Libyan uprising began in February, the world community has borne witness to the tremendous courage, sacrifice and dignity of the Libyan people, and to their determination to open a new chapter in the history of their country. The Libyan people are desperate to secure a brighter future. To help secure this future, Canada must play its part. Let us all strongly reaffirm today that Canada, along with the international community, stands in solidarity with the legitimate and irreversible aspirations of the Libyan people.

Thank you.

Discours du ministre Baird devant la Chambre des communes sur la situation en Libye

No 2011/23 – Ottawa (Ontario) - Le 14 juin 2011

Sous réserve de modifications

C’est un grand honneur pour moi de prendre la parole devant la Chambre au sujet de la motion qui nous est présentée. Un honneur, parce que je suis fier du rôle que le Canada a joué dans la mission pour protéger le peuple libyen contre ses dirigeants. Mais cette mission n’est pas terminée. Les pressions en faveur d’une Libye plus libre et plus juste n’ont pas encore porté tous leurs fruits. C’est pourquoi le Canada doit continuer, avec ses partenaires internationaux, à faire preuve de fermeté, de patience et de détermination pour permettre au mouvement amorcé en Libye d’aller jusqu’à terme et d’aider les Libyens à assurer leur avenir. Nous devons donc prolonger notre mission militaire en Libye. Nous devons redoubler d’efforts sur le plan de la diplomatie et nous devons accroître l’aide humanitaire. C’est ce que notre gouvernement entend proposer aujourd’hui. Et les députés qui interviendront au nom du gouvernement au cours du débat d’aujourd’hui décriront plus précisément le train de mesures proposées.

Alors que les citoyens de la Libye envisagent et préparent la création d’un état constitutionnel, moderne et respectueux des droits de la personne, le colonel Kadhafi pratique, sans le moindre égard pour son pays, une véritable politique de la terre brûlée.

Nous sommes convaincus que sans l’intervention de la communauté internationale et l’adoption de la résolution 1973 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, Benghazi, foyer de l’opposition qui se trouvait à portée des forces de Kadhafi en mars dernier, serait aujourd’hui totalement dévastée.

Rappelons-nous la menace lancée par Kadhafi lui-même : « Notre décision est prise. Préparez-vous, nous arrivons dès ce soir », avait-il lancé dans un message aux habitants de Benghazi retransmis par la télévision libyenne.

Il avait promis de fouiller « maison par maison » et de se montrer sans pitié. Or, grâce à notre intervention décisive, Benghazi reste aujourd’hui une communauté dynamique qui, par la force de ses projets rassembleurs, inspire tous ceux qui l’observent.

Le Canada a condamné dans les termes les plus véhéments les attaques contre les civils menées par le régime Kadhafi, de même que les conséquences des actions du régime pour les centaines de milliers de personnes qui sont demeurées piégées en Libye ou ont été contraintes de fuir par-delà les frontières. Ce régime a choisi de faire la guerre contre son propre peuple. Devant ce mépris flagrant des droits de la personne et du droit international, le Canada a exigé que le régime mette fin à ses attaques contre son peuple et que les auteurs de crimes répondent de leurs actes devant la justice. Nous avons été particulièrement révoltés par les comptes rendus immondes selon lesquels Kadhafi et ses sbires emploient la torture et les sévices sexuels comme armes contre la population libyenne. Ces actes sont des crimes internationaux, voire des crimes de guerre ou des crimes contre l’humanité. Le Canada demande une enquête complète et impartiale sur ces allégations afin que les auteurs puissent être traduits en justice.

Le Canada a déjà contribué de manière importante à l’aide humanitaire, comme mes collègues l’expliqueront sans doute plus tard. Laissez-moi toutefois vous dire que nous sommes tout à fait disposés, dès maintenant, à en faire davantage. Je suis heureux d’annoncer, au nom de ma collègue ministre de la Coopération internationale [l’honorable Beverley J. Oda], que le Canada versera 2 millions de dollars de plus en aide humanitaire à la Libye. Une partie de ces fonds sera directement affectée à l’aide aux victimes de violence sexuelle utilisée en tant qu’arme de guerre.

Le 31 mars, la Chambre s’est engagée à soutenir, par une motion adoptée à l’unanimité, l’engagement militaire du Canada en Libye. Les hommes et les femmes des Forces canadiennes qui interviennent sous la tutelle de l’ONU ont aidé à prévenir une véritable tragédie humaine dans l’est de la Libye et ont nettement entravé la capacité du régime à lancer des attaques à l’aveuglette contre les civils innocents dans cette région du pays. Le ministre de la Défense nationale [l’honorable Peter MacKay] décrira nos autres réalisations. Mais quelque importante que soit chacune de ces victoires, elles ne sont que des étapes pour s’approcher du but : contraindre, en permanence, le régime à cesser de faire la guerre à son peuple. Nous devons intensifier notre soutien.

Dès le début de la crise libyenne, le Canada a prôné une réponse internationale rapide et décisive. Non seulement nous avons rapidement mis en œuvre la résolution 1970 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, mais nous l’avons élargie, en vertu de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales, en gelant les actifs du régime et en imposant une interdiction de voyager aux membres du régime et un embargo sur la vente d’armes. Nous nous sommes pleinement engagés à mettre en œuvre la résolution 1973 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies appelant à un cessez-le-feu immédiat, à un embargo sur la vente d’armes, à des sanctions renforcées et à une zone d’exclusion aérienne dans le but de protéger les civils.

Le Canada a été parmi les premiers pays à demander au Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies de saisir la Cour pénale internationale de cette situation et nous avons vigoureusement soutenu la création d’une commission d’enquête internationale sur les violations des droits de la personne. Les premiers résultats de l’enquête ont confirmé la gravité des crimes qui sont perpétrés actuellement. Selon le rapport de la Commission d’enquête internationale, les crimes sont tels qu’ils portent à croire qu’ils sont le résultat d’une politique délibérée de Kadhafi et de ses proches. Le colonel Kadhafi cherche à se maintenir au pouvoir en commettant des crimes contre le peuple libyen. Il doit être arrêté et jugé. Kadhafi est actuellement une menace évidente pour son peuple et pour la stabilité de la région, y compris pour les démocraties émergentes et prometteuses de la Tunisie et de l’Égypte. Je tiens à souligner que tous les partenaires du G-8 partagent cet objectif ultime du Canada, comme nous avons pu le constater à Deauville [France] le mois dernier.

L’engagement du Canada est le résultat d’un effort concerté de l’ensemble du gouvernement. À l’étranger, nous avons collaboré étroitement avec nos partenaires internationaux et régionaux, y compris la Ligue des États arabes, l’Union africaine et les partenaires et alliés de l’OTAN, pour presser le régime de se conformer à ses obligations internationales.

Le Canada est membre du Groupe de contact pour la Libye depuis sa première rencontre en avril à Doha, au Qatar. Nous avons participé aux réunions suivantes à Rome, puis à Abu Dhabi la semaine dernière, où le Canada était bien représenté par mon collègue le ministre associé de la Défense, l’honorable Julian Fantino. Le Groupe de contact est une organisation de pays d’optique commune qui aide à diriger et à coordonner les efforts déployés par la communauté internationale concernant l’avenir de la Libye.

Après trois mois d’interventions diplomatiques, militaires et humanitaires vigoureuses, la volonté de la communauté internationale de protéger les civils libyens contre les attaques et les menaces d’attaque du régime Kadhafi n’a pas fléchi. Au contraire, elle prend de l’ampleur. Mais notre travail est loin d’être terminé. Et nous devons envisager de faire plus en matière d’aide humanitaire. Il faut poursuivre notre offensive militaire contre les centres de commandement et de contrôle de Kadhafi. Nous devons également adopter une approche diplomatique plus robuste et davantage fondée sur les principes, si nous voulons que notre mission soit réellement couronnée de succès. J’aimerais à présent dire quelques mots sur l’intensification de notre action diplomatique.

Je suis heureux de pouvoir informer la Chambre que le Canada a amorcé une stratégie d’engagement plus étroit avec le Conseil national de transition de la Libye, ou CNT.

En vertu de cette stratégie, le Canada reconnaîtra le CNT comme étant le représentant légitime du peuple libyen pour la transition à venir. Notre gouvernement entamera un dialogue avec les institutions et les représentants du CNT. Pour ma part, je demanderai un entretien avec mes homologues du CNT — son vice-président et son délégué auprès des Nations Unies. Nous identifierons les membres du CNT responsables des questions nationales et nous leur proposerons des rencontres avec leurs vis-à-vis canadiens. Enfin, nous organiserons volontiers des réunions entre des membres du CNT et des députés de la Chambre.

Nous saluons les efforts déployés par le Conseil national de transition pour définir ses principes directeurs essentiels, dans sa « vision d’une Libye démocratique » et dans son plan pour la Libye de l’après-Kadhafi, autrement dit, sa « feuille de route pour la Libye », dans lesquels il présente un processus de transition fondé sur l’inclusion et sur une représentation équilibrée. Nous maintiendrons un dialogue ouvert avec le CNT pour cerner les besoins les plus pressants de la Libye, maintenant et à long terme. Nous ferons tout en notre pouvoir pour mettre le CNT en rapport avec les spécialistes canadiens en matière de gouvernance et de société civile.

Nous commençons à créer des liens plus étroits entre le peuple canadien et le peuple libyen, alors que ce dernier est à l’aube d’un avenir meilleur pour son pays tout entier.

La décision de la Chambre de prolonger la participation du Canada à la mission de l’OTAN doit s’accompagner des mesures que je viens de décrire, ainsi que d’autres à venir. Ce faisant, nous enverrons un message clair : nous sommes résolus à honorer le mandat de l’ONU et à maintenir notre engagement à offrir protection et aide à ceux qui en ont besoin.

La mission en Libye découle d’une suite de circonstances uniques. La menace contre la population civile et les risques d’un massacre à Benghazi étaient réels et imminents, ayant été annoncés par les dirigeants libyens eux-mêmes. La capacité d’intervention était présente. Les moyens militaires étaient disponibles et la situation géographique rendait une intervention possible. Sur le plan régional, la situation en Libye représentait et continue de représenter une menace pour l’ouverture politique amorcée en Tunisie, en Égypte et ailleurs. C’est pourquoi la Ligue des États arabes a réclamé une intervention. C’est également la raison pour laquelle la communauté internationale, dont le Canada, n’a pu s’empêcher d’agir. Les antécédents du régime Kadhafi, marqués par plus de 40 ans d’imprévisibilité et d’ingérence dans les affaires des États d’Afrique et du Moyen-Orient, étaient sources de préoccupation pour l’avenir.

Notre stratégie est claire. En exerçant sans relâche une pression militaire et diplomatique tout en fournissant une aide humanitaire, nous sommes en mesure de protéger la population civile, d’affaiblir le régime et de créer les conditions d’une véritable ouverture politique. De même, nous pouvons renforcer la capacité de l’opposition libyenne à relever les défis de l’après-Kadhafi et à jeter les bases d’un État fondé sur la souveraineté populaire.

Permettez-moi enfin de rappeler que le gouvernement comprend les inquiétudes des Canadiens qui s’opposent à l’usage de la force meurtrière et au recours à l’action militaire pour résoudre des problèmes sur la scène internationale. Il s’agit selon moi d’une réaction instinctive qu’ont tous les Canadiens, et qui nous honore. Mais nous avons aussi la responsabilité d’agir si nous le pouvons et si nos objectifs sont justes et clairs, afin de protéger et d’aider ceux qui partagent nos valeurs et aspirent aux institutions pour lesquelles plusieurs de nos ancêtres ont donné leur vie afin que nous puissions en jouir.

Depuis le début de l’insurrection libyenne en février, la communauté internationale a été témoin du courage extraordinaire, du sacrifice et de la dignité du peuple libyen, ainsi que de sa volonté d’écrire un nouveau chapitre de son histoire. Les Libyens cherchent désespérément à s’assurer un avenir meilleur. Pour les y aider, le Canada doit jouer son rôle. Nous devons tous réaffirmer aujourd’hui que le Canada, avec la communauté internationale, est solidaire des aspirations légitimes et irréversibles du peuple libyen.

Je vous remercie.