Address by Minister Valcourt at La Francophonie’s Informal Ministerial Meeting on Major Political Transitions in the Francophonie

No. 2011/29 - New York City, New York - September 20, 2011

Check Against Delivery

I would like to begin by thanking my colleague, Ms. [Micheline] Calmy-Rey [Chair of the Francophonie Ministerial Conference], for spearheading this initiative, which goes to the heart of our organization’s mandate and the values that define it. This cooperation enables us to confirm our commitment to democracy, and to act on it, against a backdrop of urgency but also of great promise in the wake of the recent events in Egypt and Tunisia.

Canada would like to thank Secretary General [of the International Organization of La Francophonie] Abdou Diouf for his steadfast leadership and the respect he has shown for the democratic and constitutional rules of La Francophonie’s member states.

When democratic practices are threatened, there is a time for discreet negotiations, but there is also a time for strong public reminders of the values and principles, as expressed in Bamako and after, that are essential to La Francophonie’s identity and authority.

The preceding addresses given by Mr. Diouf’s Special Adviser [Ousmane Paye] and by our Egyptian and Tunisian colleagues were constructive openings to our debates.

The promotion of democracy, human rights and good governance is one of Canada’s priorities. Canada also places great importance on freedom of religion and conscience.

La Francophonie must continue to play a role in these areas, in line with its means and the potential value added that could result.

Our governments have responsibilities based on the commitments they have made during the Francophonie summits. Echoing exactly these commitments, Canada is proud to support Haiti in the areas of democracy, good governance and development, as demonstrated by our contribution of more than $1 billion from 2006 to 2012. For example, Canada finances initiatives that aim, among other things, to increase access to, and to reinforce, the judicial system in Haiti, as well as to support the different electoral processes.

We are greatly concerned by the country’s current political situation and the weakness of the rule of law. Our commitment to pursuing our efforts in Haiti calls for attaching greater importance from now on to political will, good governance and the rule of law. These are essential for achieving all our efforts: those of the Haitians as well as those of the international community.

In that regard, we strongly support the UN Secretary-General’s recent proposal to develop a rule-of-law compact in Haiti, to enable sustainable progress in the country’s reconstruction and development.

As host of the Francophonie Summit in 2012, Democratic Republic of Congo will be in the spotlight and will want to remember that, during this important period in its history, it fully and completely adhered to the principles of democracy and respect for human rights that unite La Francophonie.

La Francophonie can and must play a role, commensurate with its means and the value added of its actions, in the various phases of democratic transition. We must bear in mind that a regime change, even an election, are mere moments in the history of democracy.

Playing such a role requires effort and constant vigilance to ensure that the democratic process is transparent and inclusive, that accountability is effective, and that the rule of law is respected.

Furthermore, I am certain it comes as no surprise that many of the countries now experiencing solid and sustained growth are, in fact, those whose governments have adopted and applied the principles of sound economic and political governance.

There, too, La Francophonie has a role to play, and in this period of fragile economic recovery, Canada will want to seize every possible opportunity so that French-speaking communities can create or strengthen the economic ties that also must connect us.

I encourage our organization to continue its work in supporting the consolidation of the democratic transition processes that have recently begun in some countries of the Francophone world.

The role our organization can play will enhance its relevance and its credibility. And that, too, is something we can be proud of.

Thank you.

Discours du ministre d’État Valcourt à la réunion de concertation ministérielle informelle de la Francophonie sur les transitions politiques majeures dans l’espace francophone

No 2011/29 – New York (New York) - Le 20 septembre 2011

Sous réserve de modifications

Je voudrais d’abord remercier Mme [Micheline] Calmy-Rey [présidente de la Conférence ministérielle de la Francophonie] pour avoir pris cette initiative qui va au cœur du mandat et des valeurs qui définissent notre organisation. Cette concertation nous permet de confirmer et de mettre en œuvre notre engagement envers la démocratie, dans un contexte d’urgence mais aussi de grandes promesses à la suite des événements récents en Égypte et en Tunisie.

Le Canada tient à remercier le secrétaire général [de la Francophonie] M. Abdou Diouf pour le leadership qu’il a assumé avec constance et dans le respect des règles démocratiques et constitutionnelles des États membres de l’espace francophone.

Quand les pratiques démocratiques sont menacées, il y a un temps pour la négociation discrète mais il y a aussi un temps pour le rappel public et fort des valeurs et principes qui, tels qu’ils ont été exprimés à Bamako et depuis, font partie intégrante de l’identité et de la vocation de la Francophonie.

Les interventions précédentes de M. Ousmane Paye, conseiller spécial de M. Diouf, ainsi que de nos collègues égyptien et tunisien ont utilement lancé nos débats.

La promotion de la démocratie, des droits de la personne et de la bonne gouvernance sont des priorités pour le gouvernement du Canada. Nous attachons également une importance toute particulière à la liberté de religion et de conscience.

La Francophonie doit continuer à jouer un rôle dans ces domaines, en fonction de ses moyens et de la valeur ajoutée qui peut en découler.

Nos gouvernements ont des responsabilités parce qu’ils prennent des engagements lors des sommets de la Francophonie. Faisant écho justement à ces engagements, le Canada est fier de soutenir Haïti en matière de démocratie, de bonne gouvernance et de développement comme en fait foi notre contribution de plus de un milliard de dollars de 2006 à 2012. À titre d’exemple, le Canada finance des initiatives visant, entre autres, à accroître l’accès au système de justice en Haïti et à le renforcer ainsi qu’à soutenir les différents processus électoraux.

La situation politique actuelle et la faiblesse de l’état de droit dans ce pays nous préoccupent grandement. Notre engagement à poursuivre nos efforts en Haïti exige désormais d’accorder une plus grande importance à la volonté politique, à la bonne gouvernance et à la primauté du droit. Ces aspects sont essentiels à la réussite de tous les efforts, aussi bien ceux des Haïtiens que ceux de la communauté internationale.

À cet égard, nous soutenons fortement la toute récente proposition du secrétaire général des Nations Unies de développer un pacte sur l’état de droit en Haïti afin de progresser durablement dans la reconstruction et le développement d’Haïti.

En tant qu’hôte du Sommet de la Francophonie de 2012, la République démocratique du Congo sera sous les feux de la rampe et voudra rappeler en cette période importante de son histoire son adhésion pleine et entière aux principes qui nous unissent, au sein de la Francophonie, en matière de démocratie et de respect des droits de la personne.

La Francophonie peut et doit jouer un rôle, dans la mesure de ses moyens et de la valeur ajoutée de ses actions, dans les différentes phases qui marquent la transition démocratique. Nous devons garder en tête qu’un changement de régime, voire une élection, ne sont que des moments dans l’espace démocratique.

Jouer un tel rôle requiert un effort et une vigilance constante, afin que le processus démocratique soit transparent et inclusif, que la reddition de comptes soit effective et que la règle de droit soit respectée.

Par ailleurs, on ne s’étonnera pas de constater que bon nombre des pays qui connaissent une croissance solide et soutenue sont précisément ceux dont les gouvernements ont adopté et mis en œuvre les principes d’une saine gouvernance économique et politique.

Là encore la Francophonie a un rôle à jouer, et en cette période de fragile reprise économique que nous traversons, le Canada voudra saisir toutes les occasions qui se présenteront pour que nos communautés francophones tissent ou renforcent les liens économiques qui doivent aussi nous unir.

J’encourage notre organisation à poursuivre son travail d’appui à la consolidation des processus de transition démocratique amorcés récemment dans certains pays de l’espace francophone.

Le rôle qu’elle peut y jouer renforce sa pertinence et sa crédibilité, et de cela également nous ne pouvons que nous réjouir.

Je vous remercie.