Minister of State Yelich Meets with Honduran Attorney General

January 26, 2014 - Tegucigalpa, Honduras - The Honourable Lynne Yelich, Minister of State (Foreign Affairs and Consular), meets with Oscar Chinchilla Banegas, Attorney General of Honduras.

Minister of State Yelich and the Attorney General held a wide-ranging discussion on the long tradition of cooperation between Canada and Honduras in the area of justice and security. On the subject of security of Canadians travelling in Honduras, Minister of State Yelich discussed consular issues, noting mutual interest in ensuring the safety of Canadians and stressed the importance to Canada of investigations that affect Canadians.

Canada has contributed an Integrated Ballistics Identification System (IBIS) to Honduras to facilitate the identification of weapons used in crimes. The provision of IBIS equipment to Honduras will help combat threats to security not only in Honduras, but also in Central America more broadly, as ballistic analysis information can eventually be shared through a regional network of IBIS systems. Regional cooperation facilitated by training and equipment is a critical element of Canada’s engagement in the Americas and the fight against transnational organized crime in the region.

Minister of State Yelich is visiting Honduras to participate in the inauguration of the new Honduran president, Juan Orlando Hernández, and to highlight the long tradition of cooperation between Canada and Honduras in the areas of development, trade, democratic governance, human rights and security.

Download this photo.

La ministre d’État Yelich rencontre le procureur général du Honduras

Le 26 janvier 2014 - Tegucigalpa, Honduras - La ministre d’État (Affaires étrangères et consulaires), l’honorable Lynne Yelich, rencontre le procureur général du Honduras, M. Oscar Chinchilla Banegas.

La ministre d’État et le procureur général ont discuté de la longue tradition de coopération entre le Canada et le Honduras dans les domaines de la justice et de la sécurité. En ce qui a trait à la sécurité des Canadiens qui voyagent au Honduras, la ministre d’État Yelich a abordé des questions consulaires, soulignant l’intérêt mutuel des deux pays à assurer la sécurité des Canadiens et rappelant l’importance pour le Canada des enquêtes qui affectent les Canadiens.

Le Canada a offert un système intégré d’identification balistique (en anglais, IBIS) au Honduras pour faciliter l’identification des armes utilisées à des fins criminelles. Grâce à la technologie IBIS fournie, le Honduras sera mieux outillé pour combattre les menaces à la sécurité non seulement au pays, mais également dans l’ensemble de l’Amérique centrale, les données issues des analyses balistiques pouvant éventuellement être partagées avec un réseau régional de systèmes IBIS. Faciliter la coopération régionale par la formation et la fourniture d’équipements constitue un élément clé de l’engagement du Canada dans les Amériques et de la lutte contre la criminalité transnationale organisée dans la région.

La ministre d’État Yelich est en visite au Honduras pour assister à la cérémonie d’investiture du nouveau président hondurien, Juan Orlando Hernández, et pour souligner la longue tradition de coopération entre le Canada et le Honduras en matière de développement, de commerce, de gouvernance démocratique, de droits de la personne et de sécurité.

Télécharger cette photo.